We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay in exmouth at the cavendish hotel.”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 11 August 2013

When we booked exmouth with a group non of us had been there before so we wandered if we had done the right thing.we went with KLM TRAVEL CHESTERFIELD whom i had to add as they were a part of making our journey and stay most enjoyable.the hotel is on the esplanade and nothing was to far away,town,harbour and amusements,this made the hotel area nice with people just walking along,.the hotel and,room were well presented with tea/coffee and tv in each room and well furnished the bathroom was clean and the room was cleaned every day.the public area ere clean,the notice board could have been in a better location(reception)not down near the games room,took me a day to see it,the down side was the bar did not open till 5.30 which on a hot day was poor but i did get a drink at the reception not every one would ask so to me they were losing sales.but overall a lovely hotel/staff and location.

Room Tip: room on the reception and lower level are at the back in a purpose built block,modern and quite.then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alanrutter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

I've just returned from a week long holiday at the Cavendish in Exmouth, and I give it an excellent rating. The bedroom and bathroom were both spotless, and the housekeeping was faultless. Our waiter for the week was "Marius", and his service was impeccable. On almost every holiday I've been on before, I would usually at some point have to complain about the lipstick on a glass, but not at the Cavendish, where standards of cleanliness were obviously very high. I had a sea-view room, with excellent views across the bay, boats sailed past our window, a mere 50 metres away. Our coach driver for the week was "Philip", a lovely chap, who knew the area and its history like the back of his hand, and he went out of his way to be as helpful as possible.
The food was generally good. I didn't try the fish (like 1959neil, who was rather good at snooker), but the only slight criticism of the entire week, for me, was that I couldn't detect any sherry in the sherry trifle, the bread and butter pudding could have done with being cooked for another half an hour, as it was too mushy, and the coconut sponge was bland, and the custard needed extra sugar. Whilst the standard of housekeeping was excellent, they could do with taping the inner plastic bag to the bin, so that when I put something in the bin, the bag doesn't simply fall inside. Loo roll was nice, better than the stuff I have at home, it was almost a shame to use it. As somebody on a low income, a week away is my only extravagance, but the Alfa coach tour packs a lot in, with visits to lots of popular seaside resorts included.

Room Tip: Must book a sea-view room, to gain maximum benefit from stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PetticoatLoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Do not have fish in this hotel soggy black skin served on cold tomato and full of bones or thick batter with no fish in it don't risk it and also 3 courses in the space of 40 minutes with second rate rooms . Bar is over price but 10 minutes away is a witherspoons better beer and cheaper

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1959neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel. We found it clean and well looked after,our room 5 over looked the sea (a double) it is as good room with a walk in shower in the bathroom which is very good and a decent size only thing to watch is that the water from the cold tap is hot when it first comes out. The entertainment was limited however the bar manager is a treasure he works really hard and is always pleasant , in fact all the staff are very good. We took a boat trip on our day in resort down the Jurassic coast cost £7.50 for 2 to 3 hrs depending on sea conditions this too was well worth the cost very interesting indeed. The food was good portions of vegetables could have been larger but over all not bad (have had a lot worse). Over all a very good break would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TRIPPERManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just enjoyed a weeks holiday staying at the Cavendish Hotel in Exmouth.Devon, myself and
five friends (all over 60s). We travelled with Alfa Coaches and our experience was a very
good one. The whole strip was well organised and we found the staff at the hotel very friendly
and helpful. We had three excursions included which were well planned by Alfa. There was a
boat company "Stuartline " nearby and we enjoyed two excellent trips out on our free days.
One of these was a journey up the river Exe and then into the canal, going through several locks
which was an experience to remember. The second boat trip was along the Jurasic Coast, that was great too. I would recommend this package, especially to seniors like ourselves.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the ground floor and lifts to higher floors. I requested disabled facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Babz1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel was clean, meals very good, nightly entertainment varied from average to excellent
The location is excellent ,right on the seafront All the staff were pleasant, efficient and competent, especially the dining room staff. On the whole a high standard for a 2* Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter but those at the front have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junehales2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Spent 4 days at the Cavendish, Good food lovely bedroom and bathroom superb,
entertainment every night and bingo, any thought that I may have was the drinks and the shorts and the mixers, at the bar was a little more expensive than I normally pay?.
Would I go back to this Hotel the answer is yes, right on the front, very central and a nice town close by,if you can book a room overlooking the sea,
I would have given it tops marks if the drinks as stated was a little bit cheaper perhaps that is something they can address. As we were on a coach trip we were not allowed to arrive until after 16-00 pity as we would love to book in even if our rooms was not ready,

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: 1 Morton Crescent | The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £63 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish Hotel - Exmouth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star)This delightful hotel is wonderfully situated on the level seafront overlooking Exmouth's fine golden sands, a few minutes' walk from the shops. 78 rooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a TV lounge, quiet lounge with sea views and games room with snooker and darts. The bar lounge has a dance floor and hosts entertainment most evenings. Lift serves most rooms except 4th floor (a few stairs to some rooms on split level floors). Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing