We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring food but priced at the high end for what is essentially "pub grub".”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We ate in the bar and found the food was very average but the prices were high for what we ate. The speed of the service was good but the staff were not friendly. All in all we were disappointed and would not visit here again as I am sure we could have found better if we had planned ahead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ajay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We apologise for not responding to these reviews earlier but up until now we were totally unaware that a page existed on Trip Advisor for our restaurant. Please rest assured that if we had we would have responded immediately.

We have been here now for over 20 years and we really do place great importance on welcoming both new and previous customers, and we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied. However, we do also understand that everyone’s expectations are different. We can once again only apologise for the problems that were experienced but can assure you all that this is not the norm and in fact we receive a great many compliments about our food, service, accommodation and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stunning location, let down by rather rude staff and distinctly average food! Priced at the higher end for what is just essentially pub grub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We apologise for not responding to these reviews earlier but up until now we were totally unaware that a page existed on Trip Advisor for our restaurant. Please rest assured that if we had we would have responded immediately.

We have been here now for over 20 years and we really do place great importance on welcoming both new and previous customers, and we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied. However, we do also understand that everyone’s expectations are different. We can once again only apologise for the problems that were experienced but can assure you all that this is not the norm and in fact we receive a great many compliments about our food, service, accommodation and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I was expecting good things having read all the favourable reviews on Tripadvisor but I was disappointed in the food. The menu was vast, always a bad sign. The food over cooked and just a bit '80s'. The starters I had on both nights were huge. I have a big appetite but not that big. It was off putting. My venison was very tough and the accompanying vegetables were not very appetising. Cheesy broad beans - bubble & squeak with sprouts - soggy fried potatoes?! Some steamed veg would've been nice. We did seeme to be a good few decades younger than the rest of the patrons so maybe the problem was ours. They say tastebuds become less discerning over the years!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ayfayjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We apologise for not responding to these reviews earlier but up until now we were totally unaware that a page existed on Trip Advisor for our restaurant. Please rest assured that if we had we would have responded immediately.

We have been here now for over 20 years and we really do place great importance on welcoming both new and previous customers, and we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied. However, we do also understand that everyone’s expectations are different. We can once again only apologise for the problems that were experienced but can assure you all that this is not the norm and in fact we receive a great many compliments about our food, service, accommodation and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

We came upon this lovely hotel after completing a long walk, having missed lunch and looking for something to eat at 5.30pm. Although notices advised that food would be served after 6pm, the gentleman on bar duty said that we could order straightaway - very welcome, as we had 2 children (aged 11 & 15) in tow. The menu was fairly comprehensive and we all found something we would like to eat - one small problem we found was that our 11 year old wanted to try the venison pie (priced at £9.??) no problem with that, but we asked if she could possibly have a smaller portion, knowing that she is not a big eater (the usual 'kids meals' were on offer, but she really wanted to try something different) however we were told that this would not be possible, so we ordered it anyway, as we thought it would be an individual pie, in its own dish, which would be the reason for not allowing a small portion. When the meal came, there was a HUGE mound of venison, with no pastry to be seen. Consequently there was an enormous amount of wastage, both of food and our money. Some flexibility over our request would have been welcomed, or at least an explanation as to why a smaller portion could not be accomodated (we decided it must be because the bar man wouldn't have known what to key into the till!) The other meals were ok, but not particulary remarkable. We have stayed at the White Horse in the past and eaten mostly in the restaurant, so this was our first experience of ordering food off the bar menu. With drinks, coffee and desserts, the meal was not what I would class as cheap, and I did feel that better customer service would have been in order.

2  Thank horseymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

We apologise for not responding to these reviews earlier but up until now we were totally unaware that a page existed on Trip Advisor for our restaurant. Please rest assured that if we had we would have responded immediately.

We have been here now for over 20 years and we really do place great importance on welcoming both new and previous customers, and we do not like the thought of anyone leaving here dissatisfied. However, we do also understand that everyone’s expectations are different. We can once again only apologise for the problems that were experienced but can assure you all that this is not the norm and in fact we receive a great many compliments about our food, service, accommodation and hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing