We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GOOD LOCATION” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Nottingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I arrived by Shearings coach, the trip down from the East Midlands was good we had a excellent driver in Graham, on arrival at the Grand we was welcomed by the duty manager.
I found all staff at the Grand very pleasent,our room was on the first floor overlooking next doors garden.
The room was clean, the 14" television was something from the 80`s with only 5 fuzzy channels, the wardrobe could have done with a few more coat hangers,the bathrom was small and compact with a shower and bath only let down by a chrome wall support with rusty wall connection apart from that the bathroom was ok.
My only main complaint was the spring sprung mattress on the bed at times it was quite uncomfortable,
the meals are very good. There is entertainment in the evening plus a bar however because of the fabulous weather we had most evenings was spent exploring Exmouth.
The Hotel is located on the sea front a fabulous location,it is being refurbished at the moment,would I come back to the Grand I would say yes, but I would check the mattress first, on the whole it was good value.

Room Tip: Check the Mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackdown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your well rounded review. We will pass on your nice comments to Graeme. We have taken on board your comments, and are always looking at ways to improve peoples stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    169
    106
    31
    23
See reviews for
40
277
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

To read some reviews you would think The Grand was, not so grand or even lowly. Let me reassure anyone thinking of staying at The Grand after reading the negative reviews you will find as we did, something different, and remember a holiday is what you make it. We stayed form 19th to 23rd March 2012 and had a very enjoyable break. Having stayed in some hotels in many obscure places over the years, I find some reviewers comments on The Grand quite astonishing. Paintwork does get tired, damage by other guests sometimes can’t be repaired before the next guests arrive and work on refurbishment does have to be carried out.
On our arrival at The Grand we found parking a little sparse, as was said in Shearings information. As we had a wheelchair user in our group we found all the disabled parking spaces, as is usual everywhere, were taken by people using them for long-term parking spot blocking, If you are not going to move your car during your stay, please don’t prevent other people with disabilities using the short-term reserved parking places, that’s my moan over.
We were welcomed at reception warmly and booking in was very efficient. We were shown the lift, which in one review had been described as noisy. Yes, the lift did make a noise, it’s old, but we found a good way of doing our breathing exercises to the sound of the lift. We would hum to the same tone as the lift and whoever managed the longest hum, won. If you try this, one of our group managed to hum continuously from the ground to the second floor, so the target is set. Our rooms were on the second floor with sea views; they were clean with clean bedding and had a clean toilet, shower and towels. The view was excellent. Our wheelchair user had the room directly opposite the lift and was not disturbed by its use.
The restaurant staff were very efficient and polite; the food, considering the number of people being catered for, and the time scale available, was very good. Breakfast was a good start to the day, although I thought the sausages could have been more flavoursome. Dinner had a number of choices each night. We were all satisfied with the quality and quantity of the food although, for people with a larger appetite the portions may not be enough.
We all agreed that had we taken notice of the negative reviews we may not have chosen The Grand. Yes, like most of England The Grand is in much need of a spruce up, but it’s clean, it’s by the seaside, surrounded by the beautiful Devonshire countryside and it’s outstanding value for money. Of course you have the option; you could stay at home and moan.
As far as we were concerned A GRAND TIME WAS HAD BY ALL!

Room Tip: Upgrade to seaview room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Geoffinthekennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for writing such a Grand review. After your idea we are considering holding an annual “Lift Humming” competition.
We hope that you will come see us again some time.

Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

stayed for 5 days with shearings and was upgraded to a premier room as the room we booked was getting re decorated etc.The room was £70 each extra for the 5 nights.We had a sea view and the room was wonderfull.But we didnt have to pay the extra.The food was ok but small portions.Views from the hotel bay windows was great.Didnt watch the hotel entertainment the room was so good i felt likei was at home and just relaxed infront of the tv.Service was good but some of the meals was cold and i had to send it back.I enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor .and it was very quiet the lift took us straight up and no probs with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmmmmm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Glad to here that you had an enjoyable stay, and for your kind review. The hotel has wonderful views out onto the bay. Sorry to hear that some meals were cold, when things are brought to our attention we always do our best to rectify them. We hope that we may see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived at the Grand Hotel to be met with a couple complaining bitterly at the state of their room. The only way the duty manager could satisfy them was to book them into the neighbouring Hotel. Not a good first impression. The hotel was undergoing a refurbishment. After checking in we went to our second floor room in the smallest elevator i have ever been in. It said 4 persons only. Would like to see three get in. On entering our room (83) I could see what the couple were complaining about.The last time the room had seen a paint pot must have been in the Thirties. There was very little paint on the window frame and it was filthy, the walls were very badly marked and had several lumps of plaster missing. The ceiling was very badly cracked and water stained. The built in wardrobe had no doors on and an MFI wardrobe stuck inside. The TV was a portable14 inch from the 90's with 4 very fuzzy channels to pick from. The bathroom was very small but clean.The good side was the bed linen was clean. Upon complaining and asking for another room or move next door, I was told all available rooms were taken so basically there was nothing they could do.
So having to "lump it" for the weekend we made the best of a bad thing. The Food was ok and you could not fault the staff. They were very friendly and efficient making the best of what they had.
I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anybody and would advise to go over the road to the Imperial and save the duty manager a phone call.

Room Tip: Book a sea viev room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
We are sorry to here that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Refurbishments are a continuing process. We feel that what we offer, when put into perspective, good value for money and a clean and friendly environment. The staff work hard to make peoples stay enjoyable and we are glad that you have reflected this in your review.

Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Did this as a last minute thing with another couple. Our friends had been on a Shearing break to the IOW earlier in the year and recommend them. We drove to the hotel which was not a problem. There is limited parking at this hotel with two disabled bays only. We managed to secure one of these and although we did venture out the space was still available on our return. The hotel is indeed refurbished but this was not a problem for us. Probably suspended the work over the Easter week-end. Our rooms were pleasant enough, although a shower would have been preferred to a bath, especially as the bathroom was not overly large. We were on the first floor with a lovely view over the sea from a bay window, also we could see along the promenade. Likewise our friends had a room on the 2nd floor, with the same bathroom problem. We had the full English breakfast each morning - plus a surpise of a hot cross bun! The evening meals were three courses. There were at least three choices plus the Chef special each night. Another surprise was a Cadbury Creme Egg! All the meals were waitress served with a choice of vegetables and plenty of them. The service at the hotel was friendly. The room and public areas were clean and welcoming. The evening entertainment was Bingo, followed by a Quiz. We had a comedian, a keyboard player, and a guitarist all of whom told jokes and sang a bit. Unfortunately not many of the residents took advantage of the entertainment provide. Shame really! We visited Sidmouth, Seaton, Beer and Lyme Regis that weekend. All were flying visits unfortunately. We quite enjoyed our week-end break and will certainly look to spend other long week-ends on this type of holiday.

Room Tip: There are lifts. We liked the bay window and sea view - Room 21 on first floor. I think rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojaySnodland_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for writing a lovely review. We feel that we provide a clean, friendly and welcoming service at the hotel. We hope you return to us in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at The Grand several times over the last few years during coach holidays with National and Shearings. Our son and his wife live in Devon, we live in County Durham but want to see them several times each year. We have tried travelling by train and staying in a hotel or apartment but 4 or 5 day coach breaks are a much more economical proposition.

The Grand is a typical hotel from a bygone era brought up to modern standards. Don't expect luxury but rooms are comfortable and clean although quite 'compact' and may be a little worn. Meals include a small range of choices and a Chef's special for evening dinner. Most appetites will be well catered for. Meal times include some flexibility so guests don't all need to eat at the same time.

The location is very good; right on the seafront. Perfect for a short stroll to the small harbour or, in the opposite direction, a more demanding walk - both on the level. It is less than a 10 minute walk into the shopping centre and main bus routes. 15 minutes gets you to the railway station and the journey into Exeter, along the Exe estuary, is lovely.

The staff are helpful and attentive; doing their best to meet the needs of guests.

I have not commented on the evening entertainment because have only remained in the The Regency entertainment suite/bar for it to start on one occasion.

Provided you consider the price you are paying, and don't expect 5-star accommodation/service, you should find, as we have, that this hotel offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timrandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We do believe we offer excellent value for money, with very good staff that are always obliging and considerate. The location of the hotel is ideal with the seafront right opposite and the shops and local transport located not too far away. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wistaston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

we have been many hotels with shearings but this was by far the worst some rooms on our floor were being refurbished we had to walk on dust sheets and flakes of paint on carpet even the floor in the lift was covered in flakes of paint if we had been told about this when we booked we would have chosen another hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeankaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected. When refurbishments are being undertaken in the hotel every effort is made to keep disruption to a minimum.
Kind regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing