We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
953
32
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
32
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahuw samsoupswine listpre dinner drinksattention to detailperfect hostssmall hotelother guestsheddon suitemoment you arrivecoach housesecond visitgin menuold friendsnorth devonfirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Old Rectory Hotel is a gem. Accommodation, food and wine are excellent but its unique quality is the atmosphere created. Huw and Sam have a simple objective of making your stay special - relaxed, comfortable and memorable. It's not marketing, training or any of the other corporate "speak" so evident in most hotels these days that makes it work so well. Essentially, its because Huw and Sam like people and genuinely believe in great service.

Room Tip: bus timetable enhances your walking options
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnDavid4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We decided to go for a Spring 'walking' break and choose the Old Rectory Hotel because of its proximity to stunning scenery along the South west coastal path and because it seemed to offer a touch of luxury. We were delighted with our choice. As the name suggests the hotel is an old rectory nestled next to the church in the hamlet of Matinhoe. Huw and Sam, the proprietors, have furnished the hotel to a high standard, the decor is stylish and the atmosphere relaxed and chatty. Everyone tends to meet up around 7.00 p.m. for pre-dinner drinks and eats around the same time. This makes for a convivial atmosphere and the food, all sourced locally, is excellent. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on afternoon tea!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayJay1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

From the moment we arrived Sam and Huw made us feel very welcome in their lovely hotel.
Rooms were clean tidy and spacious. Food was great all from local produce and dinner menu was really good, Breakfast always set us up for the day and Huw and Sams knowledge of the local area was very useful, Some amazing local walks and pubs to visit and we cant wait to come back.
final point , we don't normally like hotels, we prefer the freedom and independence of staying in cottages, but we will return to The Old Rectory as it really is that good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Well this place was recommended too us and I have to say we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely setting, away from the crowds, but relatively easy to find. Parking is straight forward outside the hotel. We stayed for 3 nights and arrived about 5 pm on the Friday. You are immediately made very welcome by Hugh and Sam, who show you around and give you a good feeling for the place. The room was good, comfortable bed and bathroom with both a shower and bath. It was spacious and comfortable.

Dinner is served around 7.30 each night, there is one sitting and they like you to be choosing between 7 and 7.30. This works fine as you probably wouldn't be eating out anyway, but don't expect to be eating at 8.30. The menu choice is good and the food is really well cooked using local ingredients where possible. There is a nice atmosphere in the restaurant.

Breakfast to is served between roughly 7.30 and 9 from memory, less rigid and again very good ingredients, just no sausages ! :o)

The first day we were there is rained, so we drove around a little and pottered. Second day we did the recommended circular coastal walk via the Hunters Inn where we had lunch. The walk is a must and breath taking. Lunch was good to, the Hunters Inn gets packed on a sunny day even though it is quite spacious, so get there in reasonable time. The food there was of good quality too.

All in all we have a lovely stay. The other guests seemed to be youngish couples pre-children and older couples, which made is a very peaceful stay if that is what you were after. There is a nice looking garden that would be lovely to wander in during a more sunny time of the year (and warmer)

All in all very good indeed !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zenman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We had no hesitation in returning for another visit in order to celebrate a birthday. Despite our visit being at the end of a long and presumably tiring season we had a warm welcome augmented by tea and cake. We stayed in the Westgate which is spacious and had a good sized bath that can be rapidly filled with hot water. Ideal if you have been walking/cycling on Exmoor. Had three excellent evening meals in a convivial dinning room where fellow guests appreciated that they had a responsibility to their fellow residents. The hearty breakfasts that followed meant there was no need for anything but a snack during the day.
By prior arrangement Huw arranged for the provision of a cycle that enabled us to explore the area and flowers for the birthday breakfast.
The nearby Woody Bay station is convenient for an idyllic railway journey to Killington.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoddcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews