We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS SURROUNDINGS!”
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS SURROUNDINGS!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a superb place! The walk down is well worth it, although the walk back after a lovely lunch was not so much fun. I had the Tarr Farm burger which was absolutely delicious. Would love to go back and enjoy an evening meal (but would need to stop overnight). So nice to see somewhere like this so well run and busy. But when we went the weather was fine!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbabe038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    64
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
159
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We approached Tarr Farm Inn from the steps and felt at home sitting in the sunshine with a pint. So we booked in for the night.
The rooms and food were very high quality and the service was very good.
And the location is just about perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We ordered two burgers at £9.95 each - they arrived burnt black - cremated - no one came to ask how our food was - we now know why - the wooden chairs were in a terrible state of repair - arms missing - poor management - dont even think about going.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We decided to book a night here having visited Tarr Steps itself earlier in the year and thought that the Tarr Farm Inn looked nice (both in the flesh and on its website).

It is in a lovely secluded spot with no danger of through traffic, parking is available just across the lane from the accommodation. The hotel rooms are a comparatively recent addition, part of the block is stone faced and part is timber. Our room was very well appointed; a few slight niggles though which would have been more annoying still had we not had a bargain rate. The rooms are laid out so that two rooms share an entrance lobby which is floored in coir (doormat material), ideal for coming in out of inclement weather and in walking boots etc. There was a very odd smell in the lobby of our room but it might just have been where the matting had got damp. It did not intrude into the room.

The room itself was lovely, there were a few marks on the very light coloured carpet - perhaps an odd choice for a dog friendly outdoor orientated hotel. The worst bugbear was the door closing devices - it is impossible to close the room door (which is also a fire door and very solid) quietly. As a result whenever your neighbours enter or leave their room there is a colossal bang. I suspect that with adjustment of the springs this could be remedied.

The evening meal was of a very high standard, perhaps a little leaning towards fish for some tastes but some other dishes in particular steak.

Breakfast was also excellent.

Another reviewer has mentioned that service is a little casual - I would say that in fact the hotel is somewhat short staffed but all the staff were very friendly and helpful once you had found them!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCroker1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The first thing to say is that all staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The quality of the food is first rate, with the choice at breakfast being outstandingly wide and of a high quality ranging from "full English" through to kippers and on to plain old poached eggs. Apart from helping yourself to cereal and doing your own toast, all food at all meals was waitress/waiter served. None of the all too common ghastly food "vats" at Tarr Farm !

We were in a group of 8 and ate in the restaurant each evening for our three nights there. Although the menu was the same each night, its size was such that a different choice each evening was no problem.

The hotel only has 9 (?) rooms and is "at the end of the line" down a valley right on the river Barle. Very quiet and peaceful. You will not be lonely, however, as we understood that at times well over 100 can visit for lunch !

Our room (No. 1) was very well appointed, with "extras" such as a comb and toothpaste and brush. The bathroom was a good size with a separate shower.

There is free good quality wi-fi throughout, but no signal for mobiles.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will visit again one day.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have separate showers, so if that's your preference then ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaitCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Starting with the fact they allow you to just book saturday night instead of insisting on a two night minimum, we loved everything about this picturesque, friendly and lovingly run hotel. After a local wedding, 10 of us arrived for what was a perfect end to a wonderful day. We ranged from 11 to 83 years old and everyone had a wonderful time and a terrific meal. Pleadings from the teenagers the next day that we should come again for longer. Now that doesn't happen often.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greedisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this pub / hotel. The location is next to the beautiful Tarr Stepping Stones that cross the River Barle. We reserved the very last room the day we visited.

Whilst the position of our room was on the ground floor with one side over looking the car park, the receptionist gave us a discount (paid £90 against quoted rate of £150) and we found the room very comfortable.

The shower had water pressure so great it would match that of a hotel in the States. The room also had very thoughtful additions such as a basket of essentials, razor, toothpaste, tooth brush, indigestion tablets, nail polish remover....thus showing they are thinking of what visitors may end up needing at last minute whilst being in the middle of the countryside.

The food in general is nice pub type cuisine that we would rate from our experience, better than average. For those that like Guinness, it's kept and served well (at least for me it was). The wine list was also good with predictable pricing.

Room Tip: Whilst the room at the end (by car park) on the ground floor apparently is always the last room to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDavid123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
562 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Property: Tarr Farm Inn
Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing