We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place..but don't spoil the ship for a ha'porth of tar!”
Review of The Hunters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hunters Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I don't want to give this place a rubbish review as I only grabbed a sandwich and a drink with my wife and therefore I wish my constructive critisism to be acknowledged in the hope that my next experience will be tip top. Merely my accompanying salad to my sandwich was pretty bad. Limp lettuce, unseasoned, no dressing... no love. Cheap, Salad tomatoes instead of real tomatoes. Unfortunately I always judge a chef by his salad and wasn't impressed.....although it was a lunch time and a Monday. The staff seemed nice and friendly and the place is beautiful. I look forward to returning and having an evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Manager at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your very honest review which is much appreciated. Your comments about the standard of the salad which accompanied your sandwich have been noted and communicated to the kitchen. Thank you for your kind words about our lovely staff and the beautiful location that we are fortunate to live and work in. I do hope that you return to visit us again soon, whether for lunch or dinner or even a stay in one of our newly upgraded rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here 3 nights to do walks on the North Devon coast. The location is very pretty and ideal away from it all feel. The room was excellent as were the breakfasts. We ate at the inn every night and the food was good with some interestng menu options. The landlord was very friendly and the overall welcome could not have been better.
Highlight of the stay was swimming in the sea nearby and seeing a red deer stag in the woods.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was spacious and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Manager at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review - we do appreciate your taking time to express your opinions.
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us at the Hunters Inn and hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Room was fantastic and hospitality great. Location is absolutely brilliant. Wish we had stayed for more than one night. Love the grounds and tranquility (apart from the peacocks first thing in the morning!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pete307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidOrton, Manager at The Hunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hunters Inn. We are delighted that you had such a good time and will pass on your kind words to the staff.
Please come back and visit us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A hidden gem in the Exmoor national Park with fantastic walking from the door. A recently refurbished double room was very comfortable. The range of local ales and food was tremendous and the staff were very helpful. A very relaxing place for a break. The dog loved it too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fabulous location, great looking building, really let down by lack of organisation and poor staff. We visited as a family for Sunday lunch - it wasn't very busy but had to wait an age to order drinks (many of which we initially ordered such as a coca cola weren't available), we waited longer to order food and even longer still for it to arrive. (They even forgot to order one of our roast beef and then had to wait a painstakingly 20 min for it to be delivered). My wife had ordered the only vegetarian option, a risotto which visibly looked like it was reheated & reheated & was not edible. What a shame. We were offered a discount but really by that time it was too late and our Sunday lunchtime spoilt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bloomingben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After an absence of 30 years, I revisited this pub/restaurant, also hosting live music events, to sample it's fare.

Following a trek to and from Heddon's Mouth, with family and friends, we ordered a ploughman's lunch (generous with its cheeses), tuna baguette (pictured), two burger dishes (one pictured and both very generous) and a smaller portion of tuna and cucumber (request for extra cucumber was delivered on) for the children aged 1 and 3.

It is generally a 'you gets what you pays for' place with the exception of why I was here:

To reacquaint with the clotted cream teas :)

For just under £6 (for one) you received enough tea to cater for two and enough clotted cream, jam and scones to feed a family - which it did (namely the youngsters!)

The tea was enjoyed under an outside marquee (readying for a hog roast as pre wedding gathering) whilst the Exmoor valley obliged with its heavy 'mizzle'.

The viewing (wedding breakfast/function) room overlooking the refurbished gardens and the radically upgraded toilet facilities just add to the value of this visit.

I recommend this as a place for any group size to soak up the atmosphere of being here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had Two main dishes both over 10.00. One was a very average burger and one for a bowl of salad leaves with half a pear and a few walnuts. I never understand why it is so hard when asked to put dressing on the side with a salad. It was not on the side and was covered in oil... Quite a disappointment. Lovely setting do hope they have not got complacent with lovely setting and relying on captive market.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sarah120610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
983 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
745 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunters Inn

Address: Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hunters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hunters Inn pub is blessed with the most magical setting, tucked at the bottom of the exquisitely beautiful Heddon Valley on Exmoor. The narrow road from the moor descends beneath a canopy of ancient trees. Sun-dappled leaves glitter and gleam. The river runs past the inn and a short walk takes you to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hunters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hunters` Hotel Exmoor National Park
The Hunters Inn Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing