We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay.”
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I have visited this pub many times over the years whilst visiting this area and have always intended to come back and stay so when I decided to undertake part of the South West Coast Path walk I just had to organise a stay here and I was not disappointed.
I arrived about 2pm and the pub was quite busy but checking in was not a problem so I enjoyed a pint from their good selection of local beers and was then showed to my room. I had booked a twin room as I intended to be walking with a friend but as I was alone I was given a discount on the agreed price. I came down to the bar in the evening and decided not to eat as I had eaten during the day so I sat and chatted with some locals in the bar and had a good night. The bar person (Linda) was very good and kept my glass well filled.
The room was excellent with a large bathroom and a welcome bath.
Breakfast was very good and although they were busy the service was no problem.
Jen was good enough to keep my bag until I had completed the walk and returned later in the day to have some lunch and collect it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Hunters Inn is in an amazing location, not the easiest of places to get to, but it is a wonderful setting.
We arrived with well behaved dog and just wanted to eat, it was a Monday night so quiet, a few other diners were in the restaurant which has fantastic views of the valley.
This place is let down by the staff,who lack the friendly touch, the lady behind the bar just seemed uninterested, I'm not sure if she was shy, the young waitress (Austrian) was also very shy.
The food was very good, Fish n Chips and a burger were really good, but once the food was on the table, that was it, staff vanished, no one checked if everything was ok, hubby had to go hunting for more relish.
Can't put my finger on this place, which has clearly had money spent on it, but it lacks something, and staff need some basic hospitality training.
Don't know that I would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of our food.
Unfortunately the young bar lady who was working on the evening of your visit was having an asthma attack and was struggling to breathe and was unable to carry out the table service that she would normally. She called for help soon after your visit and was sent to the doctors.
The young Austrian lady is part way through a hospitality course at college, she is a little shy and she was concerned about her work colleague. I hope that this will not put you off visiting us again.

Kindest regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stumbled across the Hunters Inn having meandered down a long windy road thought the valley (much easier to get to it from the North - seaward end!). Emerging into the open, the hotel looks like a sun-drenched jewel amidst a valley of green.

We hadn't planned to stay, but after a great lunch of perfectly cooked haddock and home-made chips, we asked and were delighted to find a room looking back up the tranquil valley and the staff did everything they could to look after us.

Our room was lovely, large, with a very comfortable double bed with unbelievably soft cotton sheets. The bathroom was modern with a lovely shower and deep bath - what more could we want?

The hotel is in a simply perfect location, nestled deep within the Heddon Valley; peaceful doesn't do it justice. No mobile phone signal (an advantage for us!) but WiFi is available to guests if the outside world really has to intrude.

There is a lovely easy walk down the rest of the valley to the beach, following the stream as it burbles over the rocks, starting (or finishing - or both depending whether you walk down one side and back up the other, or not) at the bottom of the hotel's lovely gardens.

Dog-friendly, peaceful, surrounded by nature that takes your breath away; we will certainly be back! Thank you for a perfect weekend.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bear_and_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Its not a chain, its privately owned so what it lacks in silly soap in the bathroom is more than made up for by wonderful personal old fashioned service. The food was very good and the portions large. Our room was beatiful, large and very comfortable. The bar area is lovely. The position of the hotel is amazing. We arrived by bicycle and the area is simply stunning. Give the hotel a go - you will be well pleased. One day we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soldeuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This was our second stay a the hunters and it was lovely. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the setting is simply stunning. The rooms are spacious and very tasteful. Breakfast was delicious and very fresh.
On the whole a great stay with even a smile from Chris the bar man. Thank you all.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Neshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were sent here from a nearby hotel for dinner. We wish we had travelled further afield. The food was poor and the waiting staff totally disinterested. The dining room was virtually empty but even a simple salad was on the verge of being inedible soaked in some strange dressing. Even the cheese was minimal and drenched in pickle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a lovely hotel in a stunning location. We spent a couple of nights here. Staff are all friendly and helpful. We had a dinner on our first night. It was excellent, I had a pie, and my partner had chicken, delicious! Breakfast was good too. If you are after a quiet retreat, come midweek out of season, highly recommended! I must mention the charming lady who looks after the peacocks that they have there, so friendly. Room tip, ask for room 4 which overlooks the gardens, it's a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
987 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing