We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a lovely place to stay but the roads to it was very narrow.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was a lovely place to stay but the roads to it was very narrow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The room was very large and very good value for money, all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband and myself loved the place, and the food we would definatly return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    101
    54
    43
    28
See reviews for
95
207
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My partner and I are not easy to please. When we book a hotel, we want character, views, location, service, comfort, good food, wine and beer, a peaceful nights sleep, and to feel genuinely welcome without people being overly intrusive. This is one of the few places we have ever stayed (in the world, not just the UK), that ticks all those boxes.

The setting of this hotel is nothing short of stunnig; we visited Norway in 2009, and the scenery here is reminiscent of there - ok, you dont get fjords, but there are similarly striking sheer rock faces and lush green trees. The hotel nestles perfectly between the hills, and the views are gorgeous, whether you're sitting out front with a drink, or lucky enough to have the room we got overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens out back.

We got our room via Late Rooms for £60 per night, and were very impressed with it. Clean, comfortable bed, all the amenities you need. We slept like logs and didnt hear a thing all night (except a little peacock squawk at one point but that comes with the territory!) I am a very light sleeper and I have no complaints whatsoever. The room had a balcony outside and the owner told me he is in the process of getting a table and chairs to put out there, which will make it even better.

The service at Hunters was perfect. We dont give praise lightly as no one likes a frosty reception...but we also particularly dislike people who are in your face and over eager to please. David and his team got the balance spot on for us. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcome and comfortable; it was more like visiting a favourite local pub than somewhere we had never been before. All of the staff were very friendly and natural to talk to, but at the same time, professional and did the hotel proud. A special mention to the new general manager Jen, who looked after us really well and will hopefully remain with the Inn for a long time :-) Little touches, like automatically reserving the hotel guests tables for dinner (and these are the best tables, looking out the picture windows), and offering my partner a sample of a delicious new dessert they were trialing were very much appreciated, and really made the difference to us both.

A word on the food and wine - aboslutely delicious! I think the people who have given it bad reviews must have eaten at a different place, as everything we ate was fabulous. Venison steak, pork belly, duck breast, dauphinoise potatoes, cheesecake, brownie, plum tart...and not forgetting my partners new favourite pud, white chocolate and amaretto mousse....were all cooked to perfection and an absolute delight to enjoy. The wine list is good, and the staff knowledgable and helpful about its contents.

If there was one negative about the place, it would be the breakfast for my partner. He found the fried bread a little too greasy (I loved it!), and thought the portion size could be a little larger. I am not a breakfast person, so this was not a problem for me, as I ordered only a few items to give me a child size offering which is all I can manage to eat in the mornings!

Overall; 11 out of 10. Thank you to all of the team (and the locals and their dogs at the bar!) for a fantastic stay and making us feel like we belonged. Keep doing what you're doing, you're bloody good at it and others could learn a lot from you.

Kate and Neil (stayed 21 - 23 June 2011)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smoggie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

What a hidden gem.!...in an amazing steep sided valley (no mobile signals)...peacocks everywhere!!...we had a lovely room up in the eaves,fab nights sleep, v comfy bed...modern bathroom...food exceptional..breakfast good..lovely gardens..what can I say ? David (owner/host) is one of the nicest and most welcoming chaps I have ever met..we will definitely return, and as soon as possible....awesome...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBDawlish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed here for two nights for the rather wet late May Bank Holiday. Have visited before when footsore from long walks in the surrounding area - but the first time we have actually stayed. Decided to check Laterooms.com for last minute exmoor deals and this came out at a favourable half price deal. The main appeal was the stunning location, previous positive experiences and the dog friendly attitude. Not disappointed - the room we were given is obviously one of the yet to be re-furbished (think 80's tiled bathroom and chintzy light fittings) but nice large queen bed with soft, clean bed linen and perfect people watching (after a long walk) overlooking the very busy courtyard out front with assorted happy hikers/dog walkers and families. This is never going to be the quiet country retreat that some previous reviewers seem to expect but an old favourite respite / refreshment stop / watering hole for all those that enjoy getting out and about in the great outdoors regardless of the time of year. Service for food in the evening can be slow but overall the staff do their best with the demand. Interesting to read back through the reviews about the owner David saving this place from closure - what a loss that would have been in an area with already limited visitor provisions. Look forward to coming again out of season to enjoy the open fire !

Room Tip: Check Laterooms.com and ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avalot5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We booked "last minute" for a couple of nights to latch up with a family group. The Hunter's was very realistically priced and we were expecting a pub with accommodation. However, our room had been beautifully upgraded and had a spectacular view along the Heddon Valley. There was tea/coffee making and a new en-suite. The restaurant was to be recommended and they even were able to book in our 7 extras for the following night (on a bank holiday Mon). We will certainly book again if we need a room in the area. The owner has done himself proud!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japonica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We only stayed one night but would happily go back again. The room was lovely & staff attentive. The evening meal again was lovely, can highly recommend the Venison steaks with port wine gravy - superb. Breakfast in the morning again we can't fault. The sausages are just about the best we have ever had!
Have just read a previous review complaining about dogs - yes there were a number of dogs, it's a popular area for walking & people do take their dogs with them. We had no problem at all with this. When we looked at the website prior to booking, it is made very clear that dogs are welcome, if well behaved.
Again, highly recommended & we will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefox60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

One of our party ordered brocolli and stilton soup a week ago and was rather surprised to find that they were served mushroom instead. It turns out that nobody had wiped the brocolli soup choice which was no longer on offer from the noticeboard. However, no apology was given by any member of staff and Hunter's Inn will not have our custom again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Property: The Hunters Inn
Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing