We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clinton Arms

The Clinton Arms
Ranked #24 of 127 Restaurants in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Clinton Arms is a family friendly pub/restaurant serving home cooked lunches and evening meals daily. Daily specials, Sunday roasts/carvery also available. We have ample seating in our dining areas as well as in our beer garden/patio areas. Also in our beer garden is a large playground area for children. We offer a good range of draught beers and ciders, bottled beers and ciders, wines and soft drinks at the bar. We have regular entertainment evenings including our very popular Friday Karaoke nights on offer throughout the year. We can also cater for any function, offering various buffet options if required. We can also provide outside catering,bar, casino, and hog roast services at venues of your choice.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly family pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

A great pub for families. Good safe play area. Nice beer garden. Great service. Good choice on the menu. Loved Rob the bar man. Walking distance to the Devon Cliffs Haven holiday park.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    29
    16
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Nice pub,cheaper than haven good staff and beer friendly atmosphere food is good,pool and darts room and outside park for nippers

Helpful?
1 Thank gormos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“5 nights dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although we were staying at the Haven at Devon Cliffs, where to be fair, the food was pretty good, we chose to dine here on 5 of our 7 nights. The kids absolutely loved the Hand made Beefburgers. My favourite meal was the Braised belly pork, a really great meal.. The home made pie and the Steak and kidney pudding was great as well. Another benefit was real ale, Otter and St. Austell "Tribute". The food prices were similar to the Haven, the drinks were £10 pounds a round cheaper ! The staff were friendly, though I found the service a bit slow. All in all I would recommend that if you're staying near here, give it a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IVVeritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, good snacks but main meals let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just returned from a holiday at Devon Cliffs and wanted to eat out - the day we arrived we popped in there for a sandwich/snack - we were really impressed and so decided to have an evening meal there later on in the week. Unfortunately the food didn't live up to expectations and was quite poor. I had the curry but I personally felt it was a little bit like it was a frozen meal I would have at home. We felt quite disappointed as the snack we had had previously was really nice and we had really enjoyed it.

The staff are really helpful and nice though and the garden/outside area is perfect for us as a family however the room they call the family room could perhaps do with some updating as it was a little bit dated and tatty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleckheaton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great family pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

we were staying nearby on holiday and decided to have a stroll down a couple of evenings. we ate once here, the food was nice and well cooked and is really good for families. There is a beer garden to the side of the pub which is fenced in and has a climbing frame and slide. Families are welcome till late and food is served until 9pm. They have karaoke in the main bar area of the food, but there is separate dining area's to eat in. felt some of the menu was a little pricey but well worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clinton Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Clinton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing