We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and comfortable hotel with delightful staff and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
1 review
“A charming and comfortable hotel with delightful staff and excellent food”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

This is a charming hotel and we were very impressed by the warmth of our welcome. Sam and Huw attend to every detail and the atmosphere has just the right degree of friendliness. The locally sourced food is delicious but I would have liked to see a fresh or lightly cooked fruit pudding option at dinner. Our bathroom floor was a bit chilly but the bedroom very cosy. I regretted the absence of a Devon cream tea after a day out but concede that it might have taken the edge off the hunger necessary to do justice to the excellent four course dinner. We were very glad that we had booked in for dinner so that we did not have to navigate the Devon lanes at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay in such delightful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianHummingBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    31
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
785
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brecon-wales
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We have just returned from a mid week break at The Old Rectory - we just love it there! We stayed last year in the Heddon Suite and enjoyed the whole experience - location, food, rooms, garden and general ambience. Huw and Sam - the new owners - are great hosts and made us feel really welcome. It was just like staying with friends in their beautiful country home.

Again we stayed in the Heddon Suite, it having been refurbished since last year. Wow! It is fabulous - the decor is a great combination of traditional country house and contemporary ideas and the room was very comfortable with views down to the sea. My husband loved the state of the art TV - much better than ours at home! (great if you have time to watch). I loved the newly fitted bathroom - a real treat especially with White Company toiletries!

All in all - a fantatsic stay. A return visit is already on the cards!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen9borders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

II have just booked another stay at this great hotel and it has spurred me into action to write this, long overdue, review.

My husband and I stayed here last autumn and we had a wonderful break. This hotel is just charming! It is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We had a beautiful room, stunningly decorated with views out over the lovely gardens. There are lots of little nooks and crannies, both inside and out, where you can enjoy a glass of wine and a good read!

The food was fantastic and our hosts were great fun! Sam and Huw couldn't do enough to make our stay special. It is sometimes difficult to pinpoint what it is that makes a place that little bit special - this hotel is special with a capital 'S'!

We are looking forward to visiting again next month.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjieandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, Powys
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Have just returned from a weekend at the Old Rectory ; Huw and Sam were exceptional hosts, nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel is beautifully situated with charming gardens; food was all locally sourced , delicious yet unpretentious. Dinner and breakfast were cooked to order and served remarkably promptly. No cardboard toast or nasty little pots of marmalade here!
Beds were large and comfortable and the rooms were spacious.
We were a party of eleven and had a great time; looking forward to the next time already

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and delicious food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jebcwmdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2008

A party of ten of us had a delightful four night stay at the Old Rectory Hotel earlier this month. The new owners, Huw and Sam, are perfect hosts and made us feel really at home. One cooks the breakfast and the other the dinner and the results were delicious, with plenty of choices. We liked the building and garden and their location on the coast path. We certainly hope to go back.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank DavidRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Old Rectory Hotel for our first anniversary for just one night. We would have liked to stay an extra night but they could not accomodate us arriving late in the evening (don't really know what they do with people who work coming from far away). We arrived at a relatively decent time of 12:10 in the afternoon to discover that our room was not ready despite my telling them in advance that we were arriving at this time.

We tried not to see this as a disadvantage and took the opportunity to go for a walk. Huw was very knowledgable about the local area and we had the most picturesque walk along the coastline. Just a word of warning- this walk is not for the frail or fainthearted.

Our room was beautiful and we were impressed with the overall finish. Nice touch with the grapes from the vine downstairs. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was good, if you are from central London you may find it of fair quality but unoriginal. Similar verdict about breakfast.

My only real issue with this hotel was the checkout timing. We had to check out at 11:00am. We had come from far away and had been turned away to await our room to be made up despite me telling them that we would arrive earlier. I would of thought giving us an extra hour to checkout would not have been too much to ask. Not sure if this is an unreasonable expectation of a small hotel, possibly it is but it meant we left on a slightly disappointing end.

Overall though I would say that this hotel is wonderful to stay at, with magnificent local scenary and very friendly owners. I think the price is also justified if you have dinner and breakfast package. Just don't come here for a weekend break if you're driving from far away because you might not feel the long drive is worth it

  • Liked — Room, local scenery
  • Disliked — Checkin time, Checkout timing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LYWChaudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2008

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful location, my wife and I were looking for a few days break from the routine and we more than found it with Huw and Sam.

They made us feel so welcome, the room was clean and comfortable with a sea view (if only the clouds had lifted), and the food, both breakfast and dinner was outstanding. They start with excellent quality, local produce and add a little touch of their own magic to produce dishes which would not disgrace a top restaurant., be sure not to skip the soups as part of the set dinners, the flavours are stunning.

Even with poor weather the break was delightful and provided just the boost to our batteries which we sorely needed. We will return.

Brian and Caroline

  • Liked — The friendliness, and the food
  • Disliked — That's a tough one
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snail55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.4 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
802 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
16.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Property: The Old Rectory Hotel
Address: Berry Ground Lane Martinhoe, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory Hotel is a very special place. A wonderful mix of a stylish boutique country house coupled with an un stuffy relaxed atmosphere. Nestled on the stunning Exmoor coast in North Devon, The Old Rectory Hotel is a haven in which to unwind - no crowds, no traffic; just birdsong and jaw dropping scenery. This is somewhere magical to stop and smell the roses - so if you need to soothe the mind and replenish the soul, you couldn't choose a better place. At The Old Rectory Hotel you'll find the simple things done well; a warm welcome, thoughtful service, fabulous luxury rooms, fantastic local food from Exmoor and North Devon and, of course, an award winning wine list. If you were running away, this is where you would go! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel
Old Rectory Martinhoe
The Old Rectory Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing