We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth192
Singapore
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful setting, very comfortable, well equipped and warm. Access is via very steep and narrow lanes, so not for nervous drivers- but for me it’s what makes it perfect as it means it is so quiet and peaceful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Many thanks for you kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful setting of Barn Cottage and that you weren't put off my the narrow lanes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W12400
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We arrived to find the Cottage warm and welcoming on a cold January day.
My husband & I stayed for a week, while friends came down for a couple of days.
The cottage had everything you required from the lovely hot water, to all the cooking utensils and facilities you needed throughout the cottage ( A true home from home).
Tarr Steps was only a few yards away, along with plenty of good walking from the doorstep.
The cottage and facilities were all Perfect.
Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your kind feedback. It sounds like Barn Cottage was perfect for all your needs, what a wonderful location to have stayed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts-mix
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Total escape”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I booked this house for seven of us as a relaxing family break and it was the perfect spot, plenty of sapce downstairs, all open plan so no one ever felt cut off. The bedrooms were lovely, clean and spacious and very comfy, the two at the top were great for the kids but did get very warm. There are plenty of bathrooms and towels are provided and the facilities were great, dishwasher, washer and dryer so if you get muddy days you can just bung the lot in.The area is very beautiful but very remote, make sure to take all supplies with you because there are no shops in walking distance and the roads are mostly one car width so not good for nervous drivers. We spent a good amount of time in the Tarr Farm in across the river, a five minute walk from the house, excellent food and cream tea, the beer and cider went down very well. We made a few trips out including a road trip to Stonehenge and Glastonbury, two hours to Stonehenge but our fabourite was Dunster, a thirty/forty minute trip to the coast. The town itself is very pretty but the castle was a highlight. The only complaint would be that there was no welcome pack in the house when we arrived, I wouldn't expect champagne and caviar but a bottle of milk and a little loaf would have been nice. We do tend to pack for an apocolypse when we go but we didn't take sugar with us because I've never stayed anywhere where the basics weren't already in place but there was nothing in the cupboards except salt and a few tea bags so go prepared.
All in all a lovely house and an exceptional place, we loved Exmoor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House
Liked least: The need to drive everywhere
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback about your stay at Barn Cottage. I'm glad to hear that you had such a good time, and I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the owners. Thank you also for your constructive comments about the welcome pack. It's always so useful for both us at Helpful Holidays and the owners we work with to hear how we can improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing