We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect balance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect balance”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Old Rectory manages to deliver a lovely guest experience. Its informal and unstuffy, a great place to relax. Despite the informal atmosphere you will find great attention to detail, lovely staff, a wonderful bedroom (Arlington Suite), lovely public areas, a wonderful garden combined with excellent food. Sam and Huw along with their team make it look effortless, its not surprising they have scooped up so many awards. We loved it.

Room Tip: The Arlington Suite anytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
804
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our second visit to the Old Rectory was as enjoyable as the first. Fabulous service, food and accommodation and we were again made to feel so welcome by Sam, Huw and the whole team. As a real bonus we also had fantastic weather. It's a very special place and we will definitely return and really must stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

calm and peaceful and all staff very welcoming and thoughtful especially as a solo traveller. The rooms are very well equipped and comfortable, best bath I have ever had in a hotel room
stay here if you can

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent two lovely nights at The Old Rectory in Martinhoe. It was a double celebration of a birthday and our wedding anniversary. It proved to be the perfect choice for us.
The hotel gives one the feeling of joining a friendly house party . We met other guests for tea and then again for drinks before a splendid dinner in the charming and quiet dining room. Some guests rekindled past friendships with others and staff , showing an unsurprising pattern of returning visitors. We will certainly join them. The countryside around this unpretentious gem is beautiful and the pace of life slows down while one is there ! Thank you Sam and Hugh, well done and more thanks for the Champagne you gave us for our Anniversary !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited the Old Rectory for our Wedding Anniversary for 4 nights in May which was made extra special by Sam, Huw and the whole team. We stayed in the Arlington Suite which is a lovely spacious room in the coachhouse. The food and service in the restaurant was first class. The whole experience was exceptional with fantastic coastal walks straight from the front door. If you want a relaxing break in a superb setting then this is the place for you, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very pleased to have found The Old Rectory.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wished we had stayed longer. No complaints whatsoever.

The hotel inside and in particular the Orangery was lovely. The Orangery being the perfect place to read if the weather was inclement.

The Gardens were beautiful and hopefully when we return the weather will allow us to sit out in them.

We opted to have dinner at the hotel every night and were very pleased to have done so. The wine list was varied and good value for money.

We would recommend staying here wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Well, the other reviewers appear to have a point.......this place is pretty special. Exceptional food, drink, decor and service, delivered in a relaxed environment by two absolutely charming hosts. Added to which, the coastal walk from the hotel is like nothing I have seen in the UK - truly astonishingly beautiful.

Room Tip: Paddock was lovely - huge bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardBroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
576 reviews
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
695 reviews
8.8 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
363 reviews
16.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing