We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“shabby and delapidated”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shabby and delapidated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rotting windows and doors on the front let in gales of cold air and piling wet logs on to the woodburner didn’t help the chilly atmosphere in the bar lounge. Generally rundown and slightly grubby. Threadbare carpets, stained bath and, on our floor, the smell of industrial carpet cleaner. No hot water in the morning. Fabulous position, in wooded Exmoor valley and near the sea, but won’t be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your comments.

You have high lighted only the negative elements that were at the Inn; for a more balanced review you could have commented on the wonderful new glazed restaurant overlooking the rear gardens or the superb new toilets that we have recently completed.
We purchased a very run down building and have and continue to invest very large sums of money to bring it up to the standards that we would like.
A new front door and frame had been ordered however due to the unusually wet winter we were unable to fit it; this and the new windows will be completed within a few weeks.
At the end of this season the bar will be relocated and the last of the carpets will have been replaced matching the others already done.
Perhaps once this is completed you will think about returning to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    101
    56
    43
    29
See reviews for
97
209
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went in for a drink/ coffee beer etc, and were served quickly, this is in a fantastic location for walkers and they welcome dogs in the bar area, they have decorated the restaurant area and it looks great although we did not eat here. Look forward to another visit and to have a meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I arrived at Longlands 5-10 minutes outside of Combe Martin last Monday where there had been torrential rain, rivers were overflowing and farmers were out looking for livestock! It was very bad and I didn't expect many rural places to be open. I stayed in the area for 4 days with my daughter her partner, the weather improved and we visited The Hunters Inn on Tuesday and Wednesday evening. The Hunters Inn caters for all sorts of people on holiday (ramblers, sightseers, families on holiday, and welcomes dogs) and has several comfortable areas, lovely log fires and a very friendly laid back atmosphere and attentive and helpful staff plus some great beers and wine! As you would expect the restaurant area is in a separate room away from the lounge areas and is well laid out clean and tidy.
The restaurant had a good and varied menu at good prices, certainly not over the top! The meals we had were excellent as was the service and the chef even made up a dish that wasn't on the menu for me - nothing I can criticise and I would be the first to say if it was bad!
For me there was no bad odour not even after the worst storm for years, no damp type odour no doggy smells, nothing!
On both occasions we visited we got chatting to the locals and we had to drag ourselves away from great evenings. Budget allowing I’d certainly go back to stay at The Hunters Inn as a base to do some walking and photography.
Great location, great place, fab friendly staff, good food, reasonable prices and GREAT ATMOSPHERE.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CresSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had came down for a peaceful two Days i know its dog friendly ,but i felt very uncomfortable the smell was very disgusting The price of meals were through the roof as the chips were coated i rather had a fast takeway felt full. This place needs a good refurbishment its situated in a nice area of Exmoor.The One of the staff i was talking to let me knew about the place,i wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review; however it does leave me feeling confused.
Despite being a dog friendly Inn the rooms do not smell of dogs at all.
The menu that can be viewed on our own website demonstrates our food is not over priced and is of a high quality.
We take all guest names that stay at the Inn; I am unable to find yours in our list.
If you did stay at the Inn, why did you not bring to our attention your concerns or even fill in the guest comment form that is in the guide in the room.

I pay great attention to all genuine guest comments and if we fall short of expected standards will strive to correct any errors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a location! We drove down a long narrow road through woods with pheasants, deer, squirrels and then suddenly we arrived at this fantastic old house. We were staying with our son, partner and 2 grand-daughters. The bedrooms had recently been refurbished and were very comfortable. The bar had a great range of local beers as well as interesting locals! One of them, Marcus, picked some wild chanterelle mushrooms for us. We loved the atmosphere. For us it was a perfect place for a family get-together. Yes, it needs a lick of paint here and there, but on the other hand it was perfect the way it was.

Room Tip: In this location, all rooms had perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandalFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Fantastic location and the rooms are amazing!!! We had a four poster bed and room is such a site in itself. I will definitely go back! The only thing I would say is that the staff are not that friendly. There is a tea and coffee making facility in the room, bathroom is good. The furniture they used is Victorian it s almost going back in time. The walks are superb around heddon valley! A definite must to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pina1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Glorious setting, even in the mist and rain and fabulous in sunshine! Peaceful and quiet with the approaches leading you down through an almost otherwordly wooded valley to the Inn. We had a spacious room, comfy bed and it was a marvellously relaxing place to stay with great food and friendly staff! Slept ten hours a night after walking all day! Our breakfasts were delicious and dinners excellent with lovely choices! We will certainly return!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
4.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Property: The Hunters Inn
Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing