We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavendish hotel”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cavendish hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here on an alfa coach holiday was very impressed with all of the holiday the hotel is only a 2 star but don't let this put you off we stayed in a sea view room well worth the extra money the hotel is very clean food very good and well presented the staff very friendly and you can tell that they enjoy their work well done to them . Must rember the alfa staff as well this coach company was very good Chris smith our driver was top class

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    82
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
69
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 day's at the beginning of April with Alfa travel.
Staff are very friendly and helpful , meals where lovely and hot nothing to complain about they went out of there way to help you. Our room was nice and clean and comfortable
Yes I would visit this hotel again .
Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank canteenmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We ve done a few Alfa coach trips and it was the first time to this hotel. We had booked a sea view room and paid extra for it which was well worth it .










We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Easter at this hotel. travelling with Alfa.

We had already paid for a sea view room which was in our opinion well worth the extra. We were given room 1 which is above the entertainment room. I will admit it was very noisy at night but we knew the bar closed at 11pm so the entertainment would not be going on late.


The room itself was plenty big enough, 2 single beds , bathroom with shower . tea and coffee supplied ( and topped up daily. We have stayed at hotels where we were expected to pay for extra supplies ) The room was clean and plenty of towels were available.

The restaurant is in the basement which does make it a little dark , the staff are mainly from eastern Europe and our waitress Polly was very helpful and quick to serve us. We had a good choice for meal time .The menu is also in the hotel features book which is in every room . a big help cos you can decide what you re going to have before you go in to dine. The meals werent huge but there was enough to fill most people. Starters were soup. fruit juice or prawn salad etc. Choice of salad, fish . meat and vegetarian for main meal , served with veg and new potatoes or roasted. Sweets were hot pudding. fruit salad or cheese and biscuits .

I think for what we paid for this trip it was pretty good value for money I did hear someone had complained about the vegetables not being cooked enough and poor quality but we had no complaints. We would certainly return in a couple of years . .

Room Tip: pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jill1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently took a 4 night break at this hotel with Alfa Travel. The hotel is old and a little tired but very clean with excellent Spanish staff. The rooms with a sea view are worth paying extra for as the rear facing rooms are dark, cold and have no views at all. The meals are not large and we felt that the portions provided had got smaller from previous years. The only negative points are that the shower doors and bathroom locks do not work which is not acceptable especially if you share a room with a friend. All in all the cost of the holiday was acceptable and we would be happy to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view, not near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazzie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

went on a 6 day coach holiday with my husband & a friend hotel was nice lisa the manageress was realy nice when we got to the hotel and our room my husband found a leak in the bath room so we was moved to a better room the meal where good entertament not only Tuesday bad

Room Tip: good rest nice hoilday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Visited this hotel with Alfa for a 5 day break. Our room was average - not as nice as some of the other Leisureplex hotels. Was disappointed with the state of the pillows and requested more but was told by Reception that these would be no better. She was right, so had to try and choose the best two. Note: Use pillow protectors!!!!. Food was good and trips were interesting as we saw what damage had been done by the storms in January. Our Alfa driver Phil made the journey there and back very relaxing.
Exmouth is a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fantastic location. However, our toilet seat had blood on it, a broken flush and a broken lock on the door. The radiator wouldn't get hot, the room was cold and the blankets weren't adequate to keep us warm. The breakfast was disgusting, stone cold undercooked rubbery toast, a crispy film on the egg yolk from it being cooked a while before and kept warm. I asked for a vegetarian sausage with my breakfast (as per one of their options) and was given a vegetable finger containing chunks of carrot and broccoli! Not normally something I would eat with my breakfast! I would much much rather wait a while for my breakfast and have it cooked fresh rather than have it instantly and have a cold horrible plate of food. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: 1 Morton Crescent | The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavendish Hotel - Exmouth [3 Alpha & AA Three Star)This delightful hotel is wonderfully situated on the level seafront overlooking Exmouth's fine golden sands, a few minutes' walk from the shops. 78 rooms with central heating and private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a TV lounge, quiet lounge with sea views and games room with snooker and darts. The bar lounge has a dance floor and hosts entertainment most evenings. Lift serves most rooms except 4th floor (a few stairs to some rooms on split level floors). Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing