We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alfa Coach Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alfa Coach Holiday”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just enjoyed a weeks holiday staying at the Cavendish Hotel in Exmouth.Devon, myself and
five friends (all over 60s). We travelled with Alfa Coaches and our experience was a very
good one. The whole strip was well organised and we found the staff at the hotel very friendly
and helpful. We had three excursions included which were well planned by Alfa. There was a
boat company "Stuartline " nearby and we enjoyed two excellent trips out on our free days.
One of these was a journey up the river Exe and then into the canal, going through several locks
which was an experience to remember. The second boat trip was along the Jurasic Coast, that was great too. I would recommend this package, especially to seniors like ourselves.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the ground floor and lifts to higher floors. I requested disabled facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Babz1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    79
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
24
63
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was clean, meals very good, nightly entertainment varied from average to excellent
The location is excellent ,right on the seafront All the staff were pleasant, efficient and competent, especially the dining room staff. On the whole a high standard for a 2* Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but those at the front have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank junehales2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Spent 4 days at the Cavendish, Good food lovely bedroom and bathroom superb,
entertainment every night and bingo, any thought that I may have was the drinks and the shorts and the mixers, at the bar was a little more expensive than I normally pay?.
Would I go back to this Hotel the answer is yes, right on the front, very central and a nice town close by,if you can book a room overlooking the sea,
I would have given it tops marks if the drinks as stated was a little bit cheaper perhaps that is something they can address. As we were on a coach trip we were not allowed to arrive until after 16-00 pity as we would love to book in even if our rooms was not ready,

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights. felt in need of a short break away.
am very familiar with exmouth as been coming here for years but usually stay just outside the town and travel in during the day. however, i'd always liked the look of the cavendish, and thought i'd give it a try.

overall i really enjoyed my stay. a good old fashioned seafront hotel. my room was warm and comfortable, and very very clean. the same could be said for all the common areas: bar, games room and restaurant/breakfast room as well. i stayed b&b, though from what i saw, the hotels mainstay are pensioners on coaching holidays. at 53, other than some of the staff, i think i was the youngest one there, but this didnt bother me one bit. everyone seemed good natured and well mannered which added to the charm of the place. certainly not for the 18-30's crowd.

the food was good with a menu that included everything you'd expect for a good breakfast, juices, cereals, fruits and for mains,kipper and all the ingredients for the classic full english or any permutaion thereoff along with coffee, tea, toast and preserves. no buffet here, all the food is served by waiters/waitresses who i found very good and for whom no request seemed too much trouble. i saw they also did evening meals, again with a good choice menu-wise at a very reasonable price (if like me you were only here b&b).

re parking, there are relatively small car parks front and rear. though as mentioned earlier, as the majority of customers travel by coach, i never had any problem getting a spot, day or night.

i'd have no problem recommending this place for a quiet holiday, and would definately stay here again myself. particulaly due its location. there is nowhere in town that isnt only a relatively short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JFergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a few days break after getting back from afganistan.the bedroom was lovely with a great view.lovely staff.did have a complaint which was dealt with very quickly by the head housekepper.who is very good looking i must say. But it was a nice stay overall

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunoremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Returned home after a very good break at the Cavendish Hotel,we travelled with Gibbons of Bedlinog,we arrived at the hotel late afternoon,it was a pity as the weather was glorious and it would have been great advantage to have arrived at the resort and walked around it before booking in.there were 40plus of us mostly Oap s and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.the staff were excellent,the food had a good variety and was served hot and catered for all needs.The entertainment was very good.We paid extra for a sea view which was well worth it.The room needed a little tlc but the bathroom had just been refurbished so the bedroom we assume was next.The hotel was right on the front and the area being flat made it easier to get around.We were pleasantly surprised at the resort as we had n't been there before.Look forward to returning there

Room Tip: We had sea view front room 32 no noise and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We'v just arrived back from cavendish and went with alpha travel, the coach driver was very nice but so quiet with a broke microphone-which shouldve been sorted, and the coach driver that picked us up at Tamworth 2 go home was very miserable-never smiled and drove off leaving his luggage boot up, i told him and he looked at me blank!! The hotel was really nice, luvly staff, especially Polly our waitress, my little 5 year old girl luved her. Food lovely, room lovely apart from an ant, my little girl had an easter egg from the staff. Entertainment ok if u like singers and bingo, i would suggest that the hotel have a disco so everyone can dance. We would go back, Exeter is brilliant trip, should go sidmouth not seaton. All in all had great time,

Room Tip: If you choose a low floor u can here creaks above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 1 Morton Crescent | The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish Hotel - Exmouth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star)This delightful hotel is wonderfully situated on the level seafront overlooking Exmouth's fine golden sands, a few minutes' walk from the shops. 78 rooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a TV lounge, quiet lounge with sea views and games room with snooker and darts. The bar lounge has a dance floor and hosts entertainment most evenings. Lift serves most rooms except 4th floor (a few stairs to some rooms on split level floors). Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing