We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hunters Inn
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sinai House(Lynton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
206
114
62
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
114
62
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheddon valleyburgerthe pubheddons mouthlight lunchreal alean evening mealsunflower lodgemusselsroast beeffantastic locationsconeswoody baynational trustbank holidaycombe martingreat food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rotting windows and doors on the front let in gales of cold air and piling wet logs on to the woodburner didn’t help the chilly atmosphere in the bar lounge. Generally rundown and slightly grubby. Threadbare carpets, stained bath and, on our floor, the smell of industrial carpet cleaner. No hot water in the morning. Fabulous position, in wooded Exmoor valley and near the sea, but won’t be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your comments.

You have high lighted only the negative elements that were at the Inn; for a more balanced review you could have commented on the wonderful new glazed restaurant overlooking the rear gardens or the superb new toilets that we have recently completed.
We purchased a very run down building and have and continue to invest very large sums of money to bring it up to the standards that we would like.
A new front door and frame had been ordered however due to the unusually wet winter we were unable to fit it; this and the new windows will be completed within a few weeks.
At the end of this season the bar will be relocated and the last of the carpets will have been replaced matching the others already done.
Perhaps once this is completed you will think about returning to see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went in for a drink/ coffee beer etc, and were served quickly, this is in a fantastic location for walkers and they welcome dogs in the bar area, they have decorated the restaurant area and it looks great although we did not eat here. Look forward to another visit and to have a meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I arrived at Longlands 5-10 minutes outside of Combe Martin last Monday where there had been torrential rain, rivers were overflowing and farmers were out looking for livestock! It was very bad and I didn't expect many rural places to be open. I stayed in the area for 4 days with my daughter her partner, the weather improved and we visited The Hunters Inn on Tuesday and Wednesday evening. The Hunters Inn caters for all sorts of people on holiday (ramblers, sightseers, families on holiday, and welcomes dogs) and has several comfortable areas, lovely log fires and a very friendly laid back atmosphere and attentive and helpful staff plus some great beers and wine! As you would expect the restaurant area is in a separate room away from the lounge areas and is well laid out clean and tidy.
The restaurant had a good and varied menu at good prices, certainly not over the top! The meals we had were excellent as was the service and the chef even made up a dish that wasn't on the menu for me - nothing I can criticise and I would be the first to say if it was bad!
For me there was no bad odour not even after the worst storm for years, no damp type odour no doggy smells, nothing!
On both occasions we visited we got chatting to the locals and we had to drag ourselves away from great evenings. Budget allowing I’d certainly go back to stay at The Hunters Inn as a base to do some walking and photography.
Great location, great place, fab friendly staff, good food, reasonable prices and GREAT ATMOSPHERE.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CresSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had came down for a peaceful two Days i know its dog friendly ,but i felt very uncomfortable the smell was very disgusting The price of meals were through the roof as the chips were coated i rather had a fast takeway felt full. This place needs a good refurbishment its situated in a nice area of Exmoor.The One of the staff i was talking to let me knew about the place,i wont be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joseph r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Owner at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your review; however it does leave me feeling confused.
Despite being a dog friendly Inn the rooms do not smell of dogs at all.
The menu that can be viewed on our own website demonstrates our food is not over priced and is of a high quality.
We take all guest names that stay at the Inn; I am unable to find yours in our list.
If you did stay at the Inn, why did you not bring to our attention your concerns or even fill in the guest comment form that is in the guide in the room.

I pay great attention to all genuine guest comments and if we fall short of expected standards will strive to correct any errors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

What a location! We drove down a long narrow road through woods with pheasants, deer, squirrels and then suddenly we arrived at this fantastic old house. We were staying with our son, partner and 2 grand-daughters. The bedrooms had recently been refurbished and were very comfortable. The bar had a great range of local beers as well as interesting locals! One of them, Marcus, picked some wild chanterelle mushrooms for us. We loved the atmosphere. For us it was a perfect place for a family get-together. Yes, it needs a lick of paint here and there, but on the other hand it was perfect the way it was.

Room Tip: In this location, all rooms had perfect views
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandalFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews