We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exmoor Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed for three days and everything was as previous guests have confirmed, friendly staff, good food which is homecooked and nicely presented, lovely clean room and warm bathroom with a great shower. nothing was too much trouble. will definitely stay again.

mr and mrs taylor. devon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    109
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
244
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Such a fantastic location on exmoor, I loved that we had no mobile reception as was a real break from everything. Has a relaxed feel and just what we were after. The hosts made an effort with everyone but not intrusive. Felt very at home. If you want a super smart hotel it may not be for you, but is a lovely old lodge and we felt very comfortable and would definitely return (we may have to adopt a dog first!) food lovely and hearty too after our long walks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked in for 1 night, with our Newfoundlandand, ended up staying for three. Arrived late on the Sunday and still offered food. The owners and family could not have been more welcoming. Other guests were also friendly and very happy for the dog to be present. The owners dogs were friendly as was a regular visiting dog. Originally planned to move on after one night, but was badly let down by a supposedly pet friendly inn in Holne Dartmoor. Rang the Exmoor Forest Inn in desperation and they readily accepted a late booking on the Monday evening and again offered food even though I arrived after 10 p.m. The room was spotless with crisply ironed bedding. Plenty of tea, coffee, milk and sugar for a number of cups - the details seemed important to them. Food was very good with well cooked breakfasts. For a small inn that is continuing to refurbish, I was extremely happy. Good value. Thank you for your help, friendliness and for going that little extra.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stopped for lunch at the Exmoor Forest Inn. A good range of ales, friendly efficient service and excellent food. What's not to like? A small consideration is parking, as there isn't a huge car park outside the front, but for those in the know, proceed up the hill a little and turn left where there is a public car park which is free. Well worth a visit and we'll certainly return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickexmoor, Owner at Exmoor Forest Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. With regard to the car parking, we do have a much larger car park at the rear of the building. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My partner and I had booked for 1 night but on arriving at 3.00pm that afternoon, the inn was completely deserted! The door was locked - rang the doorbell several times but no answer - no warm welcome as previously reported! We decided to drive a few miles in order to get a mobile signal to ring to find out what was going on - but no answer from the telephone either.

After wasting 2 hours driving around and returning to see if we could check in we still had no joy so as a last resort we had to book another hotel for the night - not quite what we had in mind.

We left several messages and I later spoke to the gentleman and explained that we were forced to find alternative accommodation and we didn't even get an apology or an explanation!

We certainly won't be visiting the Exmoor Forest Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRB222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickexmoor, General Manager at Exmoor Forest Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We apologise for the fact that you did not get to stay at our inn. I can assure you that the portable door bell was with a member of staff at all times during the afternoon. Another member of staff saw your vehicle in the car park, however you drove off before he could attract your attention.
With regard to your telephone call, I do remember it and certainly did explain and apologise. We look forward to seeing you in the future so that we can make amends in person
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Warm welcome, comfortable and very clean room, excellent breakfasts.
After walking in very cold and wet stormy weather on Exmoor the warm comfort of The Exmoor Forest Inn was a wonderful retreat to return to each day.

Room Tip: Good views from front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickexmoor, Owner at Exmoor Forest Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. With regard to the car parking, we do have a much larger car park at the rear of the building. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Exmoor Forest Inn is a very warm and comfortable place to stay with friendly and helpful management and staff always on hand to help make your stay enjoyable. It is well situated near the centre of Exmoor and is an excellent base for exploring the local surroudings.
The bar menu offered a good choice of meals which were generous in proportion and the ones we tried were all very good with clean plates all round !
The rooms are very well kept, being a good size with very large comfortable beds giving us a good nights sleep. Breakfast is also very good and lives up to the same standard as everything else in this excellent country Inn.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocky185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
0.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Property: Exmoor Forest Inn
Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath
Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing