We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,003)
Filter reviews
1,003 results
Traveller rating
964
32
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
32
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahuw samsoupswine listpre dinner drinksattention to detailperfect hostssmall hotelother guestsheddon suitemoment you arrivecoach housesecond visitgin menuold friendsnorth devonfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,003 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We desperately needed a break from a hard two months at work and boy did we get it!
Huw and Sam manage to blend genuine warmth and friendliness with efficiency in their small personal hotel. The hotel nestles behind the stunning North Devon Coast and is unpretencious, stylish and welcoming. Huw feeds you like Royalty and Sam is the wonderful Maitre De. We felt instantly relaxed on arriving at the Old Rectory and thoroughly recharged when we left. The Hotel is excellent value for money and we would reccommend it for a romantic break or a special day. We are going back as soon as we can. Best holiday in a long time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Having searched all over North Devon for a hotel to take my mother away for a week, I found The Old Rectory Hotel on TripAdvisor and having read all the glowing reviews, decided then and there that this was the place for us. And I wasn't to be disappointed ..... what a hidden gem !!! The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully furnished and we spent many a happy hour in the sunny conservatory. And Huw's cooking is out of this world .... absolutely delicious and as we stayed for a week on half-board, we were well and truly spoilt. I still reckon you ought to package up your home-made soups and sell them to residents to take home with them !!! Huw and Sam are brilliant hosts and really made us feel very welcome .... almost like we were guests in their own home. Very much hope to visit again in the not too distant future. Many thanks to you both for a lovely holiday.
Rosalind Coldrey-Mobbs, Sheffield

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteelerRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Huw and Sam provide such a friendly welcome at this luxury boutique hotel tucked away in the country-side near the Devon coast. The food is definitely the high point - Huw's cooking is absolutely delicious - haven't tasted such a wonderful bread and butter pudding for a very long time! The rooms are smartly decorated and very comfortable although I could have done with more of a power shower.

The only other comment is that as the hotel is small the dining room is quite quiet so we felt a bit self-conscious during dinner - not the place for a private conversation! However, that is only a minor point in an otherwise fantastic visit. We were made to feel really at home and will definitely be returning again. A good reason to visit this beautiful part of the countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireSuperfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

You would be correct!
This was our second visit since Huw and Sam have been in charge and they maintain and improve on their standards year on year.
We spent four nights in the 'Paddock' suite in early June - plenty of space, tastefully furnished and with a large bathroom. That suite overlooks their delightful neatly trimmed garden and the Rhododendron bushes were spectacular this year.

As expected, the food was excellent and locally sourced - do ask Huw to prepare his famous stuffed mushrooms - and Sam's choice of wines very much appreciated.

Once again the service was laid-back but superb, the ambience relaxing and restful and the varied clientèle always interesting and excellent company .

This small but charming hotel deserves its fast growing reputation - Huw and Sam have hit on the the perfect combination in a beautiful setting..

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planeman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Everything was perfect: the style and comfort of the accommodation, the quality of the food and cooking and the area is really beautiful but not too crowded . The attention to detail is second to none but this hotel is not posh or stuffy. The owners are very congenial but understand that you are on holiday and also need your personal space to relax. Nothing is too much troube and all your needs have been thought of. A real gem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandLHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews