We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”
Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Exmoor Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“one night stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nice clean large bedroom and en suite, with beautiful views.
The evening meal was good, with plenty of choice the service was excellent only waiting
about 15 minuets from ordering.
The breakfast was very good in fact one of the best we have ever had.
very friendly owners, we would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    111
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
256
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife and I spent a thoroughly comfortable night at the Exmoor Forest Inn. We too were made to feel very welcome and we can certainly support previous reviewer's reports of the high quality of the food - the first class breakfasts really set one up for the day !! The atmosphere in the bar in the evening was relaxed and friendly with good real ale on tap and an excellent menu - don't miss the game pie !! We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 3 is big, bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixpenny Handley
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is the third time that we have stayed at this Inn, this time as with the others, we were not to be dissapointed, a friendly welcome from the owner, a lovely clean well appointed room, super cooked breakfasts, and good evening meals, the price per night is very reasonable, we would reccomend this as a place to stay to anyone.

John & Sue Curtis

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have now stayed at the Exmoor Forest Inn several times, using it as a base for walking and photography on the beautiful moors and stunning combes. Each time we have received a very warm welcome from Janis and Nick, for whom nothing is too much trouble. They ensure that you are comfortable, looked after and well fed!

The rooms, and we've now stayed in three different ones, are extremely clean, exceedingly comfortable and offer everything you could want or need on a break. Fluffy dressing gowns and towels, toiletries that, together with the soft water, leave your skin feeling silky smooth, a good shower with excellent pressure and hot water on tap that you really don't have to wait that long for.

In the tea tray basket you'll find a wonderful selection with Earl Grey and herbal as well as the excellent ' Miles' tea together with biscuits,coffee, ample milk supply and bottled water. What more could you require?

As for the beds, well, if you've not slept in one of Janis' beds then you haven't lived! I invariably don't sleep well when I'm away from home but I do here. The beds are so comfortable with silky, soft linen, mattress protectors and pillow shams... and the beds are ample in size with great support.

In the bar you'll find some great ales and delicious food with great choice - if it's on offer try the roast dinner or the rump steak - it's melt in the mouth food at a very reasonable price. Choose whether to sit and have a quiet and relaxing meal or join in with the locals at the bar - you get the best of both worlds here.

Breakfast is a mammoth event and you have to experience one to know what I'm talking about! Their full English is one that I've yet to match anywhere with bacon, sausages and black pudding to prepare you for the day together with tasty eggs, the sweetest tomatoes, hash browns, beans and toast... and that's just the cooked breakfast. You may be tempted by the 'cold' table too with yogurt, cereal, fruit and pastries.

As for the surroundings - they are untouchable with moorland, pasture, woodland, valley, coombes and coast. The walking is fantastic as is the wildlife and you don't even have to leave your room to see it. Red deer can be spotted from the front bedrooms, ambling across the moorland slopes, the birdlife is prolific with a wonderful dawn chorus if you're up and about and we've even spotted bats!

We've stayed in varying establishments but would return again and again to the Exmoor Forest Inn for the comfort factor,the cleanliness, the food and the welcome. It never falters and never fails - it is faultless.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilliePeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We experienced a warm welcome on arrival. This continued throughout our 3 night stay. We enjoyed a fabulous weekend of walking in Exmoor and a hearty, delicious meal on our return to the Inn. The reburbished room, which was the same room as last time, has a new, good quality shower. Hot water was available to it whenever we asked for it. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odyssians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Newly decorated excellent sized room with powerful shower, friendly staff, good reasonably priced food and centrally located for Exmoor and North Devon coast. Be patient with the hot water it gets there in the end. Limited mobile phone signal but free wifi.Friendly bar and selection of real ales!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2912Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Good atmosphere and excellent value on a two-day B & B & Dinner deal. Good food and friendly service, although beware the bar being taken over by locals attending meetings who seem to think they have absolute priority over anyone else!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44JohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
0.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
140 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
696 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Property: Exmoor Forest Inn
Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath
Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing