We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The curse of room 3”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed at several Shearing's hotels on a self-drive basis and found them to be good value normally. I booked a two night stay at the Bay Grand as a birthday break. Let me start with the good stuff, food and restaurant staff fine, location right on sea front and close to town. Poor- £5 a night to park at another hotel 5 minutes walk away. Very poor - we were given Room 3 and after looking, asked to change. Very little natural light so light was on during day. No luck changing room and that night the noise from some machinery kept me awake most of the night. Complained to man on reception in the morning and asked for another room to be told "not possible" . We bought ear plugs for following night but no better. This room is very, very poor value. Not only dim but NO shower curtain, NO place to hang shower head in bathroom. Also only stingy bar of soap with no shampoo.
The state of this room and the attitude of the guy on reception ruined what could have been a pleasant experience. We have not been put off Shearing' hotels generally but will stick to Coast and Country in future and no longer consider Bay Hotels.

Room Tip: if offered Room 3 make your excuses and leave or book an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dbathighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Room 3 is a upgraded room which was refurbished this April, you can pay a supplement for a seaview when booking, i disagree with your description of the room yes it is not one with a view but it is of a good size and furnished to a very nice standard.
When you asked at reception to be moved it was not possible because we were full at the time we do our best to move guest when asked if it is possible.
Kenny.
Genral Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this hotel which was every bit as pleasurable as the first. The front of house staff very friendly and welcoming. We upgraded our room to a premier which was worth every penny. Relaxed atmosphere and would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Premier front facing room a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am very pleased to hear you had a wonderful time here at the Grand in Exmouth, the premier room you booked is a fantastic room with amazing views of the Exe Estuary.
It is always nice to know that the decision to offer premier rooms for our guests to upgrade to is working and giving the guests the choice when making their booking.
once again thank you for your kind comments i will let the rest of the team know,we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kenny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Went with Shearings on a five day coach trip to this hotel. The hotel is well situated on the clean seafront and a nice quiet prominade without the noisey amusement arcades you find in many places. To get to the town centre it takes about 5 mins, and the quickest way, is also the best way through a small well looked after park. This hotel has a well spaced out restaraunt and quick efficient service. All the food is served to your table of which you are allocated at your first meal. The meals are reasonably good although they are very measured portions. If you have a big appetite you might have to do an Oliver Twist and ask for more. Also the tea and coffee, although served in the correct tea pots quite often could have been hotter when it was served. All in all the food was acceptable. The rooms were keep spotlessly clean with one of the hardest working cleaners I have seen. The lift was something out of a 1930's film and I thinjk they should look at to update. Anyone going to this hotel needs to be fully aware that some of the rooms only have a bath and no shower, and some have a shower and no bath so if you have a strong preference for one or the other make sure you ask for your preference as a special request. There was good entertainment on 2 of the 4 nights but there was a nice relaxing lounge to sit talk and have a drink. Going with Shearings included 2 trips, 1 going to Sidmouth of which we could have spent longer and the other to House of Marble, Buckfast abbey, finishing off in Exeter. All in all another good holiday

Room Tip: If you need a shower in your room put it in as a special request as you may finish up in a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, we have a fantastic position right opposite the Exe estuary,
with some wonderful views.
Our Team work very hard in making your stay a very pleasant experience.
we look foreward to welcoming you back and hope to see you soon.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We arrived at the Grand Hotel, and were pleasantly pleased with the lovely position it held on the Esplanade, it is directly facing the sea.
We booked a sea-view room, at an extra cost of £56.. I also booked a room with a bath. We were told on arrival that there were no rooms left with baths !!! ( bad organisation )... We went to our room 23, and were quite satisfied with the cleanliness of the refurbished room. .THEN... I looked at the shower-room !!! The shower was very old, and in a very unkept state, broken bit's on the shower base, which made it uncleanable.. I thought it would be unhealthy to go in the shower.. the shower-room it's self had not been refurbished.. on the brochure, it said the hotel was refurbished !!!! I was so disappointed after paying the £56 extra.
The restaurant was bright and very clean, the food was adequate.. Our waiter ARA was excellent, she was quick and efficent,and most of all friendly.. she made our visits to the restaurant a pleasure..
I must reiterate my disappointment with our shower-room.. I even took photo's of the state it was in...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refurbished bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your review.
When making a booking requests can be made, but unfortunately we cannot guarantee them. We always do our very best to meet peoples requests. In this instance we could not as we only have 1 double sea view room with a bath (the rest have shower cubicles) and this room was already occupied prior to your arrival.
The brochure states that the hotel has had a number of recent upgrades including improved lounges and a number of bedrooms. These include all our twin and double sea view bedrooms and in April we had an additional 12 rooms refurbished. Not all bathrooms have been refurbished, some may appear old but our staff work hard to maintain good levels of cleanliness.
At a cost of just over £40 per person per night including dinner, bed and breakfast, sea view supplement and excursions we are very good value for money.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I don't know how they do it for the price. - We had a late(ish) booking after seeing promotional ads in the papers, and were not expecting a lot.
The hotel was clean, comfortable and in an excellent position on the esplanade within yards of the sea and with terrific views from the lounge and bar areas.
Our room was on the ground floor (we requested a low floor) towards the rear of the hotel with no view, but it was large clean and comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful, especially our waitress Audrey for whom nothing seemed too much trouble.
The food was basic, but wholesome and plentiful - we had our table for two again after requesting one on the booking forms.
The only fly in my ointment, was the very noisy lift which reverberated through the room whenever it was used which was frequently throughout the daytime, but we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway - fortunately, there seemed to be no lift traffic after about 11:00 at night and before 8:00 in the morning so our sleep was not disturbed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juehel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you for your review.
It was great to here we exceeded your expectations, and you had a very nice time here at the Grand.
We do offfer excellant value, and it is always welcome when guests take the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the not so distant future.
Kenny.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We had a 5day midweek coach break.Although it was a long journey from York Tony our driver was excellent.Although the interior of the hotel is a little tired in places it is obvious management are refurbishing.OUr room was fine clean and bed comfortable.The hotels position is excellent and shearings trips very good also we did the river trip which we enjoyed.Met some lovely people food was good and our waiter Zoltan worked very hard and was so pleasant we will definitely return to hotel in future.The package was a bargain

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your nice review.
I will pass on your comments to Tony and Zoltan.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Regards
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Spent a Monday to Friday self drive break at this typical Bay Hotel run by Shearings. Good food and service from helpful staff, with nicely recently renovated public rooms. The rear number 32 bedroom was disappointing. Frosted glass window, hence no view possible at all, with limited ventilation, in fact quite claustrophobic, never spent any time in it all ! However the room was clean and well presented with tea/coffee facilities and a good sized clean en-suite bathroom. The location of the hotel being right on the promenade opposite a nice beach is excellent, and is only a 5 minute walk from the town and a good bus service to all local towns including Exeter which is well worth a visit. If you don't mind the bedroom lottery, book late to get a very good half board rate.

Room Tip: Book early to get an upgrade to a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you felt diaspointed with the room. Although room 32 may have no outlook it does benefit from being recentley refurbished. As you mention we do have sea view rooms which you can upgrade to for a small fee.
Hope to see you again, maybe next time in one of our sea view rooms.
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing