We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swallows Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at The Swallows in Exmouth early Summer this year. This was one of the best bed and breakfast establishments we have stayed in without a doubt. David and Rachel are perfect hosts and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We have stayed in two different rooms and both have all you would need, the larger front room has a sofa and plenty of space so its almost like a having a small lounge as well. The attention to detail is one thing that makes a difference, the biscuits in the room along with the coffee are of a good quality, nothing is cheap which we feel helps you enjoy the whole break. The town is a great place to have a look around with excellent beaches just minutes walk away. For a night out you cannot go wrong with many types of restaurants on offer. I would recommend the Chronicle and David will point out a good Tapas restaurant. the area is ideal for walks and cycle rides and you can cycle the coast as far as Exeter. The B&B could be used as a base to see Devon and at the end of the day you know you would be going back to a lovely guest house a step away from a great town centre with all the pubs and restaurants you could wish for. I would like to thank both David and Rachel for a superb stay and we enjoyed their company very much. As a couple of final points, I would like to say David is one of the few B&B owners who will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable, he will get his many maps out and help plan where you should go giving you all the advice he can, and Rachel is just so nice and helpful. We covered much of Devon from there so it was ideal. Finally, I must mention the breakfasts, fantastic!!!!!!!. Again attention to detail is perfect as the breakfast produce is sourced personally by the family with them going to great measures picking the best produce for their guests. That followed through the whole breakfast with a good quality cereal selection and fine herbal teas but the breakfast plate itself was the star, well cooked with fantastic taste, what more could you want. I would like to thank David and Rachel along with their family for a great stay and we will be back next year to see them all again, John, Sandra and Luke. By the way the B&B is ideal for a holiday or if you are visiting friends or on business Thanks again!

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for such an extensive review! We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's hard to know where best to begin. David and Rachel are the best of hosts - attentive without being fussy - their B&B is friendly, cosy and relaxed while attaining the highest standards of cleanliness and service. The breakfast was outstanding! We stayed with our three children and as the beach is a mere 3 minutes walk away, it is the perfect location. We will be back, and have already recommended he Swallows to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair_Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hi Tara,

Many thanks for your review, Rachel and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You will find it difficult to find a better B&B. The owners, David and Rachel, are so welcoming and helpful The whole premises is very clean. The room was also comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Good location, 5minutes walk to the seafront and town. Highly recommended and we will be stopping again next year, if not before.
Thank You... Stuart and Anne

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart0645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Many thanks for your glowing review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able live up to your standards on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend (2 nights) to celebrate my Husband's birthday, What a find! Ideally located near to the beach and about 10 minutes lovely walk into town along the sea front. Superb place to stay David and Rachel were so welcoming and made us feel right at home straight away. The room was spotless and very comfortable, The breakfast was superb and the room itself overlooked the lovely front garden through a gorgeous bay window. They were very knowledgeable about Exmouth and places to visit and places to eat, all of which was spot on. We will definitely be back. We loved the extra touches of the offer of fresh milk for Tea and Coffee in your room , nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend a visit. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be fabulous here. We had the double room with estuary view which is situated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind words. Rachel and I really appreciate the feedback and hope we can welcome you both again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Swallows for one night. The B&B is in a great location - easily walkable to both the town and the beach. The room was perfectly clean and comfortable. Rachel and David were very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was superb. We plan to stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordAJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Many thanks for your review. We've tried to make The Swallows a relaxing place to stay, with professional service and standards, whilst also making it feel like a home.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Swallows on 9th and 10th of August this year . We had a friendly welcome from David and Rachel , who then showed us to a lovely room .Everything you could want , spotlessly clean , comfortable settee and chair and very comfortable beds. In the morning was an excellent choice for breakfast , all cooked to order . This was our first visit to Exmouth and we will definitely be returning very soon , staying here !! Chris and Pauline

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Although our stay was a short one in August, we felt as though we were still at home. Very welcoming friendly atmosphere. (A home from home) thankyou Rachel and David. Rooms were very cormfy and clean, breakfast was excellent with various choices. Service was very attantive held in a lovely breakfast room overlooking a well kept garden. Well situated B&B with easy walking distance to the beach and town centre. Would loved to have stayed longer, maybe next time? No.... not maybe?, definitley :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulson-Lowes, Owner at The Swallows Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Many thanks Tracey, we were only too happy to make your stay an enjoyable one. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
Rohaven Guest House
Rohaven Guest House
#1 of 19 in Exmouth
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swallows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swallows Guest House

Address: 11 Carlton Hill, Exmouth EX8 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swallows Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Late Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a secluded part of Exmouth, Devon. Four minutes from a glorious sandy beach and great places to eat.Enjoy the summer sunshine on Exmouth beach, coastal walking, cycling, bird watching or see your son pass out and receive his Royal Marine green beret, you can be sure of a warm, friendly stay at The Swallows B&B. We also make an excellent base to explore Exeter, the Exe valley, coastal East Devon, Woodbury Common, National Trust properties and the many award winning Devon vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swallows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swallows Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing