We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite simply exquisite”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Old Rectory is an amazing find! From the moment you arrive you can sense the calm and tranquility. The grounds and gardens are well tended with manicured lawns and colourful flower beds. There are ample places to rest and take in the whole setting. The hosts; Sam and Huw are most welcoming and helpful. They provide the ultimate in professional service to help make your stay the most pleasurable.
The decor is simple yet tasteful throughout the hotel. We stayed in the newly converted coach house and quite simply the room was furnished in lavish yet comfortable soft furnishings which were complemented beautifully with a modern and stylish ensuite.
The food exceeded expectations with a fine menu of locally sourced meat/fish and vegetarian options. The evening began with drinks and canopes which puts you right in the mood for a culinary delight. There is a selection of fine wines to complement the choice of food and help is on hand from Sam to assist in your choice of the perfect wine to accompany your meal.
The hotel is in a wonderful part of North Devon with excellent walks which are all achievable even to the most unfit of us all!
This is a gem of a hotel for couples. With only 9 guest rooms there is never the feeling of overcrowding or busy. You are welcomed as good friends and every detail is taken care of to ensure that you have the best of stays. If you enjoy class and sophistication,comfort and relaxation with wonderful food and drink then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: For couples who enjoy a first class hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilhooly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
787
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our visit to the Old Rectory was lovely. It's a beautiful building and expertly run by Huw and Sam. We were made very welcome with tea and fantastic cake when we arrived. The room we stayed in had a view of the wonderful gardens and we loved the fact that it was such a quiet and peaceful location. Both dinner and breakfast were delicious and we must make special mention of the home-made soup course and the bread and butter pudding!

We will definitely be staying again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Bowled over by the reception from Huw and Sam. This hotel is the perfect spot for a weekend break: great rooms, excellent food and hospitality and friendliness on a grand scale. The hotel literally sits on the Coastal Walk, surrounded by lovely, well tended gardens and has cozy and charming rooms. The cooking takes advantage of local produce and is truly excellent as is the wine list. Huw and Sam are incredibly helpful and friendly and the whole experience was truly memorable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubiquitous111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We visited in April, just before the Easter holidays, we stayed four nights. The hotel is in a remote location, but do not let this put you off. The very warm welcome you recieve is genuine, you cannot beat tea and cake. The food is all fresh and locally sourced and over the four night stay we had a different menu every night. The hotel is run by two lovely gents Sam and Huw, who will look after your every need. If you want a relaxing time with good food and good company, we could not reccomend this highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malvincroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed for two nights at this lovely hotel - fabuolous location, amazing hosts, great food and wine, lovely rooms. A place to feel relaxed and to be made to feel a bit special.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daka9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton On Sea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Just got back from another fantastic break (we have been at least 8 times) from The Old Rectory. Why do we keep going back? the VERY warm welcome from Sam Huw and Edie, the comfortable rooms and the delicious food. Huw and Sam you really excelled yourselves this time form the breakfast home made cake with afternoon tea to the mouth watering dinners and excellent wine list. We are already looking forward to seeing you all later in the year. Tony and Deidre

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefrintononsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

the most charming way of two people(Huw & Sam) to run their small cosy hotel is something
what wil remain a long time in our mind!
words can't express , you should go to find out yourself !

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynderswilfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
805 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing