We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor meal”
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

visited hunters inn after wonderful walk through the heddon valley. ordered fillet steak medium rare, not what arrived. steak thin, full of fat and gristle and well done. sent back, same type of steak arrived again, not with mushroom as described. complained and was given refund, but surely should know difference between possible ribeye and a fillet. would not be eating here again. shame as idyllic location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyridius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent the best part of a day in the vicinity, including a walk to the lovely Heddon's Mouth about a mile from Hunter's Inn. We have been here a few times in recent years and always enjoyed a good lunch washed down with some excellent beer. This time we both had the burgers. They were delicious and very substantial, perhaps a higher than average price but well worth it for the quality and the surroundings. This is a beautiful, unspoilt spot close to the north Devon coast, well worth the rather tortuous drive down the narrow roads and we will definitely be back next time we visit this part of Devon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FillongleyNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have visited this inn for lunch on a least ten occasions in the last five years and our last few visits had been very disappointing, but things seem to be on the up food wise.
The walks are breath taking. We go in two cars as a group of seven. Leave one car at the bottom in the National Trust Car and return to passengers at the top at Trentishoe at about 11am and walk down along the coast to the Hunters Inn, arriving very hungry! It is a challenging walk and close to the edge at times. It is just so beautiful. In winter the birch trees are like ghosts and in summer the heather is stunning. We sometimes do it as a loop, but the climb is hard.
Anyway, one of the delights of the walk was arriving to a good lunch at the Hunters Inn. Today we had burgers and chips, two rissottos and a linguini with arabiata sauce. All priced over £10, but we are talking a remote location here with all the costs that involves in running a restaurant. All were pleased with their lunch. That was a relief as the last couple of times had been poor. The service was good and the wait reasonable. Will definitely be going back - we love this valley and we love our lunch at Hunters Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank WoodsieSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We love Hunters Inn. It is in idyllic surroundings and the building itself is beautiful. This is the first time we've stayed: a special treat for us, a break on our journey from Yorkshire to Cornwall.
We will almost certainly come back again, by which time the renovation work will be completed.
The owner, a very pleasant man, very quickly and without fuss transferred us to a different room when we expressed our dismay at the scaffolding outside the window of the (lovely) room we'd originally been allocated. And, in truth, the building work didn't otherwise intrude on our stay.
A few little touches would make a real difference to this great inn: bar staff who acknowledge your arrival at reception - 'just ignore them' is not a great welcoming policy. We are reasonable folk and would have accepted 'someone will be with you shortly'. We were early, the staff were busy, but that doesn't render us invisible.
Can anything be done about the flies in the dining room? We had a fantastic table overlooking the garden but were fending off flies which rather took the edge off.
The B and B deal was £100. And the fantastic location, comfy bed and the all round friendliness of staff and owner mean we feel it was money well spent. But in that price bracket a few nice extra touches would be good: for example we've been greeted with homemade biscuits and nice bathroom extras etc in similarly priced and situated establishments. It makes a difference.
And finally, the building has history - once the work is done it will be great to have a folder of info, including perhaps a typical menu, in the room.
But, as I said, we'll be back. It's a heavenly spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel is in a fabulous position and although a little dated is comfortable and clean. The food however was a disappointment. The advertised fruit salad never appeared at breakfast and croissants only occasionally, the delightful and efficient young waitress had to make repeated apologies for brown bread not being available for toast. Our evening meal was only adequate, the beef burgers were advertised as homemade but really didn't taste as though they were and the salad was limp and uninspiring. However the young staff were all friendly if inexperienced. The manager too was very friendly and made a great effort to chat to his guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hunters Inn is located in a wonderful, rural location. It has a large and secluded garden, which proved to be an ideal spot in which to relax, with a good book and a drink in the warm sunshine. However, whilst the staff were friendly and helpful, we came away feeling there was a general air of malaise and that the Inn was resting its laurels on its location and the lack of competition in the immediate vicinity. Doors to the kitchen areas were being left open to the view of those dining in the evening or having breakfast in the morning, the meals were a little disappointing, and whilst the main public areas seem to have been updated recently, our bedroom certainly required a major overhaul. Overall, room for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Yes the drive to hunters inn is pretty tricky no matter which way you go. When you get there however it is worth it. Lovely gardens and a friendly bunch of young enthusiastic staff. The management were really nice too Whilst the bathroom was poor the four poster bed was fun and we had a side window as well as view out back to the garden from room 1. We enjoyed great weather and worked our way through the beer and ciders on return from our hot hot hikes. The quiz night was fun too although the locals were too brainy for us to have a chance. "Paxo" only gave us 4 points as we were a two person team, miserable sod ! You get an eclectic bunch of customers which is good. So with a bit of tlc in the bathrooms its sure to be on our return list. O i just remebered. They "always run out of bread" .. on Sunday /Monday according to the chef. On the plus side the chips are fantastic as are the portions. There is no mobile signal till you hike up 500 feet or so best let you family and friends know that before you go.

Room Tip: you need to be aware if room has a balcony it may not be private. our room one did not but the loo w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
987 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
756 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing