We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Guest House. Welcoming, Friendly and great breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swallows Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Guest House. Welcoming, Friendly and great breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Like a previous review we stayed at the Swallows after having attended a funeral. Long trip so decided to make a weekend of it. The Swallows is a very comfortable guest house located just far enough from town to ensure a good quiet nights sleep. Great breakfast all freshly cooked to order. No hesitation in recommending 100%

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at The Swallows for two nights. Sadly it was because we were attending a funeral. This is an extremely welcoming guest house. Pleasant room, albeit it would have been on the small side for a longer stay. Excellent breakfast - scrambled eggs cooked properly not in a microwave - and high quality bacon and sausages. Landlady could not have been more helpful lending us umbrellas and not phased that we returned about 11am to change for the ceremony after a walk along the sea front. Plenty of restaurants nearby for an evening meal. Secure parking which is a bonus in Exmouth. We recommended The Swallows to Exmouth residents as a pleasant place for their friends to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked the Swallows for a 3 day quick break. It was exactly what you'd expect from a well run guest house. Nice and pretty room. Lovely breakfast. Lovely lady in charge. Really helpful and fun and friendly. 3 minutes walk to the beach. Finally if you want a great nights sleep and a stroll into town or to the beach you will not find a better place. Really good value.

Room Tip: Get a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

I stayed for one night in April as a stopover on the way to Cornwall for boot camp- in preparation for 3 days of punishing exercises I filled up on a fantastic breakfast in the morning!
My single room was small (as warned) but it was clean, cosy and had everything I needed. The bed was very comfortable and I slept really well. The biscuits with the tea and coffee tray were very good quality (always a priority for me!). As another (very unfair) review states, the bathroom is on another floor, but come on, it's hardly miles away- and at least it is your own and not a shared one. It was clean and had a good shower.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, I would recommend The Swallows to anyone. Location is also great- a short walk to the beach and not too far back from town. There is parking in a little lane down the side of the building, which is very convenient. All in all, I would say this is a very good quality B&B in a lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had one night at The Swallows after attending a wedding at the nearby Royal Beacon hotel. As the wedding was at 1pm we asked if we could arrive a little early to drop off our belongings and change, they very kindly made sure our room was ready and even complimented us on our transformation from travellers into wedding guests! The rooms are looking a little "tired" but our room was clean and comfortable, perfect after a long but happy day! Well located for the beaches and town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briz norton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

On arrivel the host was warm welcoming the room for a single was clean and so was the off sweet bathroom i injoyed my stay here . breakfast was fantastic i was mad to feel welcome verry verry good i would sat agian that you swallow .

ps had good nite sleep brill

Room Tip: for a sing room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

A three night stay at this Exmouth B+B proved to be a very pleasant experience. Convenient to both the sea front and the town centre,with its efficient road and rail links to Exeter and nearby towns.
The Swallows is well run,clean and comes with an excellent breakfast.
I would certainly pay a return visit.

Room Tip: If staying for several nights,the large bedroom with lounge area is well worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilRM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Property: The Swallows Guest House
Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing