We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovley!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am so pleased that I chose to stay at Heddon's Gate Hotel - Mark and Pat are lovley people and great hosts. They have done a great job reonovating the hotel whilst maintaing its wonderful character. I was looked after really, really well and it thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I have already recomeneded it to friends and I will definatley be returning soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you not just for your review but also for your booking for August. We're looking forward to seeing you again then and to meeting the rest of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
94
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Heddons Gate Hotel is delightfully secluded just up the hill from the Hunters Inn, and a wonderful 20 minute stream side walk from the South West Coastal path. The new owners have painstakingly restored this wonderful hotel, and offer generous hospitality.

The children enjoyed foraging in the woods in the grounds of the hotel, and walking out onto Exmoor just metres from the hotel. The well stocked and secluded gardens are a welcome haven, and the views across Exmoor and towards the sea are simply stunning. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanrogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
The walk alongside the River Heddon to Heddon's Mouth is one of our favourites too. Your children made the most of the paths around the hotel - we have since discovered other paths which have been overgrown for years and we're hoping to open them up as well. Thanks very much for bringing your family (children & parents) to the Heddon Valley. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fabulous rooms, delicious food, and perfect hospitality in every way. The hotel was full of runners for the Coastal Trail event and Mark and Pat laid on breakfast from 6.30am and hot soup and showers on return, even for guests like me who were unable to stay on for the night after the event. It's a beautiful spot and it's a real gem of a hotel. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you liked the hotel so much and hope that you can stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friend and I had a lovely stay. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, and the breakfast was big. The hotel is set in a beautiful location as well. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Very pleased that you were so happy with your stay here. It was only one night but at least you managed a walk down to the sea at Heddon's Mouth before the taxi took you back to Barnstaple railway station. We hope that you'll make a return visit. The train from Paddington to Tiverton Parkway takes just over 2 hours (instead of the 4+ hours to Barnstaple via Exeter) . I will write to the organisers of Endurance Life to include some train tips for next year's event.
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A definite Jewel hidden away. Mark and Pat were always very welcoming and attentive to each and every Guest staying there. They literally could not do enough to assist us in anyway they could and made it feel a home from home for the 5 nights we stayed

I highly recommend this hotel, which has come through a huge transformation since Mark and Pat took over, with more improvements planned.

For those attending future Edurancelife events, the location of this Hotel is second to none and saved some very tired legs from a very long steep hill to where others had to reach.

We have already Booked our next stay for the same time next year as was definitely money well spent.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own special touch and i would happily stay in any of the rooms, as we were give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We're very glad that you arrived a few days before the Endurance Life event; we really felt like we'd known you for years after just 5 days. Thanks very much for choosing Heddon's Gate Hotel and for your booking for next year too. Best wishes for your next stint in Afghanistan - please keep in touch to let us know where your next posting is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful few days at the Heddons gate hotel. It was a last minute decision to go away and we certainly struck lucky with this gem of a hotel. The main reason we chose it was that its dog friendly but when we arrived we found it in a perfect setting for getting out and about into the fabulous Exmoor scenery. The room we had was beautifully decorated, the four poster bed really comfy and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts and the hosts couldnt have made us more welcome. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Exmoor is very beautiful and the walks are so good that we would be silly not to be dog-friendly and you certainly made the most of all the walks. We're glad you liked Willow's four poster bed.
The ferry link between Porthcawl and Ilfracombe is due to re-open soon so maybe you can use that next time you visit Heddon's Gate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We recently revisited Heddon mouth in North Devon and stayed at the Heddon's Gate Hotel. It is situated in beautiful countyside, within the Exmoor national park and National Trust land. Nearby cliff walks are stunning. The hotel bedroom was large and very comfortable with a good quality bed for a good nights sleep. We particularly liked the bathroom which was large and luxurious. The hotel has recently reopened under new owners and has been extensively refurbished, the hotel website features the new developments. We stayed in a room with very attractive stained glass windows whilst our children stayed in one of the twin rooms. It is a nice touch to be able to choose rooms on booking and the website gives all the information with photos. We had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay with some memorable walks. All in all a fantastic place to stay. If I had to pick out one outstanding aspect it would be Location, Location, Location!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed Heddon's Gate's unique location so much. Thank you for your kind comments about Laurel - the room with the stained glass windows.
We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
915 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
562 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
457 reviews
17.6 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
3.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heddon's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heddon's Gate Hotel

Property: Heddon's Gate Hotel
Address: Heddons Gate Hotel Martinhoe | Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished Exmoor Country House Hotel hidden at the end of a private drive, superbly situated on the slopes of the wooded Heddon Valley. Spacious en suite bedrooms, full bar, comfortable lounges and sunny terraces. Excellent dinners and good wine list. The area is outstandingly beautiful, and is a walker's paradise. Car trips are also rewarding, with beauty spots, gardens, houses and interesting shops within easy reach. Escape, relax and indulge at Heddon's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heddon's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heddon's Gate Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing