We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, delicious food”
Review of Tarr Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarr Farm Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Tarr Steps B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stopped off for lunch whilst visiting Tarr Steps. It has a lovely garden where dog owners can sit, with great views over the forest and ford.

I had a brie ploughmans, which comes on a wooden board with pickles, chutney, thick soft bread, and a massive wedge of Somerset brie. Absolutley delicious for about £8.

The staff are pleasant and efficient, a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinkyDink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    64
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
159
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The isolation and peace we found at Tarr Farm was exactly what we were looking for, for a romantic weekend away. The beauty of the surrounding countryside is breathtaking.

We were warmly received at Tarr Farm Inn after a long drive. Our room (number 6- Cuckoo) was perfect and bathroom spotless with very high quality organic toiletries.

Dinner was to die for. We ordered the wood pigeon and ham hock terrine appetisers and the Devon Ruby ribeye for our mains. Tarr Farm has a very extensive wine list. Bin 64 the Organic Cotes du Rhone was a great accompaniment to our amazing dinner, and we were spolit for choice when it came to ordering champagne for the room.

Breakfast was delicious and was the perfect start to a day exploring the West Country.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel-Willetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location is great for walking,right next to the historical Tarr Steps. The accommodation was well thought through and very comfortable. You even get homemade biscuits to eat between meals! The food was excellent, with a great choice. The staff were welcoming, helpful and dog friendly. I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Enjoyed a delicious lunch here after doing the circular walk around the near by beautiful Tarr Steps. The food we could not falter, it is no means cheap but you definately get what you pay for and their is a variety of menu options available. As for the staff they were polite, attentive and helpful, we will definately be calling in again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somersetbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This pub was midway in our daylong circular hike in the Exmoor National Park. The sight of the pub from a distance was a welcome relief. It is an ideal place to enjoy a meal and a drink as it has an abundance of breathtaking views.

We did not have a meal as we had a long way left to walk. But the food on offer looked quite delicious and the portions were quite generous. I tried the local ale - Exmoor, which was very refreshing. My partner had some tea cakes and tea. We were both very pleased at the friendly service and the drinks. A very nice place to spend some quality time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Having returned once again for our anniversary we were greeted by the amazingly friendly staff. We ordered a couple of cream teas replacing them with coffee and they were delivered to a our table. The coffee was good and the portions were large.

After a brisk walk we returned to our wonderfully appointed room and relaxed before our evening meal.

We once again thoroughly enjoyed our food which is always superb. The selection, presentation, service and taste are flawless.

Tarr farm inn is one of the jewels of the southwest. Its friendly and courteous staff are epitomised by their manageress's values and standards. The accommodation is wonderful and clean. The food is spectacular, well priced and presented to near Michelin star quality.
The location is perfect for a quite romantic get away, or with the river on the door step ideal for families. There is also appeal for single people who are interested in the countryside.

A truly perfect getaway in every sense of the word.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

After a long hike in Exmoor along well trodden paths, the sight of the Tarr Farm Inn is welcome!

Friendly staff and a picturesque surrounding makes a well earned drink even better!

We didn't eat, but the food and the portions looked generous and reasonable priced.

The staff were friendly, helpful and always making sure you were ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarr Steps
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
562 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
4.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarr Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarr Farm Inn

Property: Tarr Farm Inn
Address: Tarr Steps | Dulverton, Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park TA22 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Tarr Steps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tarr Steps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tarr Farm Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tarr Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarr Farm Hotel Tarr Steps
Tarr Farm Inn Tarr Steps, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing