We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Heddon's Gate Hotel(Martinhoe)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hunters Inn(Martinhoe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
964
32
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
32
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahuw samsoupswine listpre dinner drinksattention to detailperfect hostssmall hotelother guestsheddon suitemoment you arrivecoach housesecond visitgin menuold friendsnorth devonfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A lovely place to visit, peaceful and quiet with stunning gardens and beautiful views of the coast and Exmoor. Friendly attentive staff, a warm welcome and the food was superb. Will definately visit again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Off the beaten track so a car is a must. A beautiful and peaceful place in which to relax and enjoy the garden, delicious, locally sourced food and the services of the dedicated staff. Young children not catered for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Rectory and would love to go back. Sam and Huw are very welcoming, the food is fantastic, the wines good and the hotel is set in beautiful countryside and has been very well refurbished.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our first visit to this wonderful hotel. We will return. The owners and staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Food amazing. The hotel is situatedin a place well known to us - so quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Olllie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay at the Old Rectory Hotel. The whole setting was perfect from the gorgeous hotel to the beautiful gardens, the owners have certainly succeeded in creating a relaxing atmosphere. Afternoon tea in the garden isn't to be missed. The Orangery was the place to be to enjoy cocktails before dinner, needless to say the food was fabulous. The staff were excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. We'll certainly return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lawns which overlooked the gardens. Perfect. A lovely room with a great walk-in shower.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews