We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return visit to this FAB-U-LOUS hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A return visit to this FAB-U-LOUS hotel.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Having had such a wonderful experience at this hotel last year I returned this Easter with a Dutch friend of mine. Needless to say both of us enjoyed ourselves tremendously. As many people have pointed out, when making a return trip it feels like visiting old friends. Huw and Sam could not be more welcoming and attentive. The rooms are spotless, the food is outstanding and the utterly stunning beauty of the location really cannot be beaten.
The staff seems to have found the perfect balance between formality and familiarity, ensuring that all the guests are made to feel special and enjoy their stay at this hotel.
Whatever the occasion I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Pack your bags, head off to this hotel and you are guaranteed a few days of pure bliss.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms book Watersmeet and Beeches. They are the only two rooms opposite one another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atkpjdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
760
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

An absolute pleasure to be back at The Old Rectory for a 2 night break - Huw and Sam were wonderful hosts as always - their staff are so helpful. We met up with friends made on a previous visit plus spent a super evening making new acquantances. It's a home away from home and you leave your worries behind to have a great time here. The food was exceptional (thanks Huw!) We hopefully will be able to visit in 2013 and see the wonderful orangerie which is to be constructed during the winter months.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatnapWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Have just returned from a three night break at The Old Rectory Hotel, this is our 6th visit to the hotel, yet again it was totally perfect. A lovely warm welcome from Huw, Sam and their staff it is like meeting up with old friends. The food was fantastic. Huw and Sam are perfect hosts everything they do is perfect, they can not improve on what they are doing because it is total pefection already. If you want a relaxing break with great rooms, lovely food, wine and a warm welcome this is the place to do, you will not be disappointed. Already planning to go back next year for my special birthday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but if you want a little extra spoil yourself with one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Returned to the Old Rectory last weekend for a short break and yes it was again an excellent experience. Huw and Sam continue to deliver a first class experience which is difficult to fault, ambience, food, service, company are all as near perfect as you could hope for, and the staff are a pleasure, always with a smile and welcome.
The number of guests that are returnees is surely a measure of how good this hotel formula is.
We will certainly be returning again next year to see the new developments but mainly because its such a pleasure to spend a few days relaxing in the comfortable lounges renewing old acquaintances and meeting new people to pass a few lazy hours talking over afternoon tea or at dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

You can believe all you read. An attractive house, well furnished and set in a lovely garden; friendly competent staff, excellent breakfasts and dinners ... and two owners who make it all feel so relaxed. An enjoyable and deservedly popular boutique hotel with a following that is thoroughly deserved.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandSue2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were looking for a few stress free, peaceful and comfortable days away and thought that if we found somewhere with a warm welcome and great food and wine, we would consider ourselves in seventh heaven. Well, we struck gold as The Old Rectory has all those things and more. It is a lovely old house set in 3 acres of garden right on the edge of Exmoor. The owners, Huw and Sam are delightful and made us feel at home immediately. Huw, you really are a superb chef please hurry up and finish your recipe book on Soups!!! This is only a small hotel with just ten bedrooms, all of which are quiet, spotlessly clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We gorged ourselves on Huw's home made cakes and biscuits at tea time and even forced down his canapes before dinner - oh, my expanding waistline!. Every meal was delicious and served piping hot and they have a very good wine cellar as well!!. Always a four course meal, dinner would be slow and leisurely with wonderful service. Oh, and I would be very remiss if I left out that Sam is the breakfast supremo, how do you get those scrambled eggs so light and creamy?. Huw and Sam, you are to be congratulated on creating this delightful haven where we were able to completely relax. We thoroughly recommend The Old Rectoryand will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthBucksBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We were looking for a peaceful couple days break away from the stresses of everyday life. As we live in Canada I had to rely on internet reviews to locate such a hotel. Huw and Sam have created a very special hotel located in an spectacular part of the country.
Their warm and genuine hospitality extended throughout their staff and Huw's ability in the kitchen was nothing short of exceptional.....at least as good as any Michelin star rated restaurant I've experienced before.
Well done guys a truely unique experience..we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 598stevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing