We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Dolphin (again)!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Dolphin (again)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Well done to all the team at The Dolphin Hotel, Exmouth for another great stay. Dec2/3 2012.
We really cant find fault with this Family run Hotel and would not consider staying anywhere else when we go to Exmouth.
Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue-ash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    86
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
93
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Great hotel that allows dogs a must for us good breakfast, friendly staff and very clean have already booked in for next year another short stay which we are looking forward to............ A great location not far from the beach and town

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ooharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I booked this hotel following good reviews on Trip Advisor and I’m glad I did. Excellent location, close to the beach and the town centre with a 24hr car park nearby (parking is a nightmare). Room was ‘cosy’ but no real problem, everything was spotlessly clean, lots of choice at breakfast and a reasonably priced bar that was open until 23:30. Very warm welcome from you young lady with the big smile at check in on the 8/11/2012 got our stay off to a good start. Certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodie8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where in the world...?!
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed for one night in a double room and it was really pleasant. The staff were very friendly and made us feel instantly at home, and the hotel interior and reception/bar areas were really smartly decorated but warm and cosy looking.
We had requested a top/high floor room and were given one on the top floor. It was very spacious, airy and light and had a flat screen TV, bed with lots of pillows, and tea and coffee making facilities, plus a good sized ensuite.
The following morning we went down to breakfast to the dining room which had pretty much anything you could want to eat to be honest - a table with cereals, fruit, yoghurts, sauces, spreads, and a menu on the table with warm food to order. We both had the full English which was great. The only one tiny thing i could fault was the fact myself and my boyfriend ordered together but his food came a full 5-10 mins before mine, but it really wasnt a huge problem!

Location-wise it couldn't have been better - the beach was about a 2-3 min walk to the right and the town about a 4-5min walk in the other direction.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're going to be staying in Exmouth.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocypri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Thanks for reviewers for recommending this hotel. The location is very good for both the bus and train station, the town centre and promenade. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Everything was pristine clean. A good breakfast. No problems whatsoever. The Beach pub was recommended to us for a meal in the evening and that was also very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

stayed a couple of nights 2nd week of august found staff very helpful
they provided us with a downstairs room which really helped me as I have breathing problems
they also provided some where to park our car
we parked on Monday 13 and never used our car till the Wednesday everything
was in a short walking distance
we both enjoyed our short time there hope to stay at some future date
thank you
john Alison kearns

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Being an exmouth girl,i like to get back as often as i can. we always phone the dolphin for available dates. we have done so since we were recommended the hotel by friends. Im happy to say that we have never been disappointed by the rooms, the staff, or the food. i would always recommend the dolphin to anyone. rooms are always spotless, airy, with good light.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Property: The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing