We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could go more often to re charge my batteries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Devon Uk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish I could go more often to re charge my batteries”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This our second visit to the old rectory ( last was a few years ago) just as I remembered, fabulous. Huw and Sam are delightful people with wonderful hosting skills, they (and all the staff) make every guest feel that they are welcome. The house and rooms are beautiful, fabulously decorated with great taste, style and lots of personal touches. It feels so welcoming you almost feel that you are staying at a friends for the weekend. The gardens are lovely, if the weather is good, great to sit out in for tea or drinks. The food is delicious, beautifully prepared and presented, good use of local ingredients, breakfasts are scrummy. Best Bloody Mary's I have had in a long time!!! If I have one niggle, there is no such thing as a quick bath....it takes forever to get enough water in to the bath for a nice deep bath, but hey one of the quirks of being deep in the countryside I guess. Just start running the bath early!!!!!!! Will go again, just love the peaceful getaway feeling. It's a real anecdote to busy stressful life

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torquaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review - it was lovely to see you back again and we certainly hope you wont leave it so long next time!

We were particularly pleased to read your comments about food and drink and we are pleased you thought Sam's Bloody Mary was one of the best!

We are sorry that the bath takes a long time to fill - this, as you say, is a quirk of our remote countryside location. We do not have mains water - it comes from a local spring and therefore our water has low pressure. We have pumps fitted on all showers to address this but regretfully we are not able to pump water into in the baths as well as the water supply wouldn't be able to cope with the increased volume. We are looking at alternatives, but in the meantime, I'm afraid its a case of running the bath a bit earlier!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
804
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our second visit to The Old Rectory and Sam and Huw greeted us like old friends! This place is a "must stay" if you are visiting the North Devon Coast. We stayed for 7 nights in the Heddon Suite. It is roomy and immaculate and beautifully furnished and has lovely views. The food here is superb and the wine list is amazing. They have added an orangery and it is sunny and warm and so inviting. The gardens surrounding are peaceful and lovely. The guys helped us arrange a drive round Exmoor with Experience Exmoor and it was fabulous. Woody Bay is just a short walk down a tree lined drive and it is one of the best coastal views anywhere. Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, and they have ground floor ones for those who don't fancy stairs. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The Old Rectory is lovely, combining old fashioned charm with excellent service and comfort. The beds are so comfortable and the food is wonderful. Sam and Hugh are the perfect hosts and take great pride in their creation. On arrival it is immediately obvious that the tiny details are important: the fresh flowers, the plumped cushions, the sparkling glasses, all help to give the feeling that all will be well.
If I were recommending this to friends, I would simply ensure that they were aware of the dinner arrangements, which may just not be to the liking of all. However, since this hotel seems to attract like-minded individuals, the conversations that ensue over drinks in the Orangery are often very convivial!

Room Tip: A discussion when you book is a good plan. Some rooms look over the garden, some are located in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chapeluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First visited in June, and back again in August. A great small hotel and wonderful base for exploring the magnificent North Devon Coast.
We were very comfortable and well looked after by our attentive hosts.. Afternoon tea in the garden was memorable and all the meals to a very high standard with a good choice.
Huw and Sam really help you enjoy you visit in every way. We will be back.

Room Tip: We liked Watersmeet, in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights to celebrate my 50th birthday, and I have to say Huw and Sam have got it so right!! The hotel is lovely and the accommodation is gorgeous with real wow factor. We stayed in the new Arlington suite which is very spacious and beautifully decorated in a contemporary style. The food is sublime, particularly the soups.

The thing that struck us most of all was how friendly ALL the staff were at this hotel, this makes the difference between average and special - they work really well as a team to make sure everyone has a great time. A great stay and all the fantastic comments on trip advisor are well deserved.

Room Tip: We found Arlington to be a great choice, but I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our first stay at The Old Rectory and we were completely satisfied from the initial view of the sea as you drive to Martinhoe to the great room and excellent food.
The hosts Sam and Huw really strive hard to provide the complete package with a smile and attention to detail.We felt at home as soon as we arrived.
The breakfasts and dinners were faultless and my expanding waistline is testament to that.
We stayed in Lawns which has a really nice view over the large garden. The bed was very comfortable.
This hotel offers real peace and tranquility and is a little gem we shall definitely return to.

Room Tip: Lawns is a room that only has a shower so if you require a bath you will need to choose another room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We didn't doubt that our third stay in a year, at this superb hotel would be anything but great. The area is wonderful for walking and sight seeing but you need to have a good hotel to come back to and as remarked on previous reviews, this has it all. The beautiful, peaceful grounds and hotel, the superb rooms are a delight. The breakfast sets you up for the day, afternoon tea and cake and then the lovely evening meal - wow. All this with the addition of the excellent staff, who remember you from previous visits and the stars of the show, Huw and Sam. What great hosts, they have the right balance in being professional and friendly. Don't change anything - you have achieved perfection. Your hard work is appreciated. See you next year!

Room Tip: Very quiet Beeches room looks onto entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
576 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing