We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here earlier this week on our second night of four walking part of the SWCP.
The staff were generally very good, but were unfortunately let down by a rather tired looking place which is in need of a major facelift. Our bathroom was not as clean as it could have been (but at least there was a bath rather than just a shower in it, which was much appreciated to soak our aching muscles), but the real problem was the bed. The mattress was so uncomfortable that we had to supplement it with the quilts off the two single beds in our room (presumably aimed at families), and that was barely sufficient - we would not have survived a second night!
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

A very comfortable, very clean hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the staff really friendly and helpful. Our ground floor room was very spacious, bathroom huge and even on a Saturday night very quite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

There is nothing to praise here and not a lot to criticise too harshly.The room I had was on the ground floor and was not helped by being very close to the street.Comings and goings from other guests, some very early in the morning, created a lot of noise.

Room Tip: Perhaps those at the back are quieter ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A very well kept and maintained hotel. All rooms were spotlessly clean and fresh and decorated to a very high standard. The ladies who run this hotel are exceptionally helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was of a very good standard. Highly recommended.
Only a short walk to the seafront and town.

Unfortunately the hotel is on busy road and therefore quite noisy and a large quantity of commercial vehicles are parked outside the hotel and leave quite early in the mornings.

Room Tip: Ensure car parking is reserved as there are limited spaces and request a room away from the bust roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Due to a late flight we arrived very late when we visited and the staff were kind enough to keep the doors open for us to check in. There was plenty of parking in the rear car park and streets and the hotel couldn't have been cleaner. The staff were very helpful and were happy to help us with any queries. We were made to feel at home straight away and the cooked breakfasts were superb. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel and it's right next to the sea as well which is superb. Highly recommended - would visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dizzlefoshizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Let me start by raving about the service and the upkeep of this B&B. we stayed in a recently renovated room and it was very fresh and comfortable while still maintaining the character of a traditional B&B. The owner is a perfect hostess.

The only thing holding me back from ranking this as perfect is the fact that the beds were not too comfortable. They were clean and moderate quality, but I am quite particular about having a comfortable bed. It's not enough of a downfall to stop me from staying here again. I would recommend this spot to friends wanting to stay a night or two in Exmouth.

Also a perk to have parking available.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeSawIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Have just returned from a long weekend at this Hotel, all i can say is great hotel perfect location. staff were excellent nothing was a problem, i took a group down and we had a parking space at the rear of the hotel, the hotel was spotless breakfast goood for what we paid had a great weekend and the sun shone which is a great bonus, would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnip79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing