We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had by all”
Review of Bay Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good time had by all”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We went by car with 6 friends on 8th November and we all enjoyed our stay. 2 couples had booked a room with a seaview, well worth the extra money, both rooms were spotless and looked as though they had been recently upgraded, plenty of room though as others have said some extra drawers would have been useful. The other 2 couples had standard rooms, again very clean, though perhaps on the small side (and not refurbished, but ok) The food in the restaurant was as expected, varied but not cordon bleu, but for the price we paid for the weekend it was fine. Our Spanish waiter Moses always got the orders right, difficult when his English was limited and there were 8 of us on the one table, always served with a smile, that makes such a difference. The entertainment was fine, though as we were always late finishing dinner we were usually sat just outside of the bar area, but we could still hear the music etc.
We all said we would visit this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview !! So book early to avoid disappointment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireWeekender65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,.
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we do have a great team here at the Grand who always try to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.
I will pass your comments to Moises who I am sure will be very pleased to read your very positive comments regarding is Service with a smile.
Hope to see you all again soon.
Kenny
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    181
    111
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
294
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our 1st time with Shearings my wife and I used this trip to see friends who live in Exmouth the husband was very ill. On arrival at the Grand we were met by Kenny the manager who came from Liverpool, a very likable man and very helpful always there with a smile and soon learn't to say "A Up Me duck. Nice one Kenny.
We had room 46, quite adequate a pleasant Sea View room. Warm enough to leave the window open at night.
The restaurant was in the lower floor quietly decorated, clean, and everyone is allocated a table number which I thought was a good idea as it stops people wondering where to sit. Zolton the waiter was out of this world so fast ,never mixing the numerous orders up for his ten or so table he was more like Zorro!!!
The lady on reception was a little Gem I think her name was Janet apologies if I got it wrong, " old timers disease."
The staff pull out all the stops to be there for you and make your stay comfortable.
All in all a pleasant stay, Life is what you make of it ...

Room Tip: Sea view needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for a very positive review, we do really appreciate the time you have taken to do this.
It was great to hear you found it very good value for money, I will be passing on your kind comments to Janet and Zoltan. Once again thank you hope to see you again.
A up me duck!!
Kenny
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I recently spent a long weekend at the Bay Grand Hotel, Exmouth. It was good value for money but unfortunately there were several things that dissapointed me. The sea view room gave me a very good view, but the room lacked draw space and I had to get coat hangers from a friend in another room. The shower facilities were very cramped, and there was no shelf to put toiletries on within the shower cubicle, also there was no heating in the shower room. The meals were tasty but the service in the dinning room was rather rushed, and a couple of times the waitress cleared our plates as we finished, one at a time, rather than waiting for the whole table to finish their meal. The breakfast cereals were already put into dishes and then stacked within each other under a work station, which I felt was rather un-hygienic. The hotel is very tired looking and could do with a make over. It was a cheap weekend away though,and as my husband said ,you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Only have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
We do have a refurbishment plan in place and we have completed on average 10-12 bedrooms a year over the last six years, plus the dining room, the lounges, reception, and all corridors.
I am pleased you found us very good value for money and hope to see you again soon.
Kenny.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Booked an upgraded sea view Superior Room for our Ruby wedding weekend. Rather concerned at some of the Trip Advisor comments but found those regarding the food not accurate in our case. If you want top of the range dining then a restaurant is where you should go. For us it was more than adequate and only two dishes disappointed us. Ara our waitress worked very hard and always with a smile and politeness.The whole staff were excellent in all ways, cheerful and helpful. Lovely room, upgraded bathroom and good sea view. Only downside for me was the mattress, nice and firm but could have done with a soft topper to prevent feeling the springs and buttons (used to memory foam at home due to back pain). Our first experience of a Shearings hotel, very happy with what we found.

Room Tip: Book upgraded sea view. Room size very large with table and two chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thankyou for writing such a positive response. I am pleased you enjoyed nearly all aspects of your holiday especially the upgraded room. We do pride ourselves in giving good value for money and all staff try very hard to please. It always boosts morale when customers take the time to tell us we are appreciated. I do hope you will try some of our other hotels as they are in
some fantastic locations. Glad your first impression of Bay hotels was a good one.

Thanks again
Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our second Shearings holiday of the year and very much a last minute booking. Luckily we had a direct journey with minimum stops so arrived early afternoon refreshed. A friendly welcome and key collection. Eventually found our room after wandering on stairwells for a while!
Room had obviously been refurbed and was fine if a little snug. New windows which looked onto nothing as they were frosted to avoid the site of a wall, bird netting and some tatty windows but we weren't there to look out of the windows. Bed comfy, spacious bathroom with corner bath and handheld shower. We ate in the restaurant first night but the food was the usual Shearings standard so we went B&B for the next three days. Sadly restaurant understaffed as ever so poor waitress was rushing around and sadly missed some people at breakfast.
Can't say much about the rest of the hotel as due to the range and price of drinks we didn't use the bar or the lounge areas and were out and about most of the time.
On a positive note we were helped greatly by the receptionist when I discovered I had left my USB charger at home.
Overall not a bad experience at the Grand but sadly not a great one either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krisbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Very pleased to hear you found your late reservation room to be of a good standard, view rooms are bookable for an extra supplement.
I will pass on your kind comments regarding the reception staff to the relevant people.
I do hope that if you should book again you will stay to eat with us in the evenings. We do feel that we give very good value for money all round and receive many positive comments with regards to our food. Thanks again.

Kenny
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at the Grand. We have stayed there as a group for the last 6 years or so when we return to the Royal Marines Commando training Centre at nearby Lympstone.The hotel is situated right on the promenade with beautiful sea views provided you get a room with a sea view that is. In the 6 years I have been stopping there I have never been allocated a sea view room,Anyway the rooms are rather small and the bathrooms, whilst en suite, are exceptionally cramped. The rooms are on several levels and negotiating your way around can be very confusing. There are 2 lifts, but the one at the rear is usually out of order due to guests failing to close the inner doors having vacated the lift making it unuseable. The poor staff have to keep running up and down stairs to fix it. The downstairs concert room has been closed for the past 2 years so apart from staying in the hotel bar, which charges £3.50 for a pint of lager, there is very little to do in the evenings. However there are plenty of pubs and bars within a reasonable walking distance. This year the hotel appeared to have been given a "spruce up" with new furniture in the bar area and all the rooms and public areas re-decorated to a high standard. The food is rather average, vegetables, served separately, are invairiably overcooked and cold, but the service this year was excellent with very little waiting around. The staff are polite and work hard. Every year there are different staff working there as they are mostly from Eastern Europe and employed by an agency, as are most hotel workers these days

Room Tip: if given the option book a room with a sea view unless you like looking at brick walls from your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neville a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We only allocate Sea views rooms when they have been booked and paid for. It may be that when you have booked the sea views have already been taken. They are always very popular and usualy the first rooms to be booked. Next time you book it would be worth enquiring if any are sea view are available. As you mention we have had our bar and lounge areas refurbished and the entertainment takes place in the Drakes Entertainment Suite, we have had some very positive feed back from having the entertainment there.
Glad to hear that our hard working staff are appreciated. We have very little staff turnover here and a majority of our staff have been here for many years. We see all our staff as equal no matter where they are from.
Hope that next time you can get a sea view room, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The hotel is 3 star standard and need refurbishing the rooms. Room (71) which we occupied was small but clean. Surprised to see torn bed cover which put us off on first entering the room.. We did not bother to request to change it. We stayed for four nights. Meals were ordinary cafe standard nothing to praise. Service was good.. I have read previous comments saying the soups they had were poor quality and watery but the one day I had lentil soup which was fine....

Room Tip: Regret not upgrading the room as we learnt from others that sea view rooms have been recently refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinray1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the review. Sorry you felt we were not so Grand. We have had many areas of the hotel refurbished, and we have an ongoing programme. This year we had 12 rooms refurbished, and a further 12 are next in line to be refurbished.
All of our sea views rooms have be refurbished and these can be booked for £7 per person per night.
I feel that our food is above cafe standard and what our chefs produce for 130 guests every evening is of a very good quality.
Taking into consideration the price of the holidays, excluding any discounts or special offers, what we provide is good value for money. We take pride in our service and take on baord any comments made.

Regards
Kenny, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Grand Hotel

Property: Bay Grand Hotel
Address: 5 Morton Crescent, Exmouth EX8 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Grand Hotel enjoys a superb position on the seafront opposite Golden Sands Beach. The hotel benefits from fantastic views across the Exe Estuary towards Dawlish Warren. The Hotel is set in a Crescent of elegant houses - the first crescent of its kind to be built in Devon with every house facing the sea. Panoramic views across Lyme Bay and the estuary can be seen from all front facing rooms along with Drakes Bar, lounges and our relaxing gardens. The Regency entertainment suite and bar provide the perfect place to unwind. Exmouth is the gateway to the World Heritage Jurassic Coast stretching as far as Dorset and is renowned for its red cliffs and sand dunes. An ideal resort to explore the rest of Devon, it also boasts an old fashioned promenade and stunning Georgian architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Grand Hotel Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing