We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 Day Trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“5 Day Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We arrived at the Grand Hotel, and were pleasantly pleased with the lovely position it held on the Esplanade, it is directly facing the sea.
We booked a sea-view room, at an extra cost of £56.. I also booked a room with a bath. We were told on arrival that there were no rooms left with baths !!! ( bad organisation )... We went to our room 23, and were quite satisfied with the cleanliness of the refurbished room. .THEN... I looked at the shower-room !!! The shower was very old, and in a very unkept state, broken bit's on the shower base, which made it uncleanable.. I thought it would be unhealthy to go in the shower.. the shower-room it's self had not been refurbished.. on the brochure, it said the hotel was refurbished !!!! I was so disappointed after paying the £56 extra.
The restaurant was bright and very clean, the food was adequate.. Our waiter ARA was excellent, she was quick and efficent,and most of all friendly.. she made our visits to the restaurant a pleasure..
I must reiterate my disappointment with our shower-room.. I even took photo's of the state it was in...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refurbished bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your review.
When making a booking requests can be made, but unfortunately we cannot guarantee them. We always do our very best to meet peoples requests. In this instance we could not as we only have 1 double sea view room with a bath (the rest have shower cubicles) and this room was already occupied prior to your arrival.
The brochure states that the hotel has had a number of recent upgrades including improved lounges and a number of bedrooms. These include all our twin and double sea view bedrooms and in April we had an additional 12 rooms refurbished. Not all bathrooms have been refurbished, some may appear old but our staff work hard to maintain good levels of cleanliness.
At a cost of just over £40 per person per night including dinner, bed and breakfast, sea view supplement and excursions we are very good value for money.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    169
    106
    31
    23
See reviews for
40
277
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I don't know how they do it for the price. - We had a late(ish) booking after seeing promotional ads in the papers, and were not expecting a lot.
The hotel was clean, comfortable and in an excellent position on the esplanade within yards of the sea and with terrific views from the lounge and bar areas.
Our room was on the ground floor (we requested a low floor) towards the rear of the hotel with no view, but it was large clean and comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful, especially our waitress Audrey for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.
The food was basic, but wholesome and plentiful - we had our table for two again after requesting one on the booking forms.
The only fly in my ointment, was the very noisy lift which reverberated through the room whenever it was used which was frequently throughout the daytime, but we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway - fortunately, there seemed to be no lift traffic after about 11:00 at night and before 8:00 in the morning so our sleep was not disturbed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juehel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was great to here we exceeded your expectations, and you had a very nice time here at the Grand.
We do offfer excellant value, and it is always welcome when guests take the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a 5day midweek coach break.Although it was a long journey from York Tony our driver was excellent.Although the interior of the hotel is a little tired in places it is obvious management are refurbishing.OUr room was fine clean and bed comfortable.The hotels position is excellent and shearings trips very good also we did the river trip which we enjoyed.Met some lovely people food was good and our waiter Zoltan worked very hard and was so pleasant we will definitely return to hotel in future.The package was a bargain

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your nice review.
I will pass on your comments to Tony and Zoltan.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Spent a Monday to Friday self drive break at this typical Bay Hotel run by Shearings. Good food and service from helpful staff, with nicely recently renovated public rooms. The rear number 32 bedroom was disappointing. Frosted glass window, hence no view possible at all, with limited ventilation, in fact quite claustrophobic, never spent any time in it all ! However the room was clean and well presented with tea/coffee facilities and a good sized clean en-suite bathroom. The location of the hotel being right on the promenade opposite a nice beach is excellent, and is only a 5 minute walk from the town and a good bus service to all local towns including Exeter which is well worth a visit. If you don't mind the bedroom lottery, book late to get a very good half board rate.

Room Tip: Book early to get an upgrade to a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you felt diaspointed with the room. Although room 32 may have no outlook it does benefit from being recentley refurbished. As you mention we do have sea view rooms which you can upgrade to for a small fee.
Hope to see you again, maybe next time in one of our sea view rooms.
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Lovely clean hotel, nice food,near to town 5 minute walk tops,nice bedroom.Very good tours to Buckfast abbey,World of marbles, a real eye opener,Sidmouth & finely to Exeter.Only let down, 2 out of 4 nights no entertainment,not even a game of Bingo for the ladies. The two young men we had were pleasant, both called the bingo, did the quiz & then sang to us for the rest of the night.We also had a nice boat trip up the river.All in all we had a good time in which the weather played a big part.Please Mr.Manager sort some artistes at your nice establishment, next doors were great.

Room Tip: Hotel very quiet all round,a good place to stay, lifts a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terence358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt disapointed with regards to the entertainment, throughout the year our entertainment can vary. During the summer season we have a lighter entertainments programme. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This was my first holiday with Shearings & my first visit to Exmouth, both proved to be excellent. The hotel was clean & had a nice feel about it, the staff were friendly & helpful & the food was hot & well presented. My double room was lovely although there was no view, this was not a problem as i was out & about exploring, which was easy to do as the bus & train station are within walking distance. Exmouth itself was a lovely resort very clean & lovely walks, boat trips also available at a reasonable price. All in all it was a most enjoyable break & i met some lovely people. thank you Shearings, i will be holidaying with you again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your "fantastic" review. We are gald that you enjoyed your first holiday with Shearings and first time to Exmouth. Exmouth is a beautiful resort with many things to see and do. We hope that we will see you here again or at one of our other hotels. Once again thank you.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Excellent location, food, staff and entertainment good. Our standard room was in desperate need of a make-over and overcrowded with unnecessary furniture - but no complaints on its cleanliness. Lift not always accessible, due to selfishness of other guests in failing to close inner doors properly. Our pre-booked car parking space was allocated at the nearby Imperial Hotel - don't accept space 10 or near number as it was right under a lime tree which plastered the car in green stickiness! Good value for money break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIRLEBROOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel is in a fantastic location, and it is so nice to here that you appreciate the hard work that the staff put in to make your stay enjoyable, clean and comfortable. We have an ongoing plan of refurbishment in the hotel, this year we have had 12 rooms refurbished.
We hope that you will visit us agin here at the Grand or one of the many hotels Shearings has to offer in some wonderful locations.
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing