We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$445
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
118
208
124
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
208
124
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontshearings coach holidaysea viewself drivenational holidayssister hotelpremier roomshearings hotelsweekend breakenjoyable breaksingle roomwaitress servicethree coursescoach driverthe ground floortown centreentertainment room
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a really nice stay at The Grand, staff was really friendly and helpful. Room was ok for the price although the wood work could do with a bit of new paint, everything else was fine for a short break. Breakfast was basic, but well cooked and service excellent. The hotel is well placed for the beach as it is right on the seafront, and also it is a short walk to town, where there are plenty of places to eat and drink. Would be a good place for a family holiday as there seems to be plenty for kids to do on the seafront.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mayp00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mention Exmouth has a wide range of things to do for any age and the hotel is situated in an ideal location, being so close to the sea.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Thank you
Kenny Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Well we stayed here for 2 nights this weekend and I have to say it was both bad and good. The location is fabulous, right on the seafront. When we arrived we had booked a standard double. This room was awful (room 32) it was decorated in the most horrendous, depressing dark grey colour and the big window was completely obscured glass, it felt a bit like a prison cell. We spoke to reception and were told this was the new colour scheme and this was one of the better standard rooms. However, reception were very helpful and offered us the chance to upgrade to a sea view room for an extra £14.00 per night. We chose to do this and I'm so glad we did. The view was amazing and the decor was much nicer! The bed was comfy and we slept well - although the room was a little on the warm side.
We had breakfast at the hotel and this was very good, a hearty, filling full English :)
On the whole we enjoyed our stay. I would return but I would definitely recommend upgrading to a sea view room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WSMgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thankyou for your honest review of the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break despite the décor of the first room not being to your taste. However you obviously appreciated the wonderful views we have from our seaview rooms which are well worth the upgrade cost. I see you also enjoyed the seafront location. I will pass on your positive comments regarding the breakfast. Hope to see you again in the not to distant future.
Regards
Kenny Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

stayed here for 5 days last week ,great hotel as usual ,food , staff , and room all great , we have stayed here 4 times and I cant fault it in any way ,Kenny and all the staff are so friendly and helpful and they really make you feel at home ,we have booked to go back for Christmas ,can't wait ,really looking forward to it , well done all and keep up the good work

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoy your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas.
Once again thank you.
Kenny, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked this 4 day trip with Shearings only a week before, paying only £99, so we weren't expecting the Ritz, and yes our room was very tired and in need of a revamp but the bed and bathroom were clean so we weren't too worried. The public areas of the hotel were fine, both breakfast and dinner were very enjoyable with plenty of choice (3 starters, 5 main courses and 4 desserts at dinner) and staff both friendly and efficient. The restaurant is in the cellar and if the lift is not working (as it wasn't for all of our stay) then anyone with mobility problems would struggle. The location is perfect, on the front with an easy walk into town, pleasant gardens nearby, and 2 or 3 pubs just along the road - yes, the bar prices in the hotel are not cheap (think town centre pubs). Entertainment was fine (with bingo kept short thankfully). The included trips to Sidmouth and Seaton were good (the former being a lovely place with winding streets and shops). On Sunday we did not take the optional trip and walked into town, but I presume because it was Sunday and out of the main season there was not a lot open. Antonios coffee shop is recommended though as their hot chocolate is awesome! So we took the train into Exeter - it runs every hour on Sunday, costs just over £4 return and is a lovely journey along the estuary.
All in all we think this trip was excellent value for money and we certainly enjoyed our stay. Only gripe would be using the 4 drinks vouchers on one evening - perhaps splitting them over 2 nights would have been better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MagentaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review. As you say these trips are excellent value for money at only £99 pp for dinner bed & breakfast some included trips out and entertainment in the evenings with 4 free drinks each on Saturdays. We do have rooms which are awaiting a refurb this year due to start in April. All in all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks again

Kenny Sharp ( General manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Grand Hotel in Exmouth as part of a Shearings 5 day coach holiday. The hotel is positioned right on the front with views of the sea and estuary and also only a short level walk away from the centre of Exmouth (through some delightful gardens). Our room was a very odd shape but clean and serviceable. The dining room is down some very steep stairs in the basement although there is a lift - the front lift was out of action whilst we were there and the back lift entails a walk through a (now disused) function room and a few steps. The lounge and bar areas are made up of several interconnecting rooms and there is plenty of seating. Entertainment was provided each evening - mostly very good - but the setting was not ideal as many people were out of sight of the entertainer. An advertised 'small dance floor' was in fact an uncarpeted area right in front of the busy bar and there were also tables and chairs on it. The entertainers did their best but it was not ideal. Although the hotel itself was not very impressive, the staff were excellent. All very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the portions ample. We enjoyed our holiday very much - we did not go on the organised coach trips out (some of which we heard from other guests, were a little disappointing) but took the bus to Exeter for one day and to Sidmouth another the day whilst the third day was spent exploring Exmouth itself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelexmouth, General Manager at Bay Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Glad to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the food. The majority of guests who go on the excursions do say how much they enjoy them.
Thank you for your review.
K. Sharp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews