We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday lunch.”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were just looking for a quick lunch but the burger (much maligned in a previous review) was perfectly good. The Somerset ploughman's came with 3 different cheeses and again was perfectly good. We were expecting decent pub food and that is just what we got.
Good service too. The chef while passing our table assured us ours would be out in a moment. We hadn't asked and it was nice to see he was on the ball and he brought the food out himself about a minute later. Again it's nice too actually meet the chef usually they stay well hidden. Anyway a really pleasant Saturday lunch thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you. We pride ourselves on offering quality food and good value to all our customers, and whilst we appreciate we cannot please everyone all of the time we really do try our hardest to do so. We carefully choose our suppliers and menus and try to offer something for everyone. We really hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    52
    35
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Exmoor White Horse Hotel is situated in a beautiful location on Exmoor and has plenty of parking space for a start.My brother and our wives have been customers at the restaurant of this Hotel for many years and at different times of the day and year.The menu has plenty of choice and what ever food we have chosen it has ALWAYS been well cooked and presented.The Manager,Chef and bar staff have always been most helpful,polite and friendly.I would not hesitate in recommending this Restaurant/Pub for a quiet drink and delicious meal at a reasonable cost.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much. To read a review such as yours, and many others, makes us believe that what we strive to attain here at The Exmoor White Horse is well appreciated by our loyal and much valued customers. We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really tasty Sunday lunch, choice of beef pork venison, great value, warm welcome in the bar from the manager for me my wife and little white dog.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cody s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you and we really hope to be able to welcome all of you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The restaurant is just ok.fairly expensive ,in fairness Exmoor in general is not cheap ! The service was good the food very average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We always try to offer quality and value for money, along with great service, and we feel that we do. The type of Special Offer that you booked on meant that Dinner was not included in your package, hence the need for an extra charge, but we do offer the options of either Restaurant or Bar Food so there is always something to suit everyone's budget and taste. Whilst you feel that Exmoor is not cheap in general, it is important to take into account the logistics of where we are situated and whilst herea t the Exmoor White Horse Inn we do not pertain to be "cheap" we do pride ourselves on offering value for money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soggy unpalatable pub grub”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We ate here on Bank holiday Saturday evening. We both choose the steak and ale pie with chips and seasonal vegetables. It arrived very quickly, been microwaved. Pastry was soggy and stodgy it was meant to be short crust. The steak was red hot in one area and cold and congealed in others. Seasonal veg turned out to be frozen peas and carrots. Will not eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We were dismayed to read this review, this is not the true Exmoor White Horse Inn and we cannot understand why it was not bought to our attention at the time. As you were no doubt aware, Bank Holiday Saturday was an extremely busy day and we have customers regularly returning for Chefs Homemade Pies so this is definitely not the norm. We will always try to rectify any problems experienced by our customers but that is not possible when the first we know of it is here on Trip Advisor. Genuine complaints deserve to be raised at the time and we are sure that most business owners would appreciate it if that is what customers did, in order to allow them the chance to put things right. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Exford, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
 
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing