We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
185
26
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
26
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm welcomeseparate dining roomsingle roomcoombe martindouble aspect windowsan ideal basesouthwest coast pathidyllic spotdog friendly hotelhidden awaybeautiful locationlog firetake photostea and biscuitslovely big roomrooms were very cleanhelpful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a fantastic find! Pat and Mark who own this hotel are the nicest couple and nothing is too much bother for them. They are extremely welcoming. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Our room had a double aspect (stunning) view. The breakfast was plentiful and beautifully cooked. Our evening meal was simply delicious. What's not to like! Yes we would (will) stay again. Yes we would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: 'Beech' is a fabulous double aspect room :)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffaorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

We really loved your review and only wished we'd replied to you sooner. Nothing could prepare us for how busy we have been this summer and some of this we owe to previous guests like yourselves who bothered to share their experiences with others. Thanks very much and yes, please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Family of 4 stayed one night for a christening nearby. Kids (10 & 8) particularly loved the family room set up. The owners were very hospitable and are working hard to restore the hotel to former glory. The verandah overlooking the jungle with lots of interesting plants from all over the world makes it a real haven. The breakfast was delicious

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

We remember your kids getting their wellies on to go exploring before breakfast . The jungle down below the garden has bamboo, eucalyptus and loads of other plants which we can't even name. Since your visit we have discovered an old footpath which leads directly north towards the sea and links up with the old carriage path which leads from the Hunters Inn to Woody Bay. We hope you'll all be back one day for a longer stay in Sycamore. Thanks for your visit and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Last week I had the pleasure of staying at the Heddon's Gate Hotel with a friend of mine. Such a gorgeous and tranquil setting in exactly the right place to discover the delights of Exmoor National Park and the surrounding coastal towns. This small hotel is in a fabulous off the beaten track position tucked into the valley by Heddon's Mouth and the Hunters Inn.

Such a delightful place with truly welcoming hosts Pat and Mark. Nothing was too much trouble including the fabulous Paella that Mark prepared for us for dinner packed generously with delicious fresh seafood.

We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves on the first night which meant we had a tour of the house and all the rooms. All the rooms are large and well appointed with very different colour schemes and finishing touches. We were lucky enough to have the twin room that looks out over the front garden. So much space and a huge bathroom!

By the time we left after two nights I felt like we had been staying with friends and I am really looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and well appointed but those with the view over the front garden are especially nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

You've been back in Australia for weeks now and I'm sorry it has taken so long to reply to your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much and hope that you'll be back again on your next trip to England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The location and views are beautiful, but it's the incredibly warm welcome that will make your visit one you will want to repeat. Mark and Pat really do go out of their way to ensure that you eat exceptionally well, have plenty of great ideas for how to spend your days and generally feel at home in this spacious, charming hotel. I will certainly return. (I recommend the Paella.)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charl0ttetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review . We are very pleased that you felt so welcome here. When you are ready to return please let us know whether you would like another paella or whether you would like to try something else from the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay at Heddons Gate was lovely from start to finish. A very warm welcome from Mark and Pat was followed up with recommendations for dinner, local walks, etc. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautiful, with outstanding views. We travelled with our dog Buddy, and nothing was too much trouble to accommodate the 3 of us. We didn't want to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Mark and Pat will advise you on the most suitable room for your requirements.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, Owner at Heddon's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

We enjoyed meeting you and Buddy too. He loved all the walks around here so we're sure he won't mind if you bring him back here one day. Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay at Heddon's Gate Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews