We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A pitstop for a quick carvery before heading back to our caravan park. Menu was quite impressive, and resonably priced, carvery stated a choice of 3 meats, but only 2 were available. This however didn't matter as the size of the meats slices were plenty!!! The out door seating was full, therefore we had to sit inside, but it was nice and airy. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant. Set in a beautiful location, this is a must if your ever passing through.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We do start the Carvery with a selection of 3 Meats but as the session progresses we can't guarantee there will always be 3 left at the end! As you could see, it is very popular and we are very busy. We always advise people to turn up early for carvery, and we hope we can pass this tip on to you and be able to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We turned up in the hope of finding a spare table as we know from previous visits how busy it can be. We were lucky and enjoyed a really superb carvery. We both had a combination of venison and pork and both meats were cooked to perfection. The vegetables were really fresh and roast potatoes were excellent. A really good venue on Exmoor and very good value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lordduke50129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you. Chef prides himself on the quality of his traditional carvery, and the popularity of it speaks volumes. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very impressive menu which flattered to deceive, the implied quality of the local food was spoilt by overcooking. Someone on the next table to ours suffered the same. Maybe, we were unlucky on the night, however we did eat in the Restaurant for three nights and it only marginally improved.

Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We were saddened to read your comments on the restaurant and all your comments have been passed to the department concerned. Please accept our apologies and rest assured that this is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were just looking for a quick lunch but the burger (much maligned in a previous review) was perfectly good. The Somerset ploughman's came with 3 different cheeses and again was perfectly good. We were expecting decent pub food and that is just what we got.
Good service too. The chef while passing our table assured us ours would be out in a moment. We hadn't asked and it was nice to see he was on the ball and he brought the food out himself about a minute later. Again it's nice too actually meet the chef usually they stay well hidden. Anyway a really pleasant Saturday lunch thank you.

1  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you. We pride ourselves on offering quality food and good value to all our customers, and whilst we appreciate we cannot please everyone all of the time we really do try our hardest to do so. We carefully choose our suppliers and menus and try to offer something for everyone. We really hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Exmoor White Horse Hotel is situated in a beautiful location on Exmoor and has plenty of parking space for a start.My brother and our wives have been customers at the restaurant of this Hotel for many years and at different times of the day and year.The menu has plenty of choice and what ever food we have chosen it has ALWAYS been well cooked and presented.The Manager,Chef and bar staff have always been most helpful,polite and friendly.I would not hesitate in recommending this Restaurant/Pub for a quiet drink and delicious meal at a reasonable cost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much. To read a review such as yours, and many others, makes us believe that what we strive to attain here at The Exmoor White Horse is well appreciated by our loyal and much valued customers. We hope to see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn also viewed

Exford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
 
Exford, Exmoor National Park

Been to Restaurant at The Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing