We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
117
207
124
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
207
124
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontshearings coach holidaysea viewself drivenational holidayssister hotelpremier roomshearings hotelsweekend breakenjoyable breaksingle roomwaitress servicethree coursescoach driverthe ground floortown centreentertainment room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a sea view, pleasant but smallish room but apart from a wardrobe there were only three small drawers in the vanity unit plus two even smaller ones in the cupboard between the beds, so no space at for two people to put their clothing.

The shower/toilet was so small it made taking a shower, when we could get the shower to work, a hazardous experience plus the shower doors were so old they were black and gungy at the bottom. However,the room was cleaned nicely and towels changed daily.

Laura our waitress was excellent. She was quick, very efficient and always had a cheerly smile plus a chat if she had a moment.

The food was very nicely cooked but not very much of it, e.g. one medium/large potato sliced to serve two people. A nice touch would have been to ask customers if they would like more vegs as they were eating - the Carlton at Great Yarmoth does.

The reception staff were second to none, including the deputy manager - nothing was too much trouble, we were made very welcome.

The entertainment on Wednesday evening was excellent, Dave should should have his own show on the telly, he was a true entertainer...his jokes were side-splitters. :)

Lisa however was a bit snotty when selling the bingo tickets so we didn't feel inclined to stay to suffer more of her 'talents'.

We went with Shearings for our 5 day break and had Cliff as our driver. I think he'd had a bad time with passangers in the past because he was very dicatorial and was laying down the law as soon as we set off: No radio. He'd had enough of people moaning about the radio channel so for that reason we were not to have any music at all. Next he tells us not to use the on-board toilet except in a dire emergency as he had nowhere to empty it and if we did use it he'd close it off for the rest of the holiday including the journey back......then he repeated about the toilet again....we're only about 70 miles into our holiday and wondering what we've let ourselves in for. One lady, towards the end of the journey, couldn't hold her bladder any longer and was mortified to have to have to visit the toilet and kept apologising. We had to travel two and a half hours at one point during the journey without a comfort break!! Cliff said he was approachable and had a good sense of humour but could turn very quickly as he was from a tough part of Liverpool - he said that twice too. I'm not sure if he thought he had a coach full of senile deaf people or what but I wasn't very amused and did wonder what Age UK would have made of him had they been on board! We did go on one afternoon trip with him but decided not to go on the others due to not feeling very comfortable with what he was going to say next.

I do feel that if Cliff did have a bad experience with previous passengers he shouldn't take it out on 48 strangers he's never met before. If he didn't then perhaps driving a coach where interacting with people is necessary isn't the job best suited to him. On the plus side, Cliff was a good and careful driver and got us safely there and back so I thank him for that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Travelled by car for a weekend stay.On a positive point the hotel is in a lovely position and has potential to be made into a lovely comfortable hotel,but at present is in dire need of a total refurbishment.On viewing both public areas and our room I asked for a full refund,which was given without any quibble and left !!! Both our room and staircases had peeling wallpaper,scuffed ,peeling paint and worn stretched carpet.Our room had damaged furniture and a layer of black congealed dust on the window hinges and frame.The only redeeming feature was the seaview for which we had paid a supplement for!!! P.S If you ever make a booking and don't want to share a dining table with people you have never met remember to request this !!!!!! Such a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank wiseowl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

We are sorry that you did not stay with us. I’m sure if you had, you would have seen what lovely staff and service we provide. Maintenance and refurbishment are an ongoing process within the hotel. We do have superior sea view rooms in the hotel, which have been refurbished and have fantastic views. As you have mentioned, any requests, such as a table for two, can be made and we always do our best to meet them. Once again we are sorry you where disappointed on this occasion, but thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just returned from a scooter rally in Exmouth. The only downside to our weekend was our stay at The Grand, I can only comment on the room we had which was the worst room I have ever stayed in, I'm sure there must be some nice rooms in the hotel but DO NOT stay in room 29! Being scooterists we travel all over to scooter rallies and don't mind within reason where we stay, on occasions we camp out or stay in b & b's depending on the location so I don't mind roughing it from time to time and can put up with most things but how anyone can justify £78 per night for this room is beyond me, it really was the worst place I have ever stayed in. The room was small which is fine but the windows were so small the room was permanently dark and dingy and was in need of drastic decoration. The bathroom was a decent size but again dark and dingy and no shower. The view from the tiny windows was also disgusting i.e. bird droppings everywhere and a bucket under the wastepipe which must have a leak. All this just a few feet under the windows made the room smell awful. The staff seemed pleasant and breakfast was fine too. Didn't have evening meals so cannot comment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 29. Probably worth paying extra to get a decent room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mpglew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Very friendly and hepful staff. Clean and smart everywhere we went, our room was excellent,good beds,view,over the sea front superb. Food was good and was nice and hot when it was served. Reception staff really bent over backwards to please which we really appreciated. Will most definatley go back again. The only slight downside, we would have liked a little bit better entertainment at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bettric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Your comments are much appreciated, we thank you for your kind words. We have a lovely team of staff here who are always willing to help. We look forward to seeing you again, also please note that the entertainment is always changing with different acts on all the time. Once again thank you for your review.
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Tavelled with shearings nice driver Kevin. Front of hotel lovely good view/gardens public rooms in good order then bedroon 29 in which we stayed. cheap late deal so not expecting much. room size reasonable new carpet clean linen blankets/ cover very worn and an old fan provided as the windows did not open very much to allow air in. no shower just an old awkward shaped bath which proved difficult to get into for fit people! view from the room was like looking into a pipe! with the constant dripping of water maybe overflow from the gutter and the noise from the old lift could be heard at all times it was being used. there was a constant smell of sewerage in the room so all rather unpleasant.
The food at dinner was at best bearable it being mostly of poor quality. breafast was reasonable standard but it was all served in a pleasant very fast service from our waitress Laura she was superb as were all the staff all very very good no problems there.
It was such a shame as the hotel could be lovely as it probably once was. a let down due to poor maintenance ,decoration and some upgrading spoiled it for us.

Sue and Stef
Coniston
Cumbria

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaSchober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

We have a great team here who are willing to go the extra mile to provide a good customer service, Kevin is a very important member of that team and I will let him know he was mentioned in your review. We are glad that you have reflected this in your comments. Sadly Laura is no longer with us (not in that way) as she has ventured into another job. We are sorry to hear you where disappointed by the room, but hope this has not deterred you from another Shearings Holiday.
Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews