We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to beach and town, great position!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Close to beach and town, great position!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was looking to book a hotel for a long weekend in Exmouth but needed to allow dogs which this I'm pleased to say does. No problem at all considering our dog is a large german shepherd, all three of us enjoyed our stay and would come back again. Great position, less then 5 minutes walk from the town and beach. Great breakfast and a nice bar to chill out in. All very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kat1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    88
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
62
97
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was massive! I don't think I have slept on a bed so big, they had pushed 3 single beds together and obviously found a quilt from a giant but it was sooooo comfy.
We would stay again, most definitely, with a quality tv, comfy chairs, bath and shower and friendly staff, oh and a nice breakfast too.
Not far from the town centre, sea front and train station all within 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very friendly helpful people in a nice traditional coastal hotel. Excellent facilities, very clean and fresh with a perfect location for walking to all the local amenities. The breakfast was freshly cooked and more than adequate with a good selection of cereals and nice tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble. Very good value and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Twin rooms have a wee bit more space and more windows to open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here & there & everywhere
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for one night with a friend. We arrived at 11.30 pm and although there were still rooms available, the receptionist was at first reluctant to give it to us, because her shift had officially already ended 30 minutes ago.
After some begging and pleading we were however then shown to our room, which was nice and clean and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was also clean, only the shower's temperature didn't adjust as regulated.
The staff in the breakfast room were very nice and quickly responding to orders and wishes and the breakfast room itself is decorated with attention to detail, which made me think employees actually care about their work place and feel like a welcome guest after all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tingeltangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Prompt service - very clean room and en suite - comfy bed - fantastic breakfast-spoilt for choice -
Walking distance to town and beach - friendly staff
The only disappointment was the pathetic shower - a shame as everything else first class
The room was too warm on a warm summer night

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the dolphin hotel for one night. We booked two doubles room and they were very clean and comfy. Only downfall was we was on a different floor to the friends that we had booked with. Breakfast was nice, will defo stay here next time we visit Exmouth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 308Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We've been with some friends in exmouth and we stayed at the dolphin!
It was definitely a good choice! Jo and all her team have been absolutely wonderful! Nice hotel in the center of Exmouth, very good breakfast, beautiful room!
It was just superb! Thank you for this welcoming!! :-D :-D

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank bistoufly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth

Property: The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Address: Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel in Exmouth is a friendly family run business that offers you a warm welcome. Situated just a few minutes walk from Exmouth' stunning golden sandy beaches and marina development it is a beautiful to visit. The town centre is about 3 minutes on foot offering a wide variety of restaurants and bars to choose from. The Dolphin Hotel offers rooms with private en- suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs, a choice of freshly cooked breakfasts in our modern dining area, as well as a cosy residential bar to relax in at the end the day. Free WIFI is available in all public area within the Hotel The Hotel rooms benefit from flat screen TVs , wardrobe storage space, seating and central heating, as well as tea/coffee making facilities. White fluffy towels and free toiletries are provided. Also hair dryers and ironing facilities are available upon request from reception. Guests can enjoy freshly cooked Full English breakfasts or a choice off the breakfast menu all cooked with local produce, along with fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and juice set out in our breakfast room. Vegetarian and special diets can be catered for on request prior to arriving. The Dolphin Hotel has limited on site parking and also passes for a local car park just a few minutes away, both facilities are free. Reserved parking will need to be requested at time of booking. The 2 mile sandy beach in Exmouth also runs onto the Jurassic Coastline, making it a perfect place for walkers and sightseers.Situated on the mouth of the river Exe it is popular with many watersports including kitesurfing and diving. Exmouth town centre is just a 5-minute walk away offering many shops and coffee bars to relax in. The Exmouth rail and bus stations are a 5 minute walk from the Hotel. The direct train route has 2 trains running each hour and the 57 bus service runs every 15 minutes both into Exeter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing