We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Location, Great Staff, All round Great place to stay!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab Location, Great Staff, All round Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having stayed at the Cavendish a couple of times now, I felt I must write a review and say how i love my stays here, from the moment you arrive, ur greeted with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. I always say, treat those how you wish to be treated urself and and for me and others i met on the holiday, we all had a lovely time. Lisa and her team were extremly professional, and seemed very dedicated to their roles. The food was thoroughly enjoyable and we were served attentively & promptly at every meal times. The hotel is in a fantastic location, 10 min walk if that and your in the town. if ur lucky enough to have the sunshine, Exmouth has it all, i love the place and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Cavendish once again, in fact some friends & I are planning to go back for the turkey & tinsel celebrations in november. i would like to congratulate lisa and her staff for looking after her guests the way she does and the fact she has been there for over 10 years goes some way to show how dedicated to her role she is and how valued she is by the owners. well done to you all and see u very soon!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CortijoWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    84
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
25
72
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is the second time spent at the Cavendish Hotel in Exmouth, once again the hotel was friendly, clean and inviting. There was a good choice of food, which was served hot. Everyone was polite and helpful. The weather was very bad, but spectacular with waves crashing over the promanade. The entertainment was good on one night only, but this didn't spoil the holiday. Would go again hopefully the weather will be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Norah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just returned from a 5 day Alfa coach holiday at the Cavendish Hotel in Exmouth. The hotel was perfect for holidaymakers who were 50+ however I can imagine that some younger people might be alarmed at the influx of senior citizens as these made up the majority of guests on my stay there. The hotel was clean and comfortable and my single room (no 16) was a good size and on the first floor - there are 3 floors in the hotel . I was pleased that my window opened and had a latch to fix it open.
Unfortunately as my room was situated by the lift at the rear of the hotel I did find the 'ding dong' sound as the doors opened quite irritating especially on early departure days when luggage was being collected from rooms. The ensuite was clean and had a good shower. The tea/coffee was kept topped up every day and my room was cleaned well. I slept well and the bed was comfortable.
We were all given a time for breakfast/dinner and found that as a result the service in the basement restaurant was quick, friendly and efficient. Each evening there were a selection of starters, choice of a roast dinner, fish dish, or salad and a choice of desserts/cheese & biscuits plus tea or coffee.
I liked the fact that hand disinfectant was available around the hotel and this will help reduce the number of infections provided people remember to use them! Certainly the hotel seems to be doing its best to look after everyone. Keys are kept at reception when you leave the hotel and for security purposes you need to tell them your name and room number when you want to go to your room again. To improve the hotel it would be good to have light meals available at lunchtime or at least a vending machine with snacks/sweets.
All in all the hotel fulfilled the criteria for this type of holiday and it was an ideal hotel for my elderly mother who also enjoyed her stay despite experiencing some atrocious weather. We would return to this hotel and hopefully see Exmouth in the sun.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just had 5days in Exmouth with Alfa Travel. The Hotel was 1st class. We had a lovely room with a sea view. Hotel was very clean, food great with good choice. Best of all was the staff, polite friendly and very helpful. Would go again.
Margaret B

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here during half term week. location fantastic as right opposite the beach. weather was awful however staff at the hotel did their upmost to make this an enjoyable stay. people return year after year and i can understand why.thanks to Lisa the manager and the rest of her team.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just returned from an excellent Easter break with Alfa Travel. Myself and two friends could not find any fault with this hotel from the moment we arrived. Lisa and all her staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. It was a very well run hotel. The food was excellent and served really hot and our waiter Aaron was very pleasant at all times. The room we had was very clean and comfortable. We had a great time and would love to go back again. We have travelled with Alfa several times and our driver Brian Taylor was an excellent driver and very pleasant to all on board his coach. He was great with the knowledge of places that we visited on our trips out. So we would like to say a very big thank you to everyone at ALFA and at the CAVENDISH HOTEL for a very enjoyable holiday. This trip was recommended to us by a friend and we can now understand why she has gone back for a 2nd and 3rd visit. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jackiemccreadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We spent a week at the end of March on an Alfa tour. This was an excellent hotel with superb food. We were a little dubious after reading some of the reviews but needn't have worried. The only problem is the lack of disabled access from the front of the hotel but there is level access from the rear car park Alfa do mention this in their brochures and looking at the building I am left wondering how they could overcome this problem and maintain security. Very friendly staff a good mix of both local and EU people. Don't eat all the bread and butter leave a big portion for me !! If you go on this tour take advantage of the hotel discount with the river cruise wonderful on a nice day.

Room Tip: pay extra for wonderful sea view or request a -1 floor room (no sea view) if you need the disabled a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 1 Morton Crescent | The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish Hotel - Exmouth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star)This delightful hotel is wonderfully situated on the level seafront overlooking Exmouth's fine golden sands, a few minutes' walk from the shops. 78 rooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a TV lounge, quiet lounge with sea views and games room with snooker and darts. The bar lounge has a dance floor and hosts entertainment most evenings. Lift serves most rooms except 4th floor (a few stairs to some rooms on split level floors). Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing