We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Exmoor Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Exmoor Forest Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Simonsbath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at the Exmoor Forest Inn and we had a wonderful time. The owners and staff are very friendly and efficient. The food is excellent and there's a very good choice of drinks at the bar. The rooms and public areas are spotlessly clean and the place has a lovely warm country feel. Excellent for walkers and a very good location for day trips. A very good price too.
We will return very soon.
We'd personally like to thank the owners and staff for making our visit such a lovely one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    109
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
42
243
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very pleasant place to stay, warm and welcoming. Friendly and efficient owners and staff. Very large and comfortable bed - room 3 - and nice en-suite. Comfortable bar and dining areas and a really first class breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triggerread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

it was our first time away with our dog, who is a black german shepherd, we were made to feel very welcome, and it is a very dog friendly inn. The family that run the inn are very warm and friendly and put their self's out to be hospitable.
The evening meal and breakfast were both excellent and reasonably priced.
The surrounding area is great for dogs with a lovely dog walk over the road, We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Lovely quiet location but well placed for exploring.The Inn has a welcoming feel to it. A visit to Lynmouth and Linton a must. Comfortable room woken by bird song every morning, bliss.Disappointed with the lack of hanging space in the room but everything else was great, very clean. Service was very friendly and helpful. A very dog friendly hotel would recommend it to dog owners.Would recommend the food, good menu and very tasty.Plenty of parking nice beer garden.Sadly no mobile phone signal but a payphone is available and it was a nice change.

Room Tip: All good gardens front and back road quiet at night.Stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAROLE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a fabulous stay here. We were a group of ten on a family reunion. Jan and Nick could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. The hotel is charming and they have clearly spent much time and effort decorating and furnishing the public areas to maintain its historic feel. Food and beverage were excellent and the rooms extremely comfortable. Definitely recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hosts were very friendly & helpful. When we explained that we needed to leave earlier than the breakfasts were to be served & asked if it would be possible to have sandwiches made up instead, they prepared full breakfasts for us an hour earlier than advertised.. Good meals, friendly service.
An ideal stopover while walking the Two Moors Way, right en~route.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bere Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We turned up in the middle of the afternoon and needed a room just for one night. Although the hosts did not have any dog-friendly rooms available they were more than happy to prepare one for us and our clean canine companion. Once settled we took our dog for a walk and found a footpath right opposite the hotel that led out into some beautiful Exmoor landscape. On returning we had a meal at the hotel which was very good. Later in the evening a cool jazz band played in the bar. Our room was comfortable and the full English breakfast next morning was more than I could eat!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simonsbath
0.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
137 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
7.4 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Forest Inn

Property: Exmoor Forest Inn
Address: Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park TA24 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Simonsbath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Simonsbath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor Forest Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Exmoor Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Forest Hotel Simonsbath
Exmoor Forest Inn Simonsbath, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing