We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Hunters Inn(Martinhoe)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heddon's Gate Hotel(Martinhoe)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
964
32
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
32
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahuw samsoupswine listpre dinner drinksattention to detailperfect hostssmall hotelother guestsheddon suitemoment you arrivecoach housesecond visitgin menuold friendsnorth devonfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The old rectory is a really lovely hotel. Brilliant location for either walking or visiting area around the north Devon coast. We stayed in the Beeches which is situated in the old coach house. The room was very spacious and extremely comfortable. All the staff were very pleasant and nothing too much trouble.
Really pleased we booked for evening meal - the food is divine!
Huw and Sam really have got a little gem here and have definitely got a good eye for detail and the needs of their guests.
We will return.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms except on web site, however, when talking to other guest they all spoke highly of the standard of their rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Lovely hotel in a quiet coastal rural position.
Food fabulous with excellent room facilities
Huw and Sam give it that personal touch both in decor and personality.
This was our first visit and we would definitely go again
Good location for touring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have had the most lovely weekend at the Old Rectory. Room excellent Stayed in the Heddon suite, food and wine delicious. Thank you to all the staff for making it such a lovely weekend. To top it all we had perfect weather and afternoon tea on the lawn.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any room. This time we stayed in the Heddon Suite just lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Another return visit, to our favourite Hotel ,run by two of our
favourite people ,Huw and Sam,who together with their helpful
And excellent staff really do make every visit special.
We stayed in the new very stylish Arlington Suite great design
and use of fabrics,also loved the luxurious en-suite with
free standing bath.
Huw's food as usual was exceptional,and as we were blessed
with lovely weather we enjoyed tea and cake in the pretty garden
which really was looking at its best,as was the new and very handsome
Conservatory.Our trip this time was all to short,however we look forward
to October when we return to be spoilt at The Old Rectory once again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Both the service and accommodation were excellent. Tea in the garden at around 3pm was both relaxing and fun. Rooms were of a very high standard exactly what you would expect from a quality country house hotel. Everything that you need from a room was supplied. Bath robes would be a nice extra.
Location for us was perfect, both quiet but also offering an excellent base to tour from in all directions. Dining at a set time was both well organised and nice to meet the other guests.
Food was exceptional a four course meal serviced to a very high standard and at a sensible price-well done. The service nothing being to much trouble. From the early morning paper to the evening drinks.
Grounds around the hotel are kept to a high standard and the fresh veg from the garden is a bonus.
Value for money excellent. Food and service superb.
Huw's cooking exemplary, Sam front of House a real bonus.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing east to catch the early morning sun.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews