We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exmoor Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath immediately before Xmas (our 5th visit). As always we found it suited our needs very well (walking, substantial well-presented food and drink, and good value). The Inn is simple but characterful, and the hospitality is friendly but not invasive.
Good walking route suggested by Nick which dodged the incoming storm! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    105
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
41
234
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Greatly located for walks in exmoor, lovely friendly service, lovely food and cosy rooms. Would highly recomend the Exmoor Forest Inn.

It was dog friendly but the rooms we extremly clean, with lovely view towards the moors. The bar was great with good ales on tap and tasty food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImogenHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Forest Inn between Christmas and New Year and had a lovely couple of days. The owners (and their dogs!) are very welcoming and our room had an extremely comfortable bed which was much needed after a round-trip walk to Withypool! We ate in the bar both nights and had great meals. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Visited the Exmoor Forest Inn for lunch over the Christmas period. The dining area was warm and there are a few different smaller areas with tables that give a more relaxed feel to the inn.

On the whole the food was fine, and service was friendly if a little disjointed. There were areas which could be improved on - the soup was over-seasoned with garlic and fish could have been fried for a few more minutes. The vegetables with the main (mushroom tartlets) were sprouts, parsnips and red cabbage - all of which were overcooked and completely mushy. I think they had these vegetables leftover from Christmas dinners and decided to make use of them and reheat.

Coffee after the meal was excellent and the owners were friendly. Overall, a bit of a disappointment.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed in mid december, we were the only people there but were made to feel very welcome. Nice large clean and quiet room and a good breakfast. We had some food one evening which was nice and there are a couple of friendly dogs. A pint of exmoor ale by the log fire was appreciated as were the quirky xmas decorations. Simonsbath is a great place to walk exmoor and we had a nice couple of days based there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

we stayed for three days and everything was as previous guests have confirmed, friendly staff, good food which is homecooked and nicely presented, lovely clean room and warm bathroom with a great shower. nothing was too much trouble. will definitely stay again.

mr and mrs taylor. devon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Such a fantastic location on exmoor, I loved that we had no mobile reception as was a real break from everything. Has a relaxed feel and just what we were after. The hosts made an effort with everyone but not intrusive. Felt very at home. If you want a super smart hotel it may not be for you, but is a lovely old lodge and we felt very comfortable and would definitely return (we may have to adopt a dog first!) food lovely and hearty too after our long walks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Property: Exmoor Forest Inn
Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath
Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing