We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A wonderfully situated small Boutique Hotel, catering only for Hotel guests. Five minutes from the North Devon Coastpath with its spectacular scenery. Great quality appointments, lovely rooms, big comfy beds, showers that work! Owners who understand and cater for discerning guests. Friendly, unobtrusive staff. We'll come again to enjoy the Old Rectory and walk the coastpath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank willybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
760
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

A most comfortable, relaxed and civilised place to stay. Truly lovely surroundings, carefully well-appointed accommodation and excellent food. Definitely understand why the repeat bookings: I trust we shall return.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oddspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay and about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to this fantastic corner of the World!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litton, Somerset.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A super place for a romantic weekend away. Large and comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds and gardens and elegant but relaxed dinning room and orangery. Food was exceptional. Four course evening dinners, home cooked, and really delicious. Complemented with a very well chosen but not overwhelming wine list.
Beautiful and dramatic coastal walks available from the door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
One of our greatest pleasures is to welcome guests who are celebrating a special occasion to the hotel and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us to celebrate your anniversary so much. It is always flattering for us, as hoteliers, when guests come back and see us and we are really looking forward to welcoming you back next year for your anniversary as Old Rectorians.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just about as good as it gets: beautiful house set in stunning countryside; garden brimming with wildflower colour. Huw and Sam blend professional service with real warmth and hospitality so you feel at home from the minute you arrive. The evening meal was a real highlight, from the first bite of the pre-dinner canapes to coffee in the drawing rooms. The food was local and fresh and packed with flavour. Not one course disappointed. There was great advice on local walks (some spectacular coastal walking just a step away). It's honestly hard to criticise this amazing small hotel, maybe a slightly later breakfast on Sunday? But we will be back again and again I suspect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BarbaraH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Hi Barbara

Wow! What a wonderful review - thank you very much!

It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here last week and about how much you enjoyed our food - as you say, we use top quality local ingredients which we think translates into great tasting meals.

Thank you also for your suggestion about later breakfast finishes on Sundays.

We hope to see you again soon!

Huw & Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our second visit to the Old Rectory which in all respects was delightful. The last time we stayed we said that "our expectations had been exceeded" so this time we set the "bar" higher and it was comfortably cleared. Hugh, Sam and all of the staff make it an absolute pleasure to be a guest at the hotel. The accommodation, food and service are quite outstanding.....but don't tell anyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations on this, your second, visit to The Old Rectory and to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We are very fortunate to have a very strong and friendly team of staff here and we have, of course, shared your lovely review with them. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This has been our 8th visit to this fantastic hotel, it is still as fantastic as the first time we came. Sam and Huw always greet us with such warmth it is like meeting up with old friends(after 8 visits I think we are). We are always greeted by the rest of the staff in the same manner. We stayed in Westgate this time which is just as beautiful as the rest of the rooms, we have only got 4 more rooms to try, it would be hard to choose a favouriate because they are all so stylish, quiet and comfortable rooms, with great en-suites to match. The food is superb. Starting with afternoon tea with cakes to die for, but you have to make sure you leave room for the 4 course evening meal. Starting with pre-dinner drinks where you choose from the fantastic menu and Sam is always on hand to give advice regarding the most appropriate wine to go with your meal choice and to end with coffee in the orangery or one of the lounges, where you can chat to other guests about what you have been doing during the day and what adventures you might be doing on the next day.

Once you have stayed here you will totally understand why Huw and Sam have achieved so many awards, with lots more to come I am sure.

We will certainly be back have to try the rest of the rooms and if I can't make up my mind which is my favourite room I will have to start all over again.

I will never tire of coming to this beautiful hotel. Looking forward to seeing you all again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are very fortunate to have so many loyal Old Rectorians, who come back every year to see us. We really appreciate the loyalty and support that so many people have given us over the years and, yes, you are right, many have become friends.

We get incredible job satisfaction and pleasure from reading your many reviews about your stays with us over the years and after 8 stays you really know what you are talking about!

Thank you so much for your love of the hotel and Exmoor and your support over the years.

Huw & Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
257 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked this a coupe of days before we arrived, wished it could have been longer. First class hotel, with wonderful hospitality from Sam & Hew and the team. Food was superb followed by a very comfortable nights sleep. This is how it should be done and it deserves its accolades. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldRectoryHotel, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for writing about your short stay with us last week. We are delighted that you slept well after a good dinner.

To say "this is how it should be done" was really kind - thank you very much!

See you soon

Huw & Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing