We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The Old Rectory is set in a lovely valley within a few minutes walk of the NT Coastal path in North Devon. The hotel is very comfortable and the setting, including the beautiful garden, is excellent. But what sets this hotel apart from most other hotels we have stayed at in recent years is the warmth of the welcome and the hospitality provided by Sam and Huw, the owners. There is a genuine sense of pleasure in running this small boutique hotel and it starts with the arrival greeting, continues through afternoon tea and cakes and through to the excellent dinner in the pretty restaurant, where the menue changes daily and features local and season produce.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
804
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary recently and found the setting ideal.

Martinhoe is a superb location for exploring the rugged beauty of Exmoor, and the Old Rectory is the perfect base. The hotel is in a wonderfully peaceful location, the rooms are tastefully finished and the owners, Sam & Huw are excellent hosts. Dinner was outstanding - easily rivalling top class restaurant standard and the choice of quality wines was extensive.

Would recommend to others without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in one of our favourite locations: Exmoor. The hotel is well situated as a base for walking with an excellent walk from the door with plenty of different species of birds on the route.

The welcome was friendly. The rooms and facilities were very comfortable and the food was very good. Everywhere was clean and the garden was extensive and interesting.

What more could you ask?

Room Tip: Heddon large room, comfortable settee, vast bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hooke_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our 3 night stay was a welcome break. We found Huw and Sam great hosts. The food was very good indeed, and we appreciated a different menu every evening of our 3 night stay, and also the personal service which we received. The room was beautiful and very peaceful. We stayed in Watersmeet suite overlooking the courtyard.The Hotel is set in lovely countryside and we enjoyed some great walks!

Room Tip: Watersmeet was very quiet with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkeagri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I agree with everything everyone has said. Huw and Sam were SO welcoming and I loved afternoon tea lounging by the pond. The garden is fab and I really look forward to seeing how work progresses.
Next time we shall book earlier so that we can have a room with a view, but this didn't really matter as we spent so much time enjoying the Devon sunshine. We walked as far along the coast path as we possibly could and look forward to how work progresses here too. Huw and Sam are contributing to renovating part of the path. Great idea!
I loved the fact that everyone ate at the same time, this created a really friendly atmosphere over a glass of sherry before dinner.
The dog really enjoyed her stay too. She slept in the car but also loved lounging in the garden.
Best breakfast I've had for ages....! Husband is most disappointed now we're home.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TrueBrit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We enjoyed an unforgettable visit to the ‘Old Rectory’ for three nights in mid-April.

Your breath will be taken away from the moment you arrive. Every aspect is truly amazing and beautiful. Every detail leads to new and exciting discoveries. The room perfect; all eventualities catered for with care and consideration, from the bed to the seating area to the free standing bath and complimentary bubbles! Relaxation, enjoyment and pleasure are inevitable without feeling the need to rush – time is effortless.

Eating is an exquisite experience; taste is a sensation lingering tantalisingly until the next mouthful. Masterfully complimented with the aperitif in the conservatory, accompanying light hearted or more meaningful conversation, the extensive wine list, with dinner or dessert, expertly recommended by Sam or the port and after dinner drinks in the lounge areas. Not forgetting, of course, the fresh spring water delivered ‘fast through the pipes’.

Huw and Sam are the perfect hosts - you could not wish for better. They provide an intimate and welcoming atmosphere which radiates their own personal charm. They are great fun and wonderful people and will ensure that your stay is nothing short of phenomenal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsyeddie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Just returned from a four night stay.

Huw and Sam look after you from the moment you step through the front door to the moment you reluctantly have to leave. Must not forget to mention Edie who also looks after you at breakfast and services the bedrooms.

Many great places to visit and wonderful walks on your door step.

Delightful breakfasts that set you up for the day ahead.

Looking forward to our next visit already.

Kay and David.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
576 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing