We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently revisited Heddon mouth in North Devon and stayed at the Heddon's Gate Hotel. It is situated in beautiful countyside, within the Exmoor national park and National Trust land. Nearby cliff walks are stunning. The hotel bedroom was large and very comfortable with a good quality bed for a good nights sleep. We particularly liked the bathroom which was large and luxurious. The hotel has recently reopened under new owners and has been extensively refurbished, the hotel website features the new developments. We stayed in a room with very attractive stained glass windows whilst our children stayed in one of the twin rooms. It is a nice touch to be able to choose rooms on booking and the website gives all the information with photos. We had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay with some memorable walks. All in all a fantastic place to stay. If I had to pick out one outstanding aspect it would be Location, Location, Location!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed Heddon's Gate's unique location so much. Thank you for your kind comments about Laurel - the room with the stained glass windows.
We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
86
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A peaceful location near the coastal path. Excellent walking from the hotel. The hotel ambiance is very friendly and relaxed with welcoming hosts who cannot do enough for you. Being able to have the dog with us in the bar was a bonus. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Many thanks for choosing Heddon's Gate and also for your review. Having conquered the section of the south west coast path to Lynton (and back!) we hope that you will come back to do the Heddon Valley to Combe Martin section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

How lucky we were to find this fantastic hotel! The surroundings are idyllic and peaceful. The welcome was friendly and yet unobtrusive. The rooms have been carefully and tastefully renovated, still maintaining the character of the original house. The food was gorgeous and all homemade and the overall service was both friendly and professional.
What a pleasure it was to not be able to be contacted on the mobile phone all weekend! It was a perfect break to chill and relax in lovely company.
We would like to congratulate the owners, Pat and Mark, on their adventure and Liz on her superb cooking. Thanks also to Mia and Cleo, the perfectly behaved pointers, for making us feel so welcome. A real home from home!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the original part of the house offer stunning views. A pure joy to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were one of our very first visitors following the 8 month renovations which started days after we arrived here in July 2013 and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. Cleo and Maya loved their walk with you and are looking forward to your return too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
875 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
442 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heddon's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heddon's Gate Hotel

Property: Heddon's Gate Hotel
Address: Heddons Gate Hotel Martinhoe | Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished Exmoor Country House Hotel hidden at the end of a private drive, superbly situated on the slopes of the wooded Heddon Valley. Spacious en suite bedrooms, full bar, comfortable lounges and sunny terraces. Excellent dinners and good wine list. The area is outstandingly beautiful, and is a walker's paradise. Car trips are also rewarding, with beauty spots, gardens, houses and interesting shops within easy reach. Escape, relax and indulge at Heddon's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heddon's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heddon's Gate Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing