We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here 1st March for three nights for a short break and had a lovely time. The price for half board was excellent.value, less than one hundred pounds per person! This hotel comes under the Shearing's umbrella. The room we had was newly decorated with modern furniture and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We did pay alittle more for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonFirsttimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear you found the break excellant value for money, and you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand in Exmouth, once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

We spent four nights in the newly refurbished Bay Grand Hotel at Exmouth. The hotel is right on the sea front and if you get a sea-view room at the front of the hotel there is a panoramic from the mouth of the river Ex to the Lifeboat station. We had to pay extra for the room at the front! The hotel is a short walk to the town, through some well tended gardens. There is a train station and a good bus service to Exeter.

The first impression I got on entering the hotel was that is was clean and smelt nice-nothing worse than a musty smell with stale cooking odours lingering!! The reception staff were very good and had our coach load of people dealt with very quickly. There was a lift-a magnificent contraption-that appeared to be of late Victorian origin but it worked very well!

The first meal we had was dinner. It was a very pleasant experience. The menu was reasonable and the service was excellent. The restaurant experience was repeated at every meal. I can think of several establishments that could take lessons.

The only problem that arose was that, as we had a top floor room, we lost out when having a shower before dinner. As a lot of people were were preparing for dinner at the same they took all the water!! This happened every evening but the reception staff were very helpful and gave us the use of a room lower down the building.

There was not a lot of parking space at the Grand but there was plenty at the partner hotel just 100yds around the corner.

All in all we had a good experience at the Grand and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your review.
Sorry about the problem with the Water pressure, but very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Grand and you received great service from all the team, i will pass your praise on, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just retuned from a midweek break at the Grand Hotel. The Hotel , food , staff , and entertainment are all good and the deal in general represents excellent value. In my opinion however the Hotel is completely let down as a venue for a winter holiday by the virtually non existent central heating system ! The bedrooms bathrooms and public areas are very cold indeed - a sentiment shared by many guests. The Grand is well worth a visit but wait until the summer !
Meanwhile perhaps Shearings should invest in a new central heating system. v.
P.s. why not open the unused basement area for the numerous people who wish to have a dance whilst on holiday. the space seems terribly wasted and would certainley be an improvement on the very cramped space available on the tiny floor just in front of the cabaret performer. From r&b

Room Tip: Ask for a warm room when visiting out of season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear you had a problem keeping warm during your stay. We did have very cold weather in the day and night, which was exceptional for the time of year, you do say you enjoyed your stay and i would hate for thios to put off. We do not have many problems with the heating in the winter and Exmouth is a great area to visit in the off season when we normally have very mild temperatures.
Kenny.
Gemeral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Just spent a very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable three day break, took partners elderly mother for a treat, as she loves the cabaret weekends and this is the third Shearings Bay Hotel break we have taken her on this last year.
The Grand Exmouth is like all other Shearings hotels in that they are definitely not 5 star accommodation in their surroundings, though the view from The Grand most certainly is, but then they do not profess or claim to be, what they do offer however is undoubtedly excellent value for money and first class service from the staff. In every hotel we have stayed in, we have found the staff pleasant, smiling, helpful and every one of them ensuring that the guests needs are well catered for and Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth is no exception.
Ok you knockers, I know that a lot of the rooms in Bay hotels leave a fair bit to be desired, but I believe that there is an ongoing refurbishment in all hotels and of course that takes time and clearly cannot be done in busy periods when a room is occupied. Personally, we learned from the first stay in Torquay and have booked upgraded rooms with sea view since and so yes there is a supplement but even taking that into account it is still exceptionally outstanding value for the money
We three travelled up by car from Cornwall and the cost for the break at Bay Grand was £405 for the three nights for two upgraded rooms, and car parking, that equates to £135 a day, £45 per person per night half board including cabaret and drinks. Ye gods, a room in a Premier Inn in a resort at weekend will cost you anywhere from £60 to £85 excluding food and drinks let alone cabaret so work that out for two rooms in comparison.

As for food, not a complaint from me, it was to a good standard and adequate, although my only criticism is the ongoing and much vaunted baked beans teaspoon portion debate, which indeed was very evident throughout the stay..

Cabaret was first class on the Friday and Saturday and was I would guess thoroughly enjoyed by all. There is no cabaret on Sundays, perhaps because most guests in a lot of the Bay Hotels take a two not a three day break and therefore not as many guests in on Sundays,however there were some 70+ guests in last Sunday and as an entertainer of many years,although now approaching seventy myself this year, I have still got the voice and I was given permission from the management having made the request to entertain their guests and received very many favourable comments afterwards, it was indeed a pleasure for me to perform and many thanks to David, Asst Mgr and Carl, Bars Mgr for all their help.
So to sum up, would highly recommend for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Pay for upgraded room and enjoy the wonderful Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amrad1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your review.
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, your review is very honest and is a fair reflection of the value for money that we offer.
We have a great team here at the Grand which you speak very highly of i will pass your praise on to them and look forword to seeing you again.
Kenny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have just returned from the Grand Hotel and I have just read the last review .We paid 99 pounds and I don't know how they do it for the money travel down half board two trips, free drinks yes Gordons Gin different acts every night and she is complaining.Ok she did not like her room you spend very little time in the room ,for the money we have no complaints we had a great time ,The breakfast was nice my husband loved the cheese and biscuits .Yes we have stayed at better hotels and paid for it .It was a lovely break and our driver Wayne was great the best driver that we have every had.Don't let people put you off the Grand the staff are very friendly Our room was warm clean and the food was fine.Thank you Shearings for a very nice break.

Room Tip: Room 71 side of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1alfie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Glad your husband enjoyed the cheese and biscuits. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you once again for your review.
Kenny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Awful

The worst thing about our experience of the Bay Grand Hotel, Exmouth has to be our room. Having been allocated room 48 we took one look and immediately requested a change or an upgrade. We were told this wasn’t possible as the Hotel was full (true). Draw your own conclusion about the room – take a look at the video on You Tube www.youtube.com/watch?v=1QepAAfZgRM

We shared a table with a couple who had booked an upgraded room. They thought we were exaggerating when we told them about our room so asked to see it for themselves. Needless to say they were horrified. We looked at their room - believe me it was like the Ritz.

Prior to publishing this review I wrote to the Manager about the state of the room. I received a reply stating that the refurbishment of rooms is an ongoing process. No date as to when the refurbishment would be finished was given.

The Pretty Bad

The food was very hit and miss.

Dinner the first evening was good. The second evening it was terrible. The third evening was poor and the fourth good. The menu's were quite impressive with a good choice to cater for everyone but the food wasn't cooked well and was often cold. The cheese and biscuits was a joke and was even inferior to that provided by some airlines.

Breakfast - a good choice but cold and badly cooked and a teaspoon of baked beans with the Full English - come on Chef - baked beans are cheap enough to put a few more on the plate.

The Not Too Bad

Entertainment was OK and as the entertainment area, bar and lounges are slightly separated at least you could sit and chat if you didn't want to watch the singers. Of course there was also the dreaded Bingo. Given a choice I would have put Bingo under the ‘Awful’ header but I guess as it’s so popular I must tolerate it.

The Good

There was a quiz each night which took on various formats. These differing formats ensured that there was no cheating by using the old mobile phone/internet routine and that you didn’t have to be the Brain of Britain to take part.

The Excellent

The Staff – I cannot praise them highly enough.
The location – right on the sea front.

Overall

The holiday was good value for money as we only paid £99 per person and we received 4 drinks vouchers per person per day. A gin and tonic (Gordons) was one voucher. 2 vouchers + £4.00 would get you a bottle of wine. Full price for a gin and tonic was £4.00 so that should give you an indication of the value of the vouchers.

The refurbished areas of this Hotel - bar, lounge and some bedrooms - are fine but the older areas are terrible. If the refurbishment was completed and the standard of cooking improved, this Hotel really would be Grand.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a sea view. These rooms appear to have been refurbished. The rooms at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patsiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, we do have a refurbishment plan in place and we will be doing 12 rooms, work to commence 1st April.
Like you say for the price paid you received excellent value for money.
We do have guests who upgrade and yes these rooms are of a higher standard.
I disagree with a lot of your comments about the room.
The room was clean and comfortable, we do have a few issues which are nothing major and are already being rectified ie the blind, odd light shade etc, people will see from your video that for £24.75 PER NIGHT which included Return Coach travel, excursions, dinner bed and breakfast, 4 x free drinks per person per night that this is indeed good value for money.
Kenny.
Genral Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel was clean and warm but the food was not good very bland and over cooked plastic food . the staff are very friendly. we opted to pay the extra for a room with a sea view this was fantastic but there was a definite problem with the floor boards

Room Tip: all ok except the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret a H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Thank you for your review.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wonderful views from your seaview room, we do have a great team here at the Grand which you mention in your review i will pass your praise on to them, i am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the food, i think for the price paid for the holiday we offer a very good varied choice.
K Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing