We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hidden treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Martinhoe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a hidden treasure”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It is not easy to find Heddon's gate hotel because of the low GPS coverage in the area but once you found this house you just don't want to leave it.
Mark and Pat are 2 lovely host and they really make sure we don't miss anything.
dinner and breakfast were amazing (I strongly recommend the paella)
They have an amazing collection of wine bottles
but the most amazing thing is the quality of the accommodation. Every room has been refurbished and equipped with a brand new bathroom the decoration is beautiful and the beds are so comfortable!
I also loved the different lodges they have, " of them with a fireplace and one with gigantic TV screen.

The terrace is facing south and offers an extraordinary sight. In the garden, if you are lucky you can meetup with a dear who seems to be familiar or see the beautiful birds flying over.
At night time i remember seating in front of the full moon listening to the sea waves and looking at the owls hunting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khalid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Your wonderful review shows just how much you loved it here and we're really pleased that you liked everything from the lounges to the wildlife to the paella. Thanks very much for your review - we hope to see you again one day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
86
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Heddon's Gate is located in a very peaceful and attractive setting, has beautiful grounds, and has lovely. The hotel was recently restored but retains the character, with several cozy reception rooms with wood burners, old school leather sofas and armchairs and great views to the woods in the hotel grounds. There is also a comfy seating area outside - we had the luxury of sunny weather on the weekend we stayed at Heddon's Gate and relaxing outdoors in the late afternoon sun with a glass of wine was a real treat after a long hike in the coastal trail. The bedrooms have loads of character, and great views. The bathroom in our room was modern and spacious with both a bath tub and a shower, yet still felt in keeping with the characterful room. Mark and Pat are very friendly, attentive and great hosts and their service and food is great. I highly recommend them and their hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We were very pleased to meet you in May and to read your review. We're glad that you enjoyed Heddon's Gate and your long walk on the South West Coast Path. Hope you'll come back one day.
Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a lovely location, as soon as you pull up the driveway and see the hotel and it's ground, you know it's going to be a great stay.

My wife and I were staying at the hotel and our room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean.

I love the large lounge area and bar, which was a great place to relax and enjoy a drink after a busy day sightseeing. We had a three course evening meal, which was generous in portion size and extremely tasty.

Mark and Pat are great hosts and really looked after us during our stay. We are already planing our next trip back to Heddon's Gate Hotel, as it a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review - you have already been back and we haven't even posted a reply yet! looking forward to seeing again you in August - or perhaps before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were so lucky to find this save haven in unique landscape of moorland and dramatic cliffs - this hotel is fantastic, wonderful, real jewel! The first impression was that we'd arrived to some magical place between the valleys, beaming with positive energy. There are amazing paths around for walks that the wonderful host Mark doesn't hesitate to show while walking his dogs. In the hotel there are many spots to relax with a book, elegant and congenial.
Our room was very cosy, clean and comfortable, food was delicious and the service impeccable. I really wish to came back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorokob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It was great that you were able to arrive for the Endurance Life event a few days before the start so that you could get to know the area. Quite a journey too from Poland. We enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A group of us stayed at Heddon's Gate over May bank holiday. A lovely hotel, with lots of cosy reception rooms, with deep armchairs and sofas, intimate and spacious at the same time. It was an ideal place to hang out and socialise at the end of a day in the gorgeous local countryside. Beautiful views from our bedroom and the lounges, I really would have liked to stay the whole week! Mark and Pat were very friendly and easy to relax with, they were attentive to our needs and comforts and their food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kothai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting your group together with Escape The City Tours - it was a great atmosphere. We know that you're always keen to visit new places but we hope that there'll be an opportunity to revisit some old favourites too. Many thanks for your visit and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stumbled on the hotel by chance and 1 night went to 3.Mark and Pat are great hosts and with 3 children and 2 dogs we had a great time.All the food evenings and breakfast were top notch and there is a nice bar to relax in. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone.Mark Pat- we will be back soon and look forward to seeing you again.Love from Bournemouth xxx

Room Tip: I wouldn't think you would be disappointed with any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we were very pleased that you extended your stay from one night to three and we remember how much your girls liked the pancakes! Hope to see you again in the school holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Heddon's Gate for a weekend at the end of March, and we had a lovely time. It was great to find a hotel that is dog friendly - Hoogo enjoyed his stay too. The hotel has been wonderfully updated by Mark, Pat and Liz - together they have done an amazing and imaginative job. I loved the use of colour throughout all the rooms - magnolia was not in evidence! The food was lovely and plentiful, and the service was perfectly judged. We loved everything about the hotel, and will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Acer, which we nicknamed the Red Room. It is a lovely room, with a great bathroom, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It was good to meet you both and Hoogo, the second Old English sheepdog to visit. He definitely loved the wood-burning stove in the bar. Thank you also for sharing your photo album with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinhoe
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
875 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
314 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
442 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
476 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ilfracombe
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heddon's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heddon's Gate Hotel

Property: Heddon's Gate Hotel
Address: Heddons Gate Hotel Martinhoe | Heddon Valley, Martinhoe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Martinhoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Martinhoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished Exmoor Country House Hotel hidden at the end of a private drive, superbly situated on the slopes of the wooded Heddon Valley. Spacious en suite bedrooms, full bar, comfortable lounges and sunny terraces. Excellent dinners and good wine list. The area is outstandingly beautiful, and is a walker's paradise. Car trips are also rewarding, with beauty spots, gardens, houses and interesting shops within easy reach. Escape, relax and indulge at Heddon's Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heddon's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heddon's Gate Hotel Martinhoe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing