We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

stayed for three nights with my wife and small dog. The room was a little shabby and badly in need of a makeover. I peeped into another room and this was much better but did look as though it had recently been redecorated so it may be an ongoing task.
Bed was a little uncomfortable but sleep was not an issue as nice and quiet. Bathroom was again rather shabby and bath was badly stained and chipped but clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was fine
Not the best place we have ever stayed but the cost reflected this so you get what you pay for I suppose.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cockneyjohn504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here overnight whilst visiting friends in Exmouth. It's well situated and although the parking is a bit crammed at the back (we couldn't leave until the people parked behind us left) we got a warm welcome, which is an increasingly rare occurence. We stayed in a family room which was spacious and had everything we needed, including very comfortable beds. Breakfast was average - lots of choices of fruit, yogurt, cereal and nice fresh toast, the full English was mostly good but the sausages were nasty and cheap - avoid!
In summary, inexpensive, clean, tidy, friendly and close to both the beach and town - not sophisticated, but solid and decent, and has the added bonus of a bar if you fancy a quick nightcap before hitting the hay. No complaints from us, we'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelsarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very good four day break in a excellent hotel. The staff in this hotel are very good and helpful and our breakfast was very good (I don't know where MicksGirlfriend stayed). The bedroom (20) was really large with a good sized bathroom and clean towels daily. Reserved parking was provided and the seafront and town are only ten minutes away. Nothing to complain about at the Dolphin, we will return.

Room Tip: Reserve a parking space Walk the short distance into town for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwoolf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at the hotel, the staff were happy, pleasant and only too pleased to help us. We stayed in the disabled room which was very clean and tidy and the facilities were excellent. We appreciated the bottled water and first rate biscuits. We were grateful to have a parking space saved for us. The breakfast was good with a lot of choice, only the sausage could be improved! All in all a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a two night stay in Exmouth, we had a lovely time exploring the town and part of the Jurassic Coast. The Dolphin is certainly clean and comfortable, however the breakfast was appalling, we surmise that the owner did not have anything to do with this area, as all we could see were two young girls, it was apparent that the food was cooked well in advance, which resulted it being inedible, don't for heavens sake order scrambled egg, as this is microwaved with in an inch of its life! The second morning we opted for poached egg, thankfully this was fine. We would have liked to have mentioned the awful breakfast to the owner, but they couldn't be found. Breakfast is such an important experience, and has a lasting impression on the stay of any establishment - it doesn't matter how good the mattress is, what the water pressure is like in the shower, or for that matter how clean the back of the bedside cabinet is. There should be no problems with breakfast - it is not rocket science.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micksgirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Moderate hotel 5 minutes from downtown Exmouth. Rooms are small but clean. Alot of the hotel has been redone but some parts are a little shabby.The breakfast room was nicely redone as were the showers. We had sheets of differents colors, pink top white bottom, on our beds which was different. The staff is really nice and goes out of their way for you. They give you a very good breakfast with your room. A very nice hotel.

Room Tip: don't really know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryadvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Second visit after a year and a half ago. Hotel is still clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Room 21 was adequate and cosy also for our Labrador. Breakfast and service was very good.
Car parking voucher given with a £10 deposit if no street parking is available.
Bathroom requires extractor fan, shaver point with light and boiler access door needs to be properly shut. This made the room very warm and we had to open the large window in the main room. The hot water was very hot (should have a warning HSE sign) and the shower was fiddly to set to the correct water temperature. Overall a pleasant stay and return visit assured.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holgag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £57 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing