We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHEARINGS 5 DAY HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
LANCASTER
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SHEARINGS 5 DAY HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

April 8th - 12th , A good 5 day holiday,.The staff were helpful especially at mealtimes .The waiters and waitresses were very efficient especially Zoltan and Marta. Nothing was too much trouble for them . The room was warm and comfortable but was in need of redecorating.It should be pointed out however that, work was ongoing at the time we were there as Painters were working on our floor when we went down for breakfast and were still there, when going for the evening meal.
Two excursions were included in the cost of the holiday ,one to Dartmoor and one to Exeter. Our driver Tony Martin, was keen to point out places of interest as he drove us around the area. Thankyou Tony for your help when getting on and off the coach. As I am disabled , it was much appreciated. We also went out on two other optional excursions which for the added cost were worth going on .Thanks to driver Lawrence for the visit to Tieghmouth via Dawlish .
Thankyou to all Shearing employees for another enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEANETTE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for writing a lovely review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your nice comments to Zoltan, Marta, Tony and Lawrence. As you mentioned we are currentley having some rooms refurbished which is part of an ongoing refurbishment program that we have within the hotel.
We hope to see you again here at the Grand.
Regards
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    175
    108
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
286
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Bay Grand hotel is very well situated with a pleasant walk through a very well kept park to the shops, buses and trains. We paid extra for a sea view room and considered it money well spent. The food was tasty and plentiful and the service fast and friendly. The entertainment was excellent especially on the last night. The reception staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable break and we look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Worth paying to up grade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review.
Its great to hear you had a wonderful time here at the Grand and enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We have a great team who do a wonderful job, Which is reflected in the levels of service they Provide.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Kenny
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The main rooms in the hotel were very nice i.e. the bar dining room and reception area but our bedroom ( I don't know about others) was in desperate need of decoration. It was clean, didn't smell of damp etc. but there were patches on the ceiling, mould around the glass in the window and a hole near a pipe in the bathroom blocked up with toilet paper! How much does filler cost? The meals were good and the waitresses were very effecient. We wern't waiting long at all for our meals.The entertainment was o.k. if you like bingo and quizzes and I wish the singers would get together sometimes because they sung the same songs alot of the time even though there are thousands to choose from! The holiday was good value for money especially if you waited until the last minute and got it for £119!

Room Tip: Ask for a shower if you prefer it to a bath because thats what we got I thought everywhere had showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwendoline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review and also for your positive comments regarding service cleanliness and value for money. I am sorry you were not happy with your room however we do have an ongoing refurbishment programme in place and at this present time 12 rooms are undergoing a complete refurbish. Perhaps we will be able to welcome you back to one of these in the future.

Thankyou again,
Kenny (General manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel itself is nicly located and has some nice sea-view rooms, however my issue is with Shearings who took my telephone booking for this hotel.
When booking I was not advised that the hotel would be charging £5 per day to park at the hotel, and that the car parking spaces could be reserved. Had I been informed, I could have presumably reserved a space at the time of booking (although I think that charging to park is a charge too far!). The concequence was that when I turned up I was told that there were no available spaces at the hotel (all had been pre-reserved) but for the same price (£5 per day) I could reserve a space in a near-by hotel, which, of course I had no option but to accept. This meant walking 100s of yards in the bitter cold (and rain on departure). Although I disagree wth charging for parking anyway, I don't understand why this distant car park could not have been at a cheaper rate to account for the lack of convenience. Come on Sheerings - a nice stay spoilt as a consequence of not being up-front at the booking stage, nor in the price quoted for the "package". I haven't seen this parking charge advertised - have you?

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the fantastic sea view, but don't bother with the cooked English breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 249JohnB975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the parking charges, this is something we have introduced to give our guests the peace of mind of knowing they have a parking space on arrival. It was pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

mid glamorgan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel despite the cold weather.The room was nice clean and comfortable.The food was extremely good with a good choice of menu,the service was excellent from our waiter zoltan and we enjoyed all our meals esp the lamb rogout on the thu evening.The entertainment was really good as were the bingo and quizes ,all the staff were very pleasant and there was nothing I could fault I think bay hotels are really good value for money and we certainl enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daiMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you had a great stay here at the Grand, and found it excellant value for money, we look forward to seeing you returning to the Grand in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here on a five day break, in a premier sea view room which was large with a bathroom with bath and separate shower. Just one problem, the radiators and water were cold. We told the duty manager who said it was probably because a lot of people had checked in at the same time and used all the hot water, and to give it a while to warm up. It warmed up to tepid, nowhere near hot enough for a shower, so we just had a wash before dinner, not very happy.

On Tuesday the situation was the same and we were told that the plumber had been called in to sort out a problem. On Tuesday evening we showered in lukewarm water.

On Wednesday - no change. So I went to reception again to report it and the manager sent someone to our room to check it out. It was still the same, tepid. The manager was very helpful and offered to either refund our premier room rate and move us to another room or he would give us the keys to a room just to use the shower. As we didn't want to move all our things we decided to use the shower in the other room. We were also given two portable heaters for our room.

On Thursday the plumber was called again and the problem was fixed; nice warm room and lovely hot water. Shame we were going home on Friday.

The food in the restaurant was good, hot, good choice and good service.

As the entertainment area was full by the time we went into the bar, we sat in the adjoining room, so we couldn't see the entertainers but could hear OK and they seemed very good on the whole.

All in all we enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. Liked Exmouth very much too.

Room Tip: Can't beat a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippie3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear you had a problem with the heating and hot water, i am pleased i was able to offer you some alternatives and you appreciated the offer of the use of the other Bathroom.
Exmouth is a very nice area of Devon and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorches
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We booked using laterooms, and having thought that we booked a double, it turned out to be a twin. There were no doubles available so we accepted. When we went up to the room (32) it was fine apart from that the windows were frosted and didn't open more than a few cms. It was very claustrophobic. There was a friendly lady at reception who offered to change us to (57). It was a better room, with a view over the back street, but it smelt really strongly of smoke. We ask for a refund and were given it. The receptionist was really understanding and helpful.
We were very disappointed as I had heard very good reports about the hotel.

Room Tip: Not 32 - it was dark, and the windows weren't exactly a selling point!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sara j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
It was unfortunate we did not have another Double room, because you booked a twin thats all we had to give you, when you book via Laterooms the offer is very good value for money, but like you kindly state Casey dealt with it very well and gave you a full refund.
Kenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing